We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service from arrival to departure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing service from arrival to departure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed with my gorgeous 4yo for a Mummy and Daughter weekend. I was amazed by the friendly staff on check in and the quality of food we had from room service was top quality and super tasty. Comfy, clean rooms followed by great quality buffet breakfast. We will definitely be back with the whole family.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynLeeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear RobynLeeanne
I truly appreciate you taking the time to review Royal on the Park after your weekend visit. It was a pleasure to meet you and your daughter during your stay and the whole team are pleased that we were able to make your weekend away so very special.
The chefs appreciate your praise for their menu and quality of their food and I hope that you can bring the whole family back soon.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    447
    135
    30
    19
See reviews for
236
441
74
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Recently spent a night at Royal on the Park and found it very comfortable and well appointed. There was plenty of room for our gear. The bed was very comfy and actually had a top sheet without us having to request one like we have at the other hotels we have stayed in. I did find the bath tub a little difficult to step into and the bathroom was a bit pokey. The very large window offered georgeous views across the tree tops of the Botanical Garden. Just the best position. Easy walking distance to the Gardens, Riverside Wharf to catch the City Cat, Queen Street Mall, Casino and Southbank to the markets. We did not dine at Royal as it was too expensive for us. Royal is very close to quite a number of eateries. I must also compliment the staff in all areas for their helpfulness and friendliness, especially the cleaners. They seemed to be a very happy lot. I would definately like to stay there again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Jan S
Thank you for spending the time to write your review. It was pleasing to read how convenient you found our location and our spacious rooms. The floor to ceiling windows provide a stunning view and thank you for sharing a picture. The staff aim to provide efficient, friendly and unobtrusive service and I'm glad your experience was no exception.
The team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent a long weekend away in Brisbane and chose Royal on the Park for accommodation.
Room was great, bed very comfortable and even pillows were good (which is something I usually really struggle with - most hotel pillows are far too soft for me). Bathroom was small by modern standards with over bath shower but anyone over 6' will appreciate that the shower head will be still above them. Besides who lives in the bathroom anyway.
Service was great by all staff.
We had a $25 breakfast deal which was excellent. Certainly on those days we went without the need for lunch.
Location it was perfect. Across the road from the Botanical Gardens. A 10 minute walk got you to Eagle St Pier where there are some excellent eateries. 15 minutes gets you to the central station and CBD and 20 minutes in the other direction gets you to Southbank and all of its eateries and culture.
Southbank also has a market during the weekend.
There is ample opportunity to walk (or run) around the area or even take hire a pushbike from the many city provided hire spots.
We didn't need a car as caught the train from airport to city and either walked, trained or caught the river ferries to get around.
All up great weekend.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Graham B
I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent visit. It was pleasing to read that you found our location convenient to your needs for sightseeing and fitness during your stay. The Housekeeping team were thrilled to read how much you appreciated their hard work in preparing a flawless room.
We eagerly anticipate your next visit.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Your stay at the Royal on the Park was just fantastic. The Walnut Restrauant manager Rudy was superb and the food was fantastic. The front desk staff are friendly. Our room was very comfortinle had we had view of the park.Just a short walk and you are on the middle of the city.
A very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roverssc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Roverssc
Thank you for your review. It was pleasing to read how much you enjoyed our wonderful location and the expert service provided by all the staff. I appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge Rudy's service during dinner.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

My opinion with the hotel is that 1. the restaurant has 0 children options 2.The pool could at least be heated 3. i think they concentrate on elegance more then reality. 4. the ipad games need an update they are all for 4 year old most of those games. 5. they have a really good carpark.

Room Tip: The suites are really big and beutiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Emily W
Thank you for sharing your review. I apologise if the staff did not make our options for children known to you however we have menus that cater specifically to children in the restaurant and via In room dining. Meals for our a la carte menus can also be altered to suit a child. Our pool is not heated however the ambient temperature outside warms the pool so that it can be used most of the year and the spa is heated to ensure there is always an option available. The IPads we offer for rent do have apps loaded which cater to adults, ranging from magazines, news and other media outlets. The apps loaded for children are aimed at younger children so that no-one is potentially offended by material that some may find suitable whilst others don't.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I picked this stay via internet as we were on opposite sides of the Pacific and wanted something special. This Hotel definitely suited our desires.

+ Location opposite the Botanical Gardens meant we had total privacy in the lounge room with a wonderful view.
+ Close enough to everything, CBD, Mall for shopping, Rivercat and Ferry, waterfront Restaurants all within short walking distance, plus Museums and other Historical places of interest for those that way inclined.
+Northerly facing bedroom meant we didn't sleep with the curtains open but wanted them open during the day. The sheers blocked the view in from neighbouring apartments (I checked from outside) and the block-out curtains did there job effectively.
+ Buffet breakfast was all we wanted without being 'too much to choose from'.
+ sufficiently equipped Gym, outside pool.
+ spa off the lounge room originally felt odd but at night it was very relaxing (remember, no observers)

- charge ridiculous amount for extra coffee capsules for in-room machines
- slim-line desk instead of window seat in suites would be a better use of space and provide more space in the lounge room.
- bathroom needed full refurbishment

Room Tip: ` book room and breakfast option ` take time to relax and enjoy, this is not a high tech Hotel, thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Allisbella
I appreciate you sharing your detailed feedback including complimentary and constructive points. Our position is ideal in the CBD as we are opposite the Botanic Gardens and close to the freeway but just far enough away to avoid the congestion of the city. Our outdoor pool and spa surrounded by gardens provide an invigorating way to start your day or a relaxing way to finish.
I apologise if the dining table and chairs were not suitable for your needs however the room was designed so you have a separate area to enjoy meals or if you have company. Your comments regarding the bathroom will be considered when we next refurbish our suites to ensure they are of the highest quality.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

As a member of the crew for Brisbane's Carols in the City I stay at Royal on the Park every year in early December as it is a very comfortable walk through the Botanical Gardens to the Riverstage each morning.

The hotel is older in style but feels classy & I have never felt like it was run down like some older places can feel.

Each year my wife & 2 kids stay with me for some or all of my stay...usually in a family room but we have made do sharing two queen rooms in the past (more when our youngest was younger than he is now).

The family love the proximity to the CBD, the river, the gardens etc. & spend countless hours in the extremely pleasant pool & spa.

Last year we had the buffet brekky for the first time & that was also good.

Overall the Royal has become a family favourite & I can't wait to be back there in a few weeks again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deejayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear deejayess
Thank you for your feedback from your last stay. It is pleasing to know that you find our location so convenient when visiting Brisbane. Royal on the Park has been a long standing sponsor of the Lord Mayor's Carols in the City and is again sponsoring the event this year. Our chefs are always working hard to provide the highest quality food, sourced from fresh and local ingredients to offer the best dining experience possible. I encourage you to try their latest dishes when you stay with us next month.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#17 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing