We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #29 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed here on the 1.3.13. The rooms are quiet and it is a great location for the River Stage, University and shops. The only small gripe I have is the shower was a complete pain to operate, either cold or very hot.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Looly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Looly 1.

Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. The maintenance team are inspecting the showers and our water supply to ensure that the temperature of the water remains even.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Dale John

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

Friendly service on reception & timely room service. The Hotel is appealing on entry & looks quite glam. The room was roomy for the 3 of us, we loved the very comfortable beds. The pool looked great but cool, we enjoyed the heated spa even though it was pouring with rain! The only down side was the grubby walls. The Hotel is in an excellent position for the Botanical Gardens,where we attended a concert. We got a good price for the room & it was just what we needed for the one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park! all we could see was roof tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J01962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear J01962.

Thank you for sharing your review with fellow travellers. I'm pleased that you enjoyed the service by our hardworking team and our convenient location. The outdoor pool and spa facility is a great place to relax and unwind, even in the rain and our new beds provide a restful night's sleep before or after a busy day.

Kind Regards

Dale John

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at the Royal on the Park for four nights in a deluxe park view room. The hotel is very well located overlooking parkland but minutes walk to the Queen street mall. Check in was efficient however after dropping my bag off at 10am and returning at 4pm I was still waiting for the bag to be delivered to my room at 6 pm! The foyer, bar and restaurant have maintained the original 70's style of the hotel and it somewhat works. The renovated rooms however have missed the mark. They look and feel cheap. The artwork is depressing, chaisse lounge whilst a nice touch has no lamp (or other lighting), table or power point nearby to make it functional. Forget reading a book or having a drink whilst laying back as you won't be able to see and you'll be putting your glass on the floor. The bathroom is on the small side and very plain (white, white and more white). The room is a good size but the decor just misses the mark. The hallways look like a school dormitory. If you can get a room for under $200 here it might be decent value, but for the $260+ I paid it is overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reckless_abandon8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear reckless_abandon8.

Thank you for sharing your review with fellow travellers. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location and the efficient check in provided by the reception team. I was however disappointed to hear that your luggage was not delivered in a timely fashion and you were still waiting for you luggage upon your return to the hotel. Please accept my personal apologies.
The hotel was refurbished in 2012 and I am disappointed that you do not find the decor and artwork to your liking. I have passed on your comments regarding the lighting of the room to the Maintenance Manager for review.
Thank you again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I checked in this place for a week. The location is good and the refurb seems to be done well in the lobby and the restaurant as well as the pool. But unfortunately this is where it stopped. The most important for me at any hotel is the mattress and unfortunately this one was done. A ditch probably best describes this mattress.
However, there was one thing which really upset me. I actually got checked in by the bellman. Since it was a business trip my room had been prepaid by a travel agent. During check in he used my credit card for extr charges. But he must have not seen the pre payment and authorized my card for $2000 which maxed my card out (I had trouble paying for my dinner that nigh). When speaking to the front desk the next morning, that it was only an authorization and the travel agent sent the confirmation to late ( however I mentioned the prepayment during check in). There was no such thing than an apology all she said was that she will send a fax to the bank and that it takes up to 5 business days to get it removed. Thanks!
I'm actually staying another 2 weeks here in Brisbane and it was the first time that I instructed the travel agent not to book a particular place.
If you want a decent sleep and genuine service, then go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gallimucho76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Gallimucho76.
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with other travellers following your recent stay.
Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience at check in and the inconvenience it caused.
This does not reflect our usual high standards and I am disappointed that we fallen short of those standards on this occasion.
I have passed on your comments to the Housekeeping Manager regarding the quality of your mattress so it can be replaced.
Your comments have been taken most seriously and have been shared with the Front Office team to highlight the importance of these standards and communication with our guests.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here for one week in August 2012. Very clean and efficient hotel with a great location adjacent to the park in central Brisbane. A twenty minute walk gets you across the river to the promenade, the Convention Centre and the Queensland Museum. Likewise, walk the other way and much of central Brisbane is only a few minutes' walk away, such as restaurant and shops, etc. Internet access was VERY expensive, though, and I depended on this for some work I had to do. But GREAT location!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjorn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Bjorn S.

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location.

I am pleased to inform you that as of 1st September last year, Royal on the Park offers complimentary wifi internet to all guests.

Kind Regards

Dale John

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night and enjoyed the Hotel and its offering. Good location just opposite to the gardens with nice views (stayed on the 8th floor). Room was clean and comfortable and large enough to accommodate the 2 of us. Next time we go back to Brisbane will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear wilburys2011.

Thank you for your review. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay, the recently refurbished rooms and our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Dale John

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Fantastic room, very happy with presentation and space. Very comfortable bed. Christopher at checkin was very welcoming and professional. Room service was quick and very enjoyable. We had a peaceful and relaxing stay even though there was a bridal expo happening at the same time. Despite the extra people around staff still provided excellent service. We will be returning in the near future and will endeavor to to tell all friends and family of your wonderful hotel and the excellent service we received.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sacha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Sacha G.

Thank you for sharing your review with other travellers. I was very glad to read you enjoyed your room and your in room dining meal. All reviews are shared with the team and in particular with Chris who was humbled by your kind words.

Despite the busy weekend with the bridal expo I'm pleased that the team were still able to exceed your expectations of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Royal on the Park soon.

Kind Regards

Dale John

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 169 in Brisbane
1,177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#54 of 169 in Brisbane
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
2,484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#18 of 169 in Brisbane
3,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#33 of 169 in Brisbane
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $97 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing