We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay...would highly recommend”
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal On The Park
Ranked #29 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days on 26th March 2011...we were pleasantly surprised on just how Deluxe the rooms were and we also found this hotel through booking on the Wotif Mystery room website and paid a very reasonable rate for our room. The front desk staff were truely wonderful and helpful and when we dined at the restaurant for breakfast the next morning , it was one of the best buffet breakfasts I think I can remember...even the bacon was lean with no fat which is something rare these days. The selection of fresh fruit was unbelievable..obviously run by someone who has a healthy outlook on good fresh food.
The location was superb - opposite the Botanical gardens..so you could walk through it and end up on the Goodwill bridge that takes you over to Southbank. We also walked a lot to the Eagle St restaurants on the river - only a brisk 5 min walk away and very scenic if you take the river path....
We later moved to the Rydges hotel in Southbank for a conference and found the rooms there to be a little tired and far more expensive so wished we had booked longer and just taxied to the conference every day !
I would definitely stay at the Royal on the Park again...and would of course recommend it to all our friends and business associates.. Carolyn & Andrew

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lanose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Dear Carolyn & Andrew,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our new rooms and that our front desk team were exceptional – I will be sure to share this feedback with them.

We have recently undertaken a complete revamp of our breakfast buffet with a focus on quality & selection so our Chef and his team will be pleased to see that the changes are being well received.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2011

My parter and I stayed at Royal on the Park after scoring it with a wotif mystery deal. We stay in one of the newly refurbished deluxe rooms. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. This hotel is in a fabulous location, walking distance to queen st and restaurants along the river. Our only complaint is the bathroom smelt like someone had been smoking in it. A little disappointing but a little out of the hotels control I guess. All in all we would definitely stay here again and recommend to others! The bed was especially comfortable too!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGrayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to see that you loved our location as well as our newly refurbished rooms.

We certainly do apologise for the smell in your bathroom – I will raise the matter with our Executive Housekeeper to ensure that our team is de-odorizing any smells they come across. It is disappointing to see that some guests disregard our non smoking policy.

Also – we are glad that you found your bed comfortable – at the end of the day it is the single most important feature of a hotel!

Thanks again and Kind Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

This hotel is located across Brisbane Botanic Gardens which is very convenient for families with young children (like me). My husband and I stayed here with my toddler for four nights. When my husband goes on training during the day, I take my toddler out to the park to play. Aside from its proximity to the park, it is also a 5 to 10 minute walk to restaurants and shops that will lead you to Queen St Mall. Great service too.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Dear Guest

Its clear to us that the old saying is still true – Location, Location, Location!! Its great to see that our guests agree that we have the best location in Brisbane, with our close proximity to the beautiful botanic gardens as well as the major attractions of the Brisbane CBD.

I will be sure to share your comments about our service with the entire front line team – they are the backbone of our hotel and we all appreciate guests taking the time to share their feedback with us.

Thank you for your stay and for the time taken to share your experiences with other users of TripAdvisor.

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

The 'Royal' is one of the older hotels in Brisbane CBD, but it has been recently renovated.
What this means is that the rooms are larger than normal, and quite modern.
I stay here quite often for business and for pleasure.
The restaurant is great, as is the room service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterJKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are pleased to see that you find our location convenient and that you like our newly refurbished rooms and restaurant. I will be sure to share your feedback with our Chef and Food and Beverage team as well.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We spent 3 nights in this hotel at the beginning of November in a nice big room overlooking the Botanic Gardens. The room and ensuite were clean if a little old-fashioned. The bed was lovely and comfortable and, as the area was quiet at night, we were able to enjoy a good sleep. The only complaint we had was that the UHT milk in the fridge had gone off but this was quickly rectified.
We found the staff to be polite, friendly and helpful, especially the concierge who advised me on the best way to get to the Koala Sanctuary and ran off bus timetables from his computer.
We didn't make use of any of the hotel's amenities as we were using it mainly as a base from which to explore the city and surroundings. Nor did we eat in the hotel as there was a good choice of cafes and restaurants round about.
The location was excellent, being close to the main shopping areas as well as the nice riverside walks and the gardens across the road.
A pleasant stay in an upmarket hotel at a reasonable price from Octopus Travel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a1lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us and other users of Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to advise that we are almost finished a full refurbishment of our 145 Deluxe Guest rooms which now have a much more contemporary feel. The décor and fittings are nothing short of breathtaking in our new rooms (We have kept the mattresses as they have always been a favorite amongst our many regular guests)

I was disappointed to read about your UHT milk – we usually provide small portions of fresh milk in all our guest rooms and UHT milk is only used in emergency situations. I will ensure that our Executive Housekeeper and her team are double checking expiry dates of any in room food items in the future.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to our brand new, fully refurbished rooms.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division manager
Royal on the Park - Renewed Refreshed Refurbished

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

This hotel had a beautiful, old-worldy feel to it. The staff were friendly and helpful and the views of the Botanical Gardens were magnificent. Some older hotels tend towards being shabby, but this hotel was dignified and fresh. I loved the spaciousness of our room and the tasteful way it was decorated. The robe and slippers provided made me feel welcome and comfortable. We had a relaxing and pampered stay and I so didn't want to move on to our other accommodation at the Gold Coast. As it turns out, however, had we extended our stay, we would have had to evacuate due to the floods. I hope this beautiful hotel has recovered from any damage. I loved it and definitely want to return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words! We are famous for our décor at Royal on the Park and during our recent multimillion dollar refurbishment, a key factor for our interior designer was to enhance & compliment the existing décor such at the wood paneling and Parkside location.

We were very lucky indeed with the recent floods. Whilst the hotel sustained some damage to our lower carpark, the Lobby, Restaurant and entire ground floor were spared from the rising waters by less than a metre! The entire hotel was fully operational again within three days of the water subsiding - We wish to thank our very dedicated staff, various contractors as well as Brisbane City Council & Energex for this mean feat.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to our brand new, fully refurbished rooms.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division manager
Royal on the Park - Renewed Refreshed Refurbished

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed for only one night in a Secret Stay Room and were very impressed. We have previously used 'secret stays' which didn't hold up to the motels reputation but Royal on the Park exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, clean and well presented with a big roomy comfortable bed,mini bar and good quality complimentary bathroom goodies. The staff were friendly polite and helpful. Our breakfast in the Walnut room had a good variety buffet and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. We were sorry we were only staying one night and look forward to the next time we stay. The only negative I found was a charge for parking.. but then I don't like to pay for parking at any motel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us!

We are pleased to see that your stay lived up to your expectations. Our entire team works very hard to ensure all our guests are well-cated for and we will enjoy sharing your comments with them at our next all staff meeting.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the future to our brand new, fully refurbished rooms.

Regards
Nick
Rooms Division manager
Royal on the Park - Renewed Refreshed Refurbished

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
2,519 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#7 of 169 in Brisbane
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#19 of 169 in Brisbane
3,623 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 169 in Brisbane
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: 152 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#78 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $94 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing