We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #29 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location of this hotel must be among the better in central Brisbane. It is pretty much in the middle of the central business district right next to the botanical gardens and very close to numerous restaurants on the riverfront as well as the main shopping street. Although it is so central the surroundings are surprisingly quiet with not much traffic to talk about. The staff was very helpful and polite and helped with most things asked for. The rooms are of good size and quality and wifi is included in the rate. We decided to prepay breakfast to get the discounted price and the food is of very good quality. If/when I return I will definitely stay here again. Next time hopefully with my family.

Room Tip: The rooms with a view of the botanical gardens are more expensive but I don't think it is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABjork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ABjork.
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed our central location, comfortable rooms with free wifi and the service of our team.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    457
    143
    30
    20
See reviews for
248
452
76
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Royal on the Park, and this time there was another family that stayed with us in an adjacent room. Hotel is always clean and beds and pillows comfy. The Easter break was great as they had a special bag of goodies for the kids on checkin as well as an Easter egg hunt for the kids on the Sunday. Great location makes it a great 'go-to' hotel when we have a city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelle1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Chelle1607.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your recent stay. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay on our Easter Package and your children liked their gifts.
The Easter Egg hunt is an annual tradition at Royal on the Park and we look forward to you staying again soon.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle Heights, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stay in Brisbane five or more times during the year and have had a particular favourite hotel that was unfortunately booked this last weekend. Booking in to the Royal On The Park instead for this weekend was the best decision. Our trip was a mixture of business and family fun.Travelling with young teens is a pleasure for our family, but we often feel discriminated against or viewed with barely concealed suspicion. Not so here. Staff were friendly and courteous without exception. The room was clean, beautifully appointed and comfortable. Lot's of little extras made the difference: the free wifi, the chocolate on the room service dinner tray, the fantastic standard of servicing of the room during the day (by Karina? on the 6th floor). The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. I do have two small suggestions: parking fees are within keeping of other CBD establishments, I am aware. However, because my husband was actually away on business for most of Saturday, we parked in the street for all up around $12 for the weekend rater than the $56 we would have paid at the hotel. Our tall 4x4 would not have fitted into the undercover car park anyway, so nothing was lost in terms of convenience. I wonder if the $28 per day could not be turned into a $28 per stay? particularly on weekends. Also: while roomservice was excellent, we were looking forward to the buffet breakfast on our second morning. When I inquired on Saturday morning, I was told that if I booked in advance, the price per person would be slightly less. With four of us, $7 off per person makes some difference. When I then tried to book our breakfast during the day on Saturday, I was told that this would not constitute 'booking in advance' as this should have happened when we checked in. Problem was: no-one suggested this to us when we did check in. I'm sure this was just a simple lack of communication, and I'll know for next time. Despite the free parking at our 'former favourite' hotel, I think your service and attention to detail has won us over, Royal On The Park. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank one_of_four_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear one_of_four_on_tour.
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your first stay with us and the team made your stay a memorable one. The team strive to exceed every guest's expectations and I'm glad that they did so during your stay.
I was disappointed to read that the discounted breakfast option was not fully explained during your check in as we receive great feedback about the Walnut restaurant. I apologise for this.
Our car parking rates are consistent with other hotels and we have an above ground car park that does not have height restrictions so you can park your 4x4 during your next stay if you choose.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After having stayed at several different hotels in Brisbane, I must say that none exceeds the Royal on the Park for cleanliness, warm and friendly staff, comfortable rooms, location and service. The buffet breakfast is to die for! I will never stay anywhere else when in Brisbane and highly recommend it to all visitors.

Room Tip: A park view room is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Amanda W.
Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed our location, room amenities and the service provided by the team.
We all look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the weekend at this hotel. Our room, with it's floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city, a king size bed, (after a month in asia this bed was the ultimate in comfort), and every comfort provided was excellent. But undoubtably it was the staff that made our stay. From the front desk staff with fast check-in, and an offer to help us bring up our luggage from the car if we required it, to the pool service team, and the room maintainance girls, every member of the staff looked like they loved their hotel and the guests. The position is right opposite the botanic gardens , a short walk to the centre of town, and a reasonable walk to Southbank. (We are in our seventies). Would we stay their again....can't wait.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room overlooking the gardens would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneTwoofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear MelbourneTwoofus.
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and our location. I have shared your review with all team members and they were humbled by your praise.
We all look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benowa, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a Birthday Breakfast for our beloved Marge. From the first phone call to the last e-mail. The Restaurant Manager Ruby could not have been more Helpful and Professional.
The service was fantastic, he organised beautiful Flowers and even left a card for Marge.

Food was outstanding, everything fresh and not bulked up like in other Hotels. This Hotel is the benchmark for Service, Food, and Professionalism in Brissi.
The Buffet is not super large and may not have everything for everybody, but what they serve and do is first class. The wait Staff were very friendly, all the Cutlery and Plates were clean, what a great surprise.
Overall it was the best 5* Hotel Food Experience outside Asia.
We will go for Dinner when we get back. Can't wait.
A big Thank You to all the Staff working @ Royal on the Park.
Jean, Brenda, Marge and Pat

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Jean G
Thank you for sharing your review. We were proud to host Marge's 89th birthday in the Walnut restaurant and pleased how much you enjoyed our food and service.
I have shared this review with the Food and Beverage manager and Ruby who are already looking forward to planning your next meal.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Our greatly anticipated, long awaited 2 day luxury break was less than fulfilled by our stay at this hotel. On arrival, a rather officious young man behind the counter kept us waiting for some time before acknowledging our presence, while showing a guest a map. Another staff member noticed and offered to check us in, which caused the first one to haughtily tell him not to. The room was much, much smaller than it looked on the internet. We had booked a ‘delux’ park view king room, which was a real let down. The bathroom was an incredibly tiny box and the bath only large enough for a small child… I’m only 5 foot and it was too small for me. A dangerous step leading in and out of the bathroom caused major concerns and needs to be addressed. Worst of all was the ‘shower’. It wasn’t. A pathetic dribbling down the wall best describes it. The hot water temperature was another potential hazard – near boiling point, and the cold water pressure next to nothing. Cleanliness was average. Room was quiet apart from hearing TV blaring next door. Bed was comfy. Pillows were very good. Choice of TV channels and reception abominable! The only channel we wanted to watch was ABC which was akin to experiencing a migraine aura. This hotel lacks any special feel. On the plus side the bar staff were friendly, which is just as well because you definitely don’t want to spend time in your room. Have stayed overseas and had much better value for money.

Room Tip: ask for room with decent water pressure and tv reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear SRMP.
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet with your expectations of the hotel. I apologise for the service given during your arrival experience for the problems with the water pressure. Both of these issues have been addressed.
Our rooms were refurbished last year and we have received favourable feedback overall. I am sorry that it did not suit your taste. I am currently investigating options to improve our television offering to include a wide variety of channels and better picture quality.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
928 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#62 of 157 in Brisbane
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
2,533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing