We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
Ranked #9 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Royal Albert Hotel is in an awesome location, right in the centre of the city, the rooms are huge with everything you could want, we even had a washing machine and dryer.
There are restaurants and bars right on the doorstep and it is across the road from Myers and about 2 minutes walk to the Queens Street Mall.
We spent a wonderful 5 days there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 635 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I work in this great city but live over an hour away and usually commute into town. This particular night I had a work function on and needed to stay over night. The Royal Albert came to the party.... Great rates, awesome location and seeing I am a bit on the mature side of the age bracket I wanted it to be safe too. This hotel was perfect on all accounts, and offered so much more... Great sized room, all self contained, desk to finish off last minute plans for work... awesome bathroom with great lighting for makeup! and the linen on the bed was of very high standard. But I think the highlight was the service of the team. From the booking through to check out, thank you. I look forward to seeing you all again soon. Oh and it was lovely and peaceful, hard to know you were in the middle of the city.

Room Tip: Just talk to the staff about your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjiehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

great rooms, nice and large , right in the heart of Brisbane fully self contained kitchen and laundry. valet parking, leave the car walk everywhere,supermarkets are very close if you wish to cook . We found a nice little restaurant called little Singapore, excellent value and very good food. We will definitely stay at Royal Albert again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davnicarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Davni
Thank you for your great comments pointing out our features of huge rooms and our great location right in the centre of Brisbane.
Yes Little Singapore is very popular, as is Vapianos next door to it. Both of these offer inexpensive but quality food.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and were quite satisfied. The hotel itself is older but very charming and well maintained. The location is great - close to the Queen Street Mall and other downtown amenities.

The room we had was clean and comfortable. Perhaps the only downside to our stay was that our room was facing the main street. We were "treated" to an assortment of more (or less) talented street musicians blasting out their renditions forgettable tunes on strange instruments at odd hours of the day and night. Ahhh, the joys of travel! It wasn't really a problem, but you might ask to be in a room facing away from the main street if you want to sleep late - or don't appreciate musicians of limited talent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morris91030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Morris
Thank you for your great comments!
We are an older hotel building. In fact this year we celebrate our centenary! So we are proud of our heritage and that we were once the tallest building in Brisbane.
All of our bedrooms are double glazed which is very effective at cutting out the talented street musicians’ renditions. Some of our One Bedroom Suites do not have the lounge room double glazed so we do understand that there may be some sounds of city life during the day and early evening.
It is good to see travellers with the right mind set. As you say, the joys of travelling!
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have stayed at the Royal Albert before and think it is a good place. We stayed there again last weekend, booking in on the Friday afternoon. All was good until we went out for dinner and then returned to find our air conditioner did not work. The fan was running, but there was no chilling. We reported the problem on the Saturday morning and the staff tried a few basic checks of the system to no avail. They offered us another room, but unfortunately the room on offer was a lot smaller and did not suit us, so we stayed in the room with no air conditioning for the second night. The hotel did supply us two pedestal fans which did help. When we went to check out I was expecting an argument over the bill because of the no air conditioning, but was surprised to be told our room had been substantially discounted because of the problems. The staff were also very apologetic all weekend and really did try to help up. The rest of the weekend was fine with no complaints from our side of things. We have actually booked to stay there again in a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear JP
Thank you for your understanding about the problem with the air conditioning. I am pleased to hear that our staff offered another room and two fans and a discount to the room rate.
I hope that you will agree that a week-end air conditioning malfunction is beyond our control and that we did do everything within our control to minimise your inconvenience.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A nice Boutique hotel, large and comfortable room. We had a dinner at the Cafe (the Hotel entrance): good food and great coffee!
Walking distance to Queen Street Mall. We did not have to book a taxi to the Airport as there are taxi ranks right out the front that is so convenient.
Value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Gala
Thank you for your great comments!
I am so pleased that you had a great stay at our central location. Although our rooms are refurbished, we like to maintain a heritage feel consistent with our 100 year history.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

An older style building with a lot of history. Traditional decor, so not for anyone looking for something modern or funky. Rooms were large and surprisingly quiet. If I had to find a neative it would be the bed wasn't great - really soft and had a sore back each morning. Whilst there is no restautrant, there is a cafe outside, which was average - if you have time, explore the city for a better eating venue.

Room Tip: Location is great - right in the city. I was there mid week - not sure if it would still be as quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Succhi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Stuart
Congratulations on our 100th review!!!
At 49 sqm even our smallest rooms are really spacious.
We will check out the beds as they are top of the range Sealy Pillow Tops, perhaps we will find a loose castor.
Yes there is no shortage of dining choices at Royal Albert Hotel. As well as our Café Mondial, our favourites are Pane e Vino and Jeremys.
Peter Tyrer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.4 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
0.7 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#6 of 169 in Brisbane
1,176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 169 in Brisbane
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#18 of 169 in Brisbane
3,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Address: 167 Albert St | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $100 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the double doors of Royal Albert sweep open, you realise this is no ordinary hotel. Gone is the hustle and bustle of city life. Gone are the fumes and noise of city traffic. Inside there is tranquillity. Inside there is space and old world charm. Inside there is a friendly greeting. Royal Albert Hotel - the heart and soul of Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing