We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #32 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions for business and always found it to be clean, comfortable and in a great location. No the hotel is not modern and on the outside it is not much to look at but the rooms are big and clean and the beds comfortable. They have great fast and free wifi and helpful staff. I'd stay here again on leisure or business.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear AusTripPlanner
Thank you for taking the time to share your review after your recent stay. I am glad that the hotel suits your needs when you travel for business and the staff provide helpful service. The hotel style is traditional with dark walnut panels and a classic furniture and we have added contemporary touches such as the free wifi with no download limits.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

697 - 703 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

My partner and I stayed on a Saturday night in early February in a park view room with king size bed on level 7. The room was clean, modern and had a lovely view of the park. I was a bit concerned when I saw there was an event being held at the hotel...but we didn't hear a thing and had a great sleep.

The hotel is only three short blocks from Queen Street mall, and a five minute stroll from Eagle Street pier restaurants. Great location without the seediness and noise you get closer to Queen Street Mall.

Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to take advantage of the pool facilities or the restaurant - but both looked inviting. In room pay per view movies had an excellent selection, and the hotel offers a complimentary late check out of 12pm (just phone reception).

Will definitely stay again on any future trips to Brisbane.

Room Tip: Level 7 had a lovely view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nean1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear nean1
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your visit. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our convenient location and the broad in room viewing option available via our IPTV selection. We have a large outdoor pool and spa area for all guests to enjoy and it has been very popular during the recent hot weather. The hotel hosts many large functions and careful planning and consideration is taken to ensure there is minimal noise and disruption to all guests.
We look forward to you coming back in the near future to experience more of what Royal on the Park has to offer.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We recently stayed (yet once again) for 2 nights. This has to be one of the best hotels in Brisbane, central but quiet with excellent service, comfort and food. We particularly like the elegant decor, much more attractive than the anonymity of the modern style favoured by too many hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Pam G
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location and the service provided by the team. The building has been lovingly restored over the years with care taken to maintain the history and décor of this grand lady.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here two nights on a recent business trip and from the moment I entered the hotel, the service from the staff was exemplary. Throughout the two days nothing was too much trouble, whether at the front desk, in the restaurant or the lady cleaning the bedrooms on floor five.
Large room complete with chaise for a touch of luxury plus desk to work from. Extremely comfortable bed afforded a great night's sleep. Excellent choice of food at breakfast and good menu with well presented food at dinner.
Overall, a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Good location opposite the botanic gardens and within easy walking distance of the shops and CBD. Would certainly stay here again and would recommend.

Room Tip: Suggest ask for a view of the Gardnes although rooms at the back of the hotel are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Jan A
Thank you for sharing your review after your stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, in particular our well appointed rooms and the service provided by the entire team. We have recently unveiled a new menu in the Walnut Restaurant that showcases the creativity of our chefs whilst providing options for all tastes and budgets. I am glad you found it to your liking.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Just spent two nights in this special place. Rooms were great, and the service and friendliness of the staff was exceptional. Easy walk into all entertainment venues and restaurants. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Linda P
Thank you for sharing your review after your stay. Very glad that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the exceptional service provided by the team.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights this week . Was a special occasion so we booked a Suite on the top floor . Amazing . Rooms are fantastic . Great views over Botanical Gardens . Easy walk into City and Treasury Casino . Service was Brilliant from all staff . We ate at Restaurant The Walnut , part of the Hotel . Very very good . Once again service was brilliant from Adam and all staff . Food was excellent .
Highly recommend both Hotel and Restaurant and we would definitely stay here again .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Darryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Darryl P
Thank you for sharing your review after your recent visit. I was glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay in our Executive Spa Suite and you were able to use all of the hotel's facilities. The view of the Botanic Gardens and across the Brisbane River from the top floor provides an inspiring view. Our chefs have recently released a new menu and I am pleased that you liked the food. Coupled with the service from Adam and the team the Walnut Restaurant offers an evening you'll remember.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have stayed several times in the last year or so because it is a pleasant situation by the park and very close to the best restaurant in Brisbane. Even for someone like me who is mildly disabled it is near enough to the Mall etc.
The rooms are quite spacious and the suites are large and keenly priced especially for a longer stay when you want to spread out a little. General standards are good and the staff deliver pleasant personal service. I would like to see a larger selection good Aussie craft beers and wines on the beverage list. Room service menu is v satis and very reasonably priced. I shall keep patronizing the ROP!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Ken G
Thank you for spending the time to share your feedback after another stay. I am pleased to read that after so many stays the staff still impress you with their personalised service and attention to detail. I will pass your comments regarding our wine and beer list to the Food & Beverage Manager for review to ensure we are always offering the broadest selection possible.
The entire team look forward to many more stays in this year and beyond.
Kind Regards
Dale John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 168 in Brisbane
630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#33 of 168 in Brisbane
1,021 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#16 of 168 in Brisbane
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#13 of 168 in Brisbane
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $75 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing