We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Stanthorpe, Australia
1 review
“Excellent location”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I discovered this hotel last year and I keep coming back. The hotel is located in the centre of the city and is easy walking distance to everything. The rooms are huge and very clean. Reception is very helpful and I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rosa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Rosa
Thank you for finding us and becoming a regular! We cannot think of a better compliment than a happy return guest. We also appreciate your astute comments about our central location, huge rooms and helpful reception.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    213
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
151
219
42
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel has, although in the middle of Brisbane, very big rooms. The cheapest rooms still have a dining table, small kichenette and a seperate working desk. Very clean rooms and I did not experience any noise from other rooms or from outside. Whenever I'm in Brisbane, this is the best hotel to get.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Margot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Margot
Thank you for your glowing review!
It is unusual to find a hotel in the heart of the city with spacious rooms, yet . . . here we are!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Excellent location,central yet walking distance to the South Bank. Friendly helpful reception and the spotless,spacious room was a delight. We had a two bedroom suite which was excellent.Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 186266Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Mike
Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that we were able to delight you with our spacious rooms. I am always delighted to hear that the reception staff are friendly and helpful, and that housekeeping are doing a fabulous job!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel is a great find - located in the centre of the Brisbane CBD and offers apartments and rooms. Rooms are quiet with double glazing. Very short walking distance to shops and business areas. No in-house restaurant but the Cafe outside the main entrance has excellent food and is open from 630am until late at night. Concierge 24hours per day with good security. Car parking is great and they retrieve your car on request. Secure car parking at cost of $22 per night but well worth it.

I will be staying here from now on. Good rates for 3 nights stay as well.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the higher floors if you want less noise from the street although it is all fairly quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Jenny
I am delighted you found us!
We are ideally situated for shopping, business and dining. Yet once you pass through our lead light entrance doors you find peace and tranquillity and old world charm.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Weather I am traveling with my partner or family I find the Royal Albert to cover all of our needs from very helpful staff to extremely comfortable rooms. You are practically in the mall and you have a large range of cafes, restaurants and shops within walking distance.
I stay at the Royal Albert when I am in Brisbane or returning from overseas because of its location, level of privacy and it is extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: I prefer the 1 bedroom suite as I wake up early and can spend time in the lounge room drinking coffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PLD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear PLD
Thank you for your great review. We do have a fantastic location across the road from the mall, Myer centre and Wintergarden! I am pleased you found our rooms comfortable and spacious, and our staff do endeavour be as helpful as possible.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Beautiful authentic restored building. Comfortable large rooms. Wonderfully obliging staff and a position that any accommodation provider would envy. And even though we were in a very busy part of town there was no traffic noise at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Liz
Thank you for your top review. As well as our great location, we believe that an increasing number of discerning travellers look for heritage boutique hotels. When we refurbished a couple of years ago, we chose furniture of a classic elegance and an innovative modern design to be true to Royal Albert’s 100 year heritage.
As our rooms are double glazed, we have the vibrant city life without the noise and fumes.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Royal Albert is an excellent place to stay and enjoy what Brisbane has to offer. We have stayed here many times and are never disappointed. It is so close to everything in the City and the Cafe - Restaurant at their front door is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GregoryBBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Gregory
Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that we have been able to consistently meet (or exceed) your expectations.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.1 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
2,623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
2,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#16 of 157 in Brisbane
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Property: Royal Albert Hotel
Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing