We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Free WiFi”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Margate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Free WiFi”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We attended a reunion dinner at the Royal on the Park so decided to stay for 2 nights.

Check in was quick, as was the free wireless broadband. In fact the WiFi connection was probably faster than any other hotel we have ever stayed in.

The shower is over the bath and the screen does not stop the water from getting to the floor, the bathroom door must have have been subject to the shower spray as it was cracking from the floor upwards with bare unpainted timber being exposed.

We chose not to eat in the hotel as the meal we were served at our reunion dinner on the first night was very ordinary.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargateKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear MargateKev
Thank you for your review after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read you stayed with us as well as attending the reunion dinner held in our restaurant. I apologise that the meal served at your reunion was not to your liking however I am glad that you enjoyed the service provided at reception and our complimentary wifi with no download limits.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    457
    143
    30
    20
See reviews for
248
452
76
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

From the moment I arrived the service was excellent. I arrived early and my room was ready which was great, as it meant that I had almost a whole day to explore the city without having to worry about 2pm check in. Everything in this hotel is first class. The staff were exceptional and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. Had a beautiful room overlooking the Botanical gardens. Slept like a baby, the beds were super comfy, the pool looked inviting however, little too cold for me. The spa was great. The restaurant was superb.

Will certainly stay here again and also recommend friends stay there too.

Close proximity to everything Brisbane has to offer.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Mollymoo_10
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. At Royal on the Park we make exceptional service our number 1 priority and I'm glad to know that your experience was no different. An early check in, especially when travelling a long distance allows you extra time to relax and enjoy all the facilities we have to offer. We look forward to many more stays from you and your friends.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Beautiful setting opposite gardens with a wonderful blend of modern facilities with a traditional style. Also felt as if they weren't after our money the whole time which is a rare but great quality. Lovely room and great, helpful staff. Not exactly cheap but 100% worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boltie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear boltie09
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. We are proud to know that Royal on the Park was your favourite hotel during your 3 week trip to Australia. The hotel celebrates its classic style whilst embracing technology such as complimentary wifi with no download limits and IPTV allowing a broad range of viewing options.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This hotel is a Brisbane classic which has had its rooms done up with a fancy makeover. It is in a great location across the road from the Botanic Gardens right in the centre of town. My wife and I stayed in one of the spa suites located at the end of the hotel. It was VERY large with a separate lounge overlooking the Botanic Gardens, a spa bath in a separate room in the centre of the suite with a glass window so you could see the trees (this was a little bit 80s but very nice for a relaxing soak) and a bedroom with a very comfortable king size bed. We were very impressed with the friendly service we received and had a nice dinner at the restaurant downstairs. If you are after a fancy hotel with a 4 star price tag this hotel is very good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-TEMPLEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear T-TEMPLEMAN
Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent visit. Royal on the Park has a storied past over its 45 year history and great care has been taken to maintain the classic style whilst adding modern conveniences. We boast a central location opposite the Botanic Gardens with uninterrupted views from most floors.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanango, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent place to stay and great service! My family and I have been staying here over the years for both business and personal stays. We have never had a bad experience and virtually have come to think of many of the staff members as good friends. My most recent trip was for business and the staff went way over and above to assist me with a lot of training equipment that needed to be taken to an Albert Street business and they took it over there for me. I cannot praise the service enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Lydia G
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your most recent stay. After so many stays we have come to think of you as a friend rather than a guest and I trust that relationship will continue for a long time to come. All staff love to serve and no request is too much to ask.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Can't praise The Royal on the Park Hotel highly enough! Would be the best Hotel we have had the privilege of staying at. Everything was perfect! Food was excellent, service was tops, every single staff member was friendly and helpful and the accommodation itself was sublime. Without us requesting, or expecting it, they prepared for us a special private dining room for our small group at the last minute and in essence provided us with a special place and menu for a private reception celebrating our wedding that day at no extra charge. They also gave us a room upgrade at no extra charge. Awesome! Great value that was worth every cent!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear colbloke
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your stay. I was thrilled to read about your experience and very proud of the team for making your wedding dinner memorable. All team members strive to make each interaction personal and I am glad this was no exception.
We were honoured that you chose us to host your wedding dinner and glad we were able to play a small part in making it a night to remember.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a room overlooking the Botanical Gardens - great view, room v good size, service spot on. Used the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, first class service, recommended. Conveniently located for central Brisbane, shops, restaurants and river.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Keith F
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was most pleasing to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay but particularly our location and the service offered by the team.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#62 of 157 in Brisbane
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
2,533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing