We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable in the city”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #26 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable in the city”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I attended a wedding reception recently and this property left a fairly good impression during my short stay. Besides the location and the food, the staff must be commended for their attention to detail. The views of the Botanic Gardens and access some of the very nice joints make it a good option when you to go Brissy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kganeshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear kganeshk
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the service provided by the staff and the wedding held here. Our surroundings and décor combine to make a perfect ambience for a small or large wedding.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    453
    139
    30
    19
See reviews for
242
447
75
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lovely comfy beds and pillows, very clean and well maintained rooms and welcoming staff. Nicely positioned opposite the Botanical Gardens on the periphery of the CBD. I especially enjoyed the cocktail,Tobelrone as a nightcap.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaseaIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Karmasealrene
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent visit. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and the service provided by the staff. We have an extensive cocktail list in the Lounge Bar and the team are ready to accommodate any request.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for a conference held at the hotel. Loved it. The hotel has a really nice, elegant, luxurious, old fashioned feel that is very different from the modern minimalist glass and chrome look and feel of other offerings. However, it had all the modern facilities we needed, free WiFi with good reception everywhere, iPod docking station and really nice modern working areas in the room with accessible plugs for laptops etc. Beds were very comfortable - an important issue for me (sleep is a very valuable commodity). The bar was small but very comfortable, reminding me of some of the grand old bars in Hobart and Sydney complete with a baby grand piano. A great place to enjoy a nice single malt in the evening.

Location is excellent. Walk up Albert street for excellent coffee from Atomic Coffee (30 secs away), and great breakfast at Spoon cafe (3 mins away). Bottle shop and 7-eleven also on Albert street. Easy walk to restaurants at Eagle St. Pier, and 15 min walk through the botanical gardens over a bridge to Southbank. Lots of other cafes, sushi restaurants, Chinese, Korean, Indian, Greek etc on Albert St and side streets. About five min walk to the Queen St mall.

Lastly, the staff were excellent. Everyone I met was friendly and welcoming, and very helpful. I haven't experienced customer service like this in a hotel for a long time.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandhopper429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear islandhopper429
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent stay. I was so pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the excellent service provided by our staff. The building is 44 years old and we have maintained the traditional elegance of the façade whilst adding modern touches such as wifi and IPTV. The lounge bar has just released a new menu including tapas to compliment the extensive beverage list and single malt scotches.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we eagerly look forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Rusty doors
It would be wrong to pick about this too much. The hotel has excellent willing staff. The breakfast interesting and well provisioned with all the food you could desire at a $25 per head, although for some reason unknown entirely to me they charged me double for this .
It certainly is not worth $50 but I think this is a mistake.
But back to the rusty door. The bathroom is adequate but by no means luxurious. Which brings me to the hinge on the door, it is rusty and this seems to have spread to a patch at the bottom of the door. Oh dear it does stand out on a white door.
The rooms are large. Be carful you choose one above the fourth floor to avoid the street noise. But I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Above fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daveskiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear daveskiss
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, both positive and constructive. I apologise that the hinge on the bathroom door contained rust that had partially stained the door. Thank you for bringing it to my attention and Maintenance will be inspecting each hinge to repair and change where necessary. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the staff. They always appreciate receiving recognition for their hard work.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Royal on the Park is all about location location & service with a smile. Right in the CBD, and so close to Eagle Street Pier & restaurants. Southbank is a short ferry ride away. The rooms are large, clean & quiet. The view to the Botanic Gardens is fantastic! My new favourite place to stay in Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinSpecialK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear KristinSpecialK
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay. It was pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the staff. The view of the Botanic Gardens is indeed an inspirational way to start each morning before work or sightseeing.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and for your next stay be sure to try the award winning food in the Walnut Restaurant and our complimentary wifi.
We are all looking forward to your next stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Royal on the Park Hotel, Brisbane

We stayed overnight at the Royal on the Park so that we could attend a wedding nearby.
Reception was welcoming and helpful. Our baggage was collected from the car and delivered to our room.
The room was large with a great view over the park. All facilities that we could wish for were present including free WiFi. The bed was comfortable and spacious.
The hotel’s location near the centre of Brisbane is a plus with the Old Botanic Gardens opposite a relaxing area to walk.

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for a long or short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LapunMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear LapunMan
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. I was pleased to read how well the Front Office team looked after you during your stay to ensure a hassle free preparation before the wedding. The hotel and Botanic Gardens are provide elegant and subtle surroundings for a wedding and the team are eager to cater to any last minute request.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel offers the same, if not more then other properties. It provides all guests with free wifi, cheaper parking then its competitors and a nice breakfast that is not overdone.

I recently stayed here and wasnt impressed when I drove in but from check in to checkout everything went smoothly. The was no real hidden costs (tray charges etc). The location was great as well, right across the street from the Botanical gardens and only around 5 minute walk to Queen Street.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ralph H
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent visit. I was thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the team. Our location opposite the Botanic Gardens provides a great view to start your day but is convenient to the CBD and Southbank. Our wifi is free and very fast with no download limits which compliments our upgrade to the television system.
The façade of the building is quite different to most Brisbane hotels as the building is 44 years old. We have maintained the traditional appearance whilst adding modern technology to create a contemporary ambiance.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#15 of 158 in Brisbane
594 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 158 in Brisbane
948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 158 in Brisbane
2,348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 158 in Brisbane
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 158 in Brisbane
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing