We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great work in progress”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #31 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I have just read a review that suggested the hotel renovation was incomplete. It's good to know that the refit is an ongoing process as some of the hotel decor looks good, others not so.
Its a 40 year old hotel, but in saying that I have stayed at more modern hotels that haven't been so well looked after. The fittings etc at TROP can be dated, but they all work and there has been some care in maintaining them.
The check-in was very good. Lana was friendly and professional, and even though my room wasn't ready (I was arriving earlier than normal check-in) she looked after me.
I had lunch in the restaurant and had a great steak - very tasty, fresh vegetables and good service.
My room (832) overlooked the city. It was very clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the room was well soundproofed. The bathroom was dated, very small with the position of the toilet odd and a hindrance.
The location is great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapp0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay and for sharing your experiences with other travellers.

Our Engineering team takes pride in their hotel and this is definably reflected in the upkeep of the building. This is the oldest hotel in Brisbane, however we totally agree that it’s in much better condition that most of our competitors. We are diligent in our preventative maintenance programs and invest heavily in this area.

Thank you for your comments about Laena – she is one of many stars on our front desk and has received much excellent feedback recently. To our disappointment (but her happiness) she is now enjoying a well deserved break with her family in Europe – however don’t be concerned as all our other front desk agents are just as friendly and accommodating!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Royal On The Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 10 years ago upon my first trip to Australia and upon a return visit to Brisbane decided to book here again, because of the great experience I had way back when and to check out the renovation.

Indeed, the hotel has undergone a very good and modern renovation, the service was wonderful and you just cannot beat this location if business or holiday takes you here.

Very comfortable bed, spacious room and while the bathroom probably still needs to be updated it was fine, great shower and roomy.

We did not eat at the restaurant, even though they offered us a "discounted" rate of $22 for breakfast (usually $28).

The free Brisbane loop bus stops across the street so you can get around the inner CBD quite easily, and it's a very short walk to the City Cat terminal and restaurants at Eagle Street, plus being across from the botanic gardens is lovely. It's also quiet - traffic is not a bother at all and we didn't hear any noise from other rooms or guests.

Also, we took the train from the Brisbane international terminal at the airport - the closest stop is the Central station in the CBD. From there, it is a downhill walk along Albert St. of about 15 minutes to the hotel. You can also catch the free loop bus as noted above across the street from the train station, and vice versa so you don't need to catch a taxi if you don't have a car.

Would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure and look forward to another stay when next in this lovely city.

Room Tip: Choose a Park View room - great views over the Botanic Gardens and the Brisbane River
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed our upgraded rooms and facilities and we are excited to begin the refurbishment process again in just over 5 weeks!

As most travellers mention, the location of Royal on the Park cannot be bettered – with close access to the main shopping & business districts and as you point out, ease of access to all modes of transport, with the added benefit of not be surrounded by the “concrete jungle” that is Brisbane! Our views over the Botanical Gardens are serene and provide a peaceful aspect for our guests.

Once again thank you, and please, don’t wait for another 10 years before visiting us again!

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were taken care of. Room was spacious and well appointed. The set-up of the newly refurbished room has been well thought out. As has been stated in previous reviews the bathrooms have not yet been refurbished however, it has also been stated that they will be. In the meantime the bathrooms may look a little tired but we loved the amenities in the bathroom including a vanity pack containing makeup remover pads and cotton buds (have not seen them anywhere else) and the fact that they had a shelf in the shower big enough to hold shampoo & conditioner bottles etc (get so sick of having to put everything on the floor in hotel showers).
Every staff member we encountered was courteous and helpful. We wanted for nothing and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T1sWas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Our new room shave been well designed with premium furniture to ensure maximisation of space and the quality of finishes. We are pleased to see that you agreed with our designers and their ideas!

I will also be sure to pass my thanks onto the team for being so accommodating and helpful.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Royal couldn't be located better for a walking visit to Brisbane, even a short one. It is right across the street from the wonderful Botanical Gardens which is a great place to birdwatch or be amazed by exotic trees and flora. Immediately up Albert Street is the Queen Street shopping district where there are occasional concerts and outdoor cafes. Walking out the other direction towards the river are an almost infinite choice of the chic indoor/outdoor restaurant bars on the river. I arrived on two separate brief visits both very early, at 7am and 8 am. On each occasion the helpful staff had a room ready by 9am. Rather than waiting around in the lobby I walked to a closeby sidewalk cafe for breakfast.

The rooms did not disappoint, with comfortable bed and fluffy pillows. It was very quiet. On the disappointment side were the lighting, which is energy-efficient to a fault. It is impossible to see inside your luggage after dark. Also, it was necessary to call room service for ice. After waiting over an hour, finally gave up and went to bed. And the wifi is pricey. Primitive in these times. Still - the location sets this one apart.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlcwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experiences with us.

I’m pleased to see that although the hotel runs at a very high occupancy year round, our front desk and housekeeping teams were able to accommodate your early arrival.

As most guests point out, the location of Royal on the Park is perfect – may I suggest for your next stay reserving a Royal Room. Featuring upgraded bedding and facilities such as ipod docks as well as bottled water and brand name bathroom amenities, these rooms would be perfect for your bird watching as they are located on the top two floors of the hotel overlooking the Botanical Gardens. They even include complimentary full buffet breakfast and WiFi access.

With regards to your comments on our lighting, we do use energy efficient lighting in all rooms (which has assisted us to win the international Global Business Travel Association award for Hotel Sustainability in 2011) however in future when you stay with us next time, please let our front desk team know and we can arrange an extra lamp or two in your room.

I do apologise for the delays in the delivery of your ice – I will discuss this with our Food and Beverage Manager as an opportunity for us to improve.

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great location right outside the Royal botanical gardens and inner city. Not too sure why the bathrooms weren't renovated as it looks like the rest of the property has been. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Try to get a room with a view you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kutiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your stay with us and for sharing your experiences!

I’m pleased to read that our location was perfect for you – we find being so close to the CBD, but near the Botanical Gardens with our street having direct access to the Riverside Expressway allows us not only to be within walking distance of all the major attractions, but there is no battling with the CBD traffic upon approach or departure to the hotel! (and as you mention – it also provides us with wonderful views over the Botanical Gardens)

Our team takes so much pride in what they do and it will give me great pleasure to share your comments with them in recognition of a job well done!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you next time!

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is on the edge of downtown and across the street from the Royal Botanic gardens, a great location to get to everything. The hotel boasts a multi million dollar renovation - this is true but it was only half renovated. The rooms were redone but it seems like the bathrooms were skipped, they are an odd layout. The pool is incredible and was the highlight of the porperty for us. The staff were great and very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckFurbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinions with us!

With regards to our refurbishments, our rolling refurbishment program is still continuing. With Brisbane accommodation demand so high, it’s sometimes difficult for us to get the time to complete all our renovation wishes at once. In January of 2012, we will be refurbishing our remaining 8 suites, as well new ground floor carpeting & lighting. Our front desk will also receive a make over during January. Refurbishment of our guest room bathrooms is a major scope of works for the hotel and as such we are still investigating all our options and we do hope to be able to make an announcement regarding our plans for these areas in early 2012.

Its good to see that our pool area is receiving some much great since its makeover – we also believe the deck and removal of some trees and addition of open grassed spaces give our CBD oasis a special touch – just out of interest did you know that our pool is the largest in-ground pool in the Brisbane CBD?

Finally – thank you for mentioning our team – consistency is the key to excellent service and its pleasing to see that our teams service is a constant source of comments on TripAdvisor.

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Normally wouldn't have considered staying here but my usual accommodation was full and the "Wot-Hotel" deal put me here.

Having read some negative reviews, I suppose my expectations were mixed.

Checking in was quick and a pleasure, the staff were both courteous and friendly but the lift was probably the slowest I've seen outside Europe - had I not been staying on the top floor I would have given up and walked.

There was an odour in the hallways (probably wouldn't have noticed had previous reviewers not pointed it out) but it wasn't at all overpowering and was made up by the room being clean, well-appointed and very comfortable. Bed was comfortable and I don't think I've ever seen so many pillows and bolsters - almost tired myself out choosing one and putting the rest on the floor.

Wireless internet was painfully slow considering the pricing - internet should be free in better hotels (if I'd had the brains I could have connected to the new free public wireless node in the Botanic Gardens next door).

The dining room is opulent and the menu reflects this - if you are looking for light and slimming meals, try elsewhere. Room service breakfast was on-time, ample and tasty - odd that coffee of any sort was not on the room service breakfast menu, but a simple note on the order resulted in a pot of good coffee.

Staff were happy to store my bag for me after I checked out, and even let me work in the bar for a while before my flight.

All in all, an enjoyable experience - a bit like staying at your maiden aunt's place - all top quality and friendly, but a little tired. Noting that the property is undergoing a progressive upgrade I can easily recommend it - especially if you get it at a discount price.

Room Tip: higher rooms overlooking the botainc gardens are light and often have views of the lovely Brisbane R...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weary_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 168 in Brisbane
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#17 of 168 in Brisbane
1,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 168 in Brisbane
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
#64 of 168 in Brisbane
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#26 of 168 in Brisbane
2,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#21 of 168 in Brisbane
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $108 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing