We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great base for the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed for 1 night while in Brisbane for a reunion. Is in an excellent location - walking distance to everything in the city but in a quieter street overlooking the Botanical Gardens. Perfect if you're like me and not into high density living! Rooms were clean and spacious, good prompt room service and free wifi. Would definitiely stay here again!

Room Tip: Park view for the serenity!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Maxtripper
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. We enjoy a convenient location on the fringe of the CBD with shopping, restaurants and public transport only a short walk away. The Botanic Gardens are opposite us providing inspirational views each morning and a quiet oasis for relaxing or exercising away from the city. We look forward to many more stays in the future.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    447
    135
    30
    19
See reviews for
236
441
74
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Our family had a great experience at Royal on the Park. We came to pick up our daughter who had just completed a semester abroad at UQ, and to do some sightseeing in Brisbane. The Royal on the Park is located right across the street from the Botanical Gardens, and only a block away from downtown and all the shopping there, so it's not in the middle of the hustle and bustle, but with less than 10 minutes of walking, you're right in the middle of everything.
The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable, the beds were super-comfy and the Wifi was unlimited and great. What more can you ask for?

Oh yes, the staff was really friendly and knowledgeable.

If I had to find something negative, I'd say that the outdoor pool wasn't heated and since it was winter, it was too cold for us to swim. No big deal really, and the hot tub was still nice and warm!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GirglKrautbichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear GirglKrautbichler
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. We enjoy a wonderful location opposite the Botanical Gardens and very close to the QUT campus. All forms of public transport are within a short walk as well as freeway access at the end of Alice Street. Every guest can use our complimentary wifi with no download limit at a 100MPS connection.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel, many times and the service, cleanliness, homely feel, general ambience never ceases to amaze...

Nothing is ever a problem - from the moment of arrival, the Concierge never disappoints with his nothing is ever too much trouble attitude..

Staff, remember you - call you by name which makes a guest feel so special.

Thankyou to Rudy, Chef and all staff in the Walnut Restaurant - OUTSTANDING !! You exceed expectations.
When in Brisbane don't miss this experience !!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the botanical gardens are exceptional !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear JAussies
I appreciate you sharing your feedback after another great stay. I am pleased that after many visits the staff still find ways to impress you. We strive to make each interaction personal and assist in any way possible, it is good to know that your experience has been no exception. We all look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I love staying at this hotel, it's central, it's comfortable and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

I've stayed here at least ten times and although the decor is a little outdated, the rooms are very modern and comfortable. Located a short walk to restaurants and cafés and the shopping area, its very easy to get around. It's also opposite the botanical gardens making it ideal to squeeze in some after work exercise.

Would definitely recommend staying here

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ManlyMissK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear ManlyMissK
I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay. I appreciate receiving feedback from our return guests as you have experienced all the hotel and it staff have to offer and the changes we make to keep improving our product. We have a great location opposite the Botanic Gardens offering inspirational views of a morning and it provides an opportunity for exercise after work. We look forward to returning many more times in the future.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

The royal on the park isn't a young hotel and doesn't pretend to be something it's not. From the moment you walk it has a refined elegance of a bygone area. The rooms are perfectly appointed with the only negative being a shower over the bath. If you book a room with botanic garden outlook it feels like you are far from the city when in fact you are only a comfortable 10 minute walk from many of Brisbane's best restaurants, and shopping.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a room with a view of the botanic gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Paul R
Thank you for your feedback. Royal on the Park is 45 years young and we celebrate our history with the classic and timeless styling and décor throughout the hotel. We have added modern technology to compliment the ambience with complimentary wifi and IPTV. Our location opposite the Botanic Gardens offers an inspiring start to each morning or a convenient place to exercise. Public transport, shopping and restaurants are all a short walk away.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimboomba, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here 4 times in the past year and each stay has been brilliant. From the helpful, friendly staff to the clean, beautiful rooms, Royal on the Park has yet to let me down.
I've stayed in both park view and city view rooms and enjoyed each of them. The last room we had was in front of the elevator and I was concerned about noise but I needn't have worried, it was quiet and peaceful as always.

Here's what I love about Royal:
The location. It's within walking distance of everything Brisbane city has to offer.
The decor. They were aiming for elegance and I think they nailed it.
The staff. I have yet to meet a staff member here who wasn't helpful and friendly.
The bed. I don't even know why but I sleep like a log.
The bar and restaurant. I have adult children who work in hospitality and they were impressed by the level of service received and the breakfast is fantastic (I've yet to have dinner but I'm sure I will at some time).

If I was to try and look for a fault I would say that yes, it would be nice to have an opening window but they have installed double glazing so the rooms are incredibly quiet given the hotels location so you can't have it both ways.

Keep doing what you're doing Royal on the Park, you make my stays memorable and enjoyable every time.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bloo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Bloo F
Thank you taking the time to share your thoughts after another memorable stay. I enjoy receiving feedback from our frequent guests as I am always pleased that our staff continue to find ways to impress you. We are always striving to improve and offer a product that is both exciting and gives value for money as well as subtle, yet personal service. The menu in the Walnut Restaurant changes seasonally to make the most of seasonal, fresh produce so be sure to dine when you next stay. Our chefs are happy to accommodate any specific dietary needs you may have. We all look forward to many more stays in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tamborine, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

My wife and I stay in Brisbane for a couple of days every month or so and last week we stayed at the Royal on the Park. Glad we did as we have now found our hotel of choice. OK it does not have the glitter and plastic of one of the new breed but offers the grace and charm of a quality operation and is full of history.
The stand out features were the staff, (friendly, knowledgeable, and happy to provide great service without being overbearing), the location (by the park and two or three blocks to Queen St, Pier 10 and pretty well anything you want in the CBD), the standard of facilities, bar & restaurant are top shelf and cleanliness is of the highest standard. (the head housekeeper must be a demon to work for!), parking is easy and plentiful and for the Brisbane norm its cheap.
On the downside not being a brand new hotel the bathrooms are small and have the shower over the bath but everything there worked just fine and was spotless.
Finally on a value for money basis it really does exceed the Brisbane hotels we have stayed at before and the Royal is now our hotel of choice while visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david1948737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear david1948737
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. I was pleased to read how impressed you were with your stay. We enjoy a great location opposite the Botanic Gardens with easy freeway access and convenient parking. We celebrate the history of the hotel by lovingly maintaining the façade and décor whilst adding modern touches including complimentary wifi. We look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#22 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing