We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, stately hotel”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #31 of 167 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel had a beautiful, old-worldy feel to it. The staff were friendly and helpful and the views of the Botanical Gardens were magnificent. Some older hotels tend towards being shabby, but this hotel was dignified and fresh. I loved the spaciousness of our room and the tasteful way it was decorated. The robe and slippers provided made me feel welcome and comfortable. We had a relaxing and pampered stay and I so didn't want to move on to our other accommodation at the Gold Coast. As it turns out, however, had we extended our stay, we would have had to evacuate due to the floods. I hope this beautiful hotel has recovered from any damage. I loved it and definitely want to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words! We are famous for our décor at Royal on the Park and during our recent multimillion dollar refurbishment, a key factor for our interior designer was to enhance & compliment the existing décor such at the wood paneling and Parkside location.

We were very lucky indeed with the recent floods. Whilst the hotel sustained some damage to our lower carpark, the Lobby, Restaurant and entire ground floor were spared from the rising waters by less than a metre! The entire hotel was fully operational again within three days of the water subsiding - We wish to thank our very dedicated staff, various contractors as well as Brisbane City Council & Energex for this mean feat.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to our brand new, fully refurbished rooms.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division manager
Royal on the Park - Renewed Refreshed Refurbished

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,202)
There are newer reviews for Royal On The Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed for only one night in a Secret Stay Room and were very impressed. We have previously used 'secret stays' which didn't hold up to the motels reputation but Royal on the Park exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, clean and well presented with a big roomy comfortable bed,mini bar and good quality complimentary bathroom goodies. The staff were friendly polite and helpful. Our breakfast in the Walnut room had a good variety buffet and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. We were sorry we were only staying one night and look forward to the next time we stay. The only negative I found was a charge for parking.. but then I don't like to pay for parking at any motel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us!

We are pleased to see that your stay lived up to your expectations. Our entire team works very hard to ensure all our guests are well-cated for and we will enjoy sharing your comments with them at our next all staff meeting.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to our brand new, fully refurbished rooms.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division manager
Royal on the Park - Renewed Refreshed Refurbished

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and had a fairly average experience.

The reception staff were a little aloof when we first checked in, but we found the room spacious and comfortable. The location in Brisbane was convenient, very close to the botanical gardens.

The hotel itself is a little bit dated, the common areas were well kept, but the front facade could do with paiting, as the paint was peeling, and the window was dirty.

Also the pool had what looked like the same large palm leaf floating in it for two days, which put us off using the pool.

I was also disappointed by the room service, the menu on the TV offered "hand cut fat chips" but only when I asked on the phone I was informed they don't do these, only processed chips. Anywhere with a kitchen should be able to cut some potatoes up and make chips instead of using frozen ones.

I would stay here again if I could get a decent room rate (which we did).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ads102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are pleased to see that you find our location convenient and your room spacious and comfortable.

With regards to your comments about our property, we are pleased to advise that we are now three quarters of the way through a multimillion dollar refurbishment. Our new rooms are nothing short of spectacular and we have also updated our Lobby, Restaurant and Bar areas with new furniture, new chandeliers on the way and other touches to enhance the property.

I was concerned to read your comments about both our pool area as well as your In Room Dining experience and have shared these interactions with our Chief Engineer and our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure attention is paid in these areas.

Once again we thank you for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division manager
Royal on the Park - Renewed Refreshed Refurbished

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Get a room with a botanical gardens view and go for a walk through the park, onto the riverbank after breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laughlinalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our proximity to the Gardens – they certainly do provide a wonderful view from our Park View rooms.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to our brand new, fully refurbished rooms that have just been completed.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division manager
Royal on the Park - Renewed Refreshed Refurbished

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights over New Year and were very happy with the hotel . The concierge and reception staff were very friendly and helpful and we had no problems with the room - two very comfortable queen sized beds for 3 of us. We also enjoyed the large swimming pool and hot tub at the rear of the hotel.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
Thank stationden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I will certainly be sure to share your comments with our Concierge and Front Desk teams.

Thank you again for your stay and your time

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

The most disappointing of 30 hotels/motels/apartments we stayed in over 9 weeks in Australia and New Zealand. It could/should be so much better, but non-existent soundproofing and uninterested staff made our stay a nightmare. Though we had welcome support on our final day from one staff member (Steve) it could not make up for two almost sleepless nights brought about by noise from neighbouring rooms with young children. When we invited one staff member to come and listen to the children cavorting next door, his shrug of the shoulders and comment that it is an old building so there is not much soundproofing gives an idea of the level of service. Yet it is a beautiful building with good facilities and a prime location. Maybe a set of earplugs would make for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnandBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

I would like to apolgise on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay. Our standard procedure in this event would be to offer an upgraded room to you on a different floor as we do try to always allocate all our families with children together on the lower floors of the hotel as this is where our interconnecting rooms are located. The interaction with our staff member with regards to your comments about the noise is certainly not typical and I will be sure to raise your experience with our entire service team as a training exercise. I am pleased that your contact with Steve was memorable and I will be sure to thank him personally for this.

You may also be interested to learn that just this week we have started a full refurbishment of our guest rooms, as well as our lobby, bar and restaurant. Included in this refurbishment is brand new guest room carpet and a much thicker underlay which we believe will soften any noise coming into your room via any doorways. I would take pleasure in welcoming you back after our refurbishment is completed in February so that you could experience the hotel as it was meant to be. Please feel free to contact myself directly via the below details if you are travelling to Brisbane again so that I may personally take care of you and your next stay.

Once again please do accept my apologies and I do hope that the remainder of your trip to Australia and New Zealand was most enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
+61 7 3221 3411

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

My wife & I stayed here on December 13, we went to a concert at the Riverstage and this place was perfect for us... Its only a 5 minute walk to the venue or to the centre of town. Although a little expensive in my opinion, its definitely worth it and would stay there again for sure. No hassles, friendly staff & clean.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parramulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.

We are pleased to see that you found our location convenient – this is a re-occurring theme amongst all our reviews and it is a major benefit of our hotel.

I will be sure to share your review with our service team as well as our housekeepers whom take great pride in providing such a clean hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 167 in Brisbane
1,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#17 of 167 in Brisbane
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 167 in Brisbane
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#64 of 167 in Brisbane
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#26 of 167 in Brisbane
2,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#21 of 167 in Brisbane
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $106 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing