We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in central location”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #31 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, very friendly and professional staff and they have excellent food if you feel like dining in. When we went to check in our room was not ready so we had to wait few minutes in the lobby, after the short wait they gave us 2 complimentary buffet breakfasts. Most buffets are pretty decent but this was much better than expected. We still have a few days here but we had an excellent first impression of the great hotel. Rooms are super clean and great attention to detail.

Stayed: November 2012
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_FOM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Mike L

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers

I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience in the Walnut restaurant.

I will certainly enjoy passing on your feedback on to our team who all work hard to ensure service comes first.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Thank you again


Umedha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
There are newer reviews for Royal On The Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We attended a wedding in The Botanical Gardens and reception in nearby city restaurant - check in was seamless - had time for a spa before the wedding and a very comfy bed welcomed us back later that evening. The buffet breakfast was lovely - just what u need after a big night out

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_FOM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

I am happy to read that everything was up to your expectations.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind Regards,


Umedha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Royal and on both occasions was woken by the noise of children in the hallway, or a television from the next room.

Decor was a little tired, and the hotel seemed to be short on staff. Or those on duty were being trained.

On checkout, they had not included my room-service breakfast which I had to point out to them. And then wait until they worked out what to charge my.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_in_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_FOM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions with other travelers.

The hotel is fitted with 12mm soundproofed glass in every guest room to insulate against any noise from the city coming into the building. As you may see from our other reviews, we have received much great feedback about the quietness of the rooms however I certainly accept that without any city background noise, the noise from other guests may seem more apparent to lighter sleepers. In future, we would encourage you to contact our reception team at anytime day or night if noise disturbs you as we can always find a solution when we are made aware of problems.

Finally, please do accept my apologies if you did not find our reception staff exceptional – they are usually the stars of our service and I will be sure to share your feedback with them with a view to continual improvement.

Thank you once again

Kind Regards


Umedha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was in the city and the reviews on this forum are generally positive.

As I arrived in my car late in the afternoon, there was nobody to be seen to assist with my luggage. When I went to the front desk to check in, the staff member wasn't friendliest person I've met in Queensland, but at the same, she wasn't rude either. I just felt like she wasn't interested in me as a guest, but more in whatever she was doing at the time.

About 7.30pm I decided to check out the gym as my business schedule had been hectic lately and I needed to really burn off some calories, however as I tried to enter the gym door, my room card didn't grant me access. To be fair to this hotel, I didn't advise staff to rectify this problem. As an alternative, I had a look at the hotel pool with the intention of having a swim, however on inspection the pool had no lights, so it really didn't look very safe. I gave that thought a miss.

Later that evening the power in the entire building went off at least twice for a period of 4 minutes at a time and the television reception went in and out throughout the night. Also, the wifi stopped working from about 9pm onwards and never came back on (luckily I had my own personal internet access as I had business to perform).

I am definitely not saying that this is the experience guests will receive whilst staying here, it could have just been a bad night. But I have to be honest and advise what happened during my stay here.

On the positive side, the room I stayed in was very clean, comfortable and spacious (room 437). I was also impressed with the Morrissey toiletries supplied in the bathroom. The checkout process was smooth and friendly, although no apology for the facility failures were forthcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view room prior to check in.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcommins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_FOM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review

I was pleased to see that you found our rooms comfortable, however there certainly are aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations – and I do offer my sincere apology for this.

Power to the hotel was interrupted due to an emergency repair carried out to the substation and we did have a power outage for a couple of hours. Letters were delivered to all rooms informing guests regarding the outage but however I do apologise if you didn’t receive one.

I would be keen to discuss your review further with you to seek your ideas on further enhancements we could improve on. Please do contact myself direct on 07 3221 3411 if you wish to discuss.

Thank you once again for your stay with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Thank you again

Kind Regards


Umedha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location of the Royal on the Park is unbeatable - central to the CBD, shopping areas and restaurants, the riverside, the beautiful Botanical Gardens for a pleasant stroll along the riverbank or to the parklands and restaurants of Southbank and close to ferry, bus and train transport. Although the decor is now a little dated, the hotel is well maintained and very comfortable. The rooms are well furnished and quite spacious, many with lovely views across the Gardens opposite. The bathrooms are now looking tired but are clean and quite adequate. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Gardens side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneysider48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_FOM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback!

I am pleased to read that our hotel lived up to your expectations in every way. Our team certainly does ensure that ‘Service comes first’ and hopefully after your experience with us this time, we will be your hotel of choice for all your future visits to our Beautiful City.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back

Regards,


Umedha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of attending a trade expo at the Royal on the Park recently. Their DOS very kindly organised for my staff to be able to access a room to use so we could change into evening dress for the function that night. All staff there were very friendly and helpful. I love the family feel here - it makes you feel very warm and welcomed. Thank you all so much.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank OzRobBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_FOM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

I was so pleased to read that you couldn’t rate us high enough. I will be sure to pass on my personal thanks to our teams on your behalf for achieving our mission of ”Where service comes first”

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Kind Regards


Umedha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My second visit in 4 weeks and I was happy to book in here again. Wonderful friendly service. The staff are very obliging. Just a short walk to the Queen st Mall (a few short blocks). Across the road from botanical gardens. Rooms are lovely, clean and fresh.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonclo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_FOM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review with us and other travelers.

We are very pleased to see that you loved your stay and I will take great pleasure in sharing your comments with our team.

Thank you again

Kind Regards

Umedha
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 168 in Brisbane
1,008 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#17 of 168 in Brisbane
1,033 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 168 in Brisbane
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#64 of 168 in Brisbane
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 168 in Brisbane
2,774 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#20 of 168 in Brisbane
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $107 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing