We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We've been coming to this hotel for about 10+ years. I think we've been through 2 or 3 refurbishments. So that kind of speaks for itself. You always get friendly service, clean rooms and a great location. The pool area looks awesome with the new decking around it, but unfortunately it was too cold to swim. Next time..... We didn't eat at the restaurant this time, but have on previous occasions and it's excellent. So is the breakfast buffet. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Bris-vegas.

Room Tip: Park view rooms are the better ones, but cost extra. Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers.

I will be sure to share your kind comments with our team who all ensure we live up to our motto of “Where Service Comes First”. It’s good to see our guest are enjoying our pool area since its makeover – we also believe the deck and removal of some trees and addition of open grassed spaces give our CBD oasis a special touch.

I am not surprised that you found the Walnut Restaurant excellent – I very rarely take any feedback stating otherwise.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    445
    134
    30
    19
See reviews for
233
438
74
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed last weekend 29th June and had a wonderful time.

I practically holed myself up in the room for the two nights, as I was just there to lounge about. The KING size bed was so comfortable (linen was lovely too!)

As some people have commented - the rooms can be noisy, as there was a child (or children) in the room next to me that kept making noises but this was during the day so it's not as though I was trying to sleep.

I absolutely loved the 24 hour movie deal - and watched about 5 movies during my stay

The only disappointing thing was perhaps the room service. For what it is it's pretty pricey. But there are plenty of other options nearby.

I would definitely stay here again. It's location is fantastic, and it's also a great hotel just to chill out in and not move!

On top of this the rate I paid was incredibly cheap.

Great work Royal on the Park!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HMS000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!
I was pleased to see that you found your room so comfortable that you didn’t want to leave – we receive so much good feedback regarding our beds, which we view as the most important aspect of any hotel room.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you next time.

Regards,
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

After having a terrible first experience at the Royal on the Park, we were invited back to spend a night on the house. We were impressed with the beautiful spa suite. The room was newly renovated, and one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. Very comfortable bed and we slept well. The spa was nice too. Gorgeous views across the park and it felt like being in the lap of luxury. We felt like a million bucks. Until breakfast the next morning, that is...

Unfortunately, the main cause of our disappointment the first time was again an issue this time. Once again, they just couldn't get our room service order right. We ordered two breakfasts and we were both missing vital elements (like the bacon & sausage!). We were very clear and concise about giving our order over the phone, and the person taking the call seemed to understand it. But the message got lost in translation.

If I were the owner of this hotel I'd seriously review the staffing situation in the kitchen/room service department and general staff/customer communications.

If you are thinking of staying here give it a go because the beds are super comfy but just don't order room service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Kim,

Thank you for sharing your review with us!
We were pleased to read that you found our newly refurbished suites exquisite – no expense has been spared with the refurbishment of these 5 start quality suites and we are pleased to announce that we have recently taken shipment of a large number of iPads – one is destined for each of the suites as an added bonus for our guests (free of charge of course!). Today we are also placing Nespresso Machines through all these Spa Suites so they will be even more luxurious on your next stay.

After I spoke with you on your stay regarding your room service, we did conduct a full examination of the two situations you experienced and I’m pleased to be able to advise that we have pinpointed the cause. It is by pure chance that you unfortunately received (on both stays), menus that were out of date – therefore the kitchen believed they were sending the correct dish of the new menu. We have since of course checked each and every room as well as changed our ‘menu changing’ procedures to ensure that we avoid any reoccurrence for future guests.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you next time.

Regards,
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Although rated as 4-star, this is at best a 3-star hotel. The rooms are very dark and the poor lighting tries to disguise the shabby decor. The bathroom we had was primitive - no basin or shower mixer and the mould growing on the bath was off-putting, to say the least. The receptionist was very hard sell and tried to get us to sign up to (very expensive) breakfasts by offering a slight discount if we signed up on check-in. Avoid doing so as there is a raft of cheap (and pleasant) cafes a block away in Albert St. The internet fees are completely exorbitant - AUD27 per day, which is very expensive, given many hotels now provide internet access for nothing. The rooms are quite small and the sound insulation is not great, and is not helped by the narrow corridors (noise seems to bounce around these). The only plus for us was the location - very close to town and just over the road from the lovely gradens. Overall, though, I wouldn't return and I would advise others to avoid this hotel too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsGDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Kim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.
I was pleased to see that you found our location good, however there certainly are aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations – and I do offer a sincere apology for this. I was surprised to see that you did not appreciate the hotels décor – whilst we have invested greatly in this area over the past two years, I certainly do appreciate that our classical style and return to ‘old world elegance’ may not be to everyone’s taste.
I’m sorry to see that our offer of a discount on breakfast was communicated to you in the wrong way – it is the objective of our team to offer a reduced rate for inhouse guests as due to the quality and selection we provide, our buffet breakfast is extremely popular with residents of the area and we encourage guests to ‘book early’ as to avoid delays or the disappointment of missing out.
If you do wish to discuss any other aspects of your stay, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly on 07 3221 3411.

Thank you once again.

Regards,
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 in a 2 queen bed park view room. The location is fantastic with all of Brisbane's shopping and nightlife within walking distance. We even walked to Suncorp Stadium from the hotel (about 25 mins). The room was excellent, being clean and well laid out. Beds were very comfortable with lovely pillows. Found all of the staff we encountered easy to chat to and nothing was too much trouble - special mention must go to Rudy in the bar/ restaurant for superb service.
Room Service was the fastest I have ever encountered (far better than 5 star Marriot amd Stamford Plaza!) - meals for 4 arrived in 10 mins and were great.
A couple of small gripes that would not stop me staying here again:-
Our room was not made up by housekeeping until 4pm - a little bit annoying as we wished to relax after a hard days shopping.
Also recieved a phone call from reception about a noise complaint relating to our room. I was woken by the call, so highly unlikely any noise was coming from our room ? As per other reviewers I found that the recent improvements to noise insulation in the rooms have been successful - we were not disturbed by either other guests or traffic - a little ironic that reception disturbed us !!
For a city hotel in this location, the Royal cannot be beaten when you consider the cost and standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GladstoneLardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear GladstoneLardy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers.
We do offer Brisbane’s best location – close enough to the CBD to be walking distance for everything Brisbane has to offer, but also on the fringe so we offer relative calmness and amazing views over the Botanical Gardens.
I am pleased to see that Rudy’s service was exceptional – Rudy and his team in the Walnut Restaurant certainly offer Silver Service and for your mention of him, I am pleased to nominate Rudy for a ‘Moment of Truth’ award – our guest recognition program for staff excellence.
I certainly do apologise about the lateness of your room servicing – it is very unusual and I will ensure to discuss this with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure we are refreshing rooms at a more appropriate time.
Finally – please do accept our apologies for the call from reception about the “noise complaint”. We do take the sleep of our guests very seriously and I will review the procedures we have in place when receiving a noise complaint from one guest about another guest to ensure that quiet guests are not disturbed.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Regards,
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

After reading so many postive reviews and seeing what a high rating this hotel recieved, I decided to book a room. Such a mistake. The hotel itself is lovely, and the room looked great! However, it was so noisy - I had read that from one of the reviewes and it is true. You can hear the people next door and in the hallway. We got so little sleep.
Also the spa was lukewarm - it was a cold weekend and it would have been nice to get warmed up in the hot tub. When we informed the front desk they said that its the correct temperature. Very strange. I found the reception to be a bit rude, and overall I feel for the money I could have stayed at a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Shirley,

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions with other travelers.

I was very happy to read that you found your room comfortable and welcoming. The hotel has recently installed 12mm soundproofed glass in every guest room to insulate against any noise from the city coming into the building. As you may see from our other reviews, we have received much great feedback about the quietness of the rooms however I certainly accept that without any city background noise, the noise from other guests may seem more apparent to lighter sleepers.
In future, we would encourage you to contact our reception team at anytime day or night if noise disturbs you as we can always find a solution when we are made aware of problems.
Finally, please do accept my apologies if you did not find our reception staff exceptional – they are usually the stars of our service and I will be sure to share your feedback with them with a view to continual improvement.
Thank you once again.

Regards,
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

After originally booking into a top-rated hotel in Fortitude Valley (noisy, smelly and over-rated, and we like 'trendy') we altered our accommodation to Royal on the Park, and were very glad to have done so. Apart from saving a reasonable amount of money. we loved the park view and the proximity to Southbank, galleries, luxury shopping and good eateries. We like to walk everywhere, so this is a good base.The king bed was very comfortable, and the room was quiet. It featured curtains which crossed over in the centre for the best light exclusion. Personally, I would prefer two club chairs to a chaise for relaxation. The hotel may have a few dated touches but we enjoyed it and will return in future.

Room Tip: We only saw the park-view king room but recommend this choice; our was on the corner so did not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#21 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.4 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#16 of 162 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Property: Royal On The Park
Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing