We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inner City Comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Ranked #82 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2010

My partner & I stayed at Rothbury with our 18 month old boy before a big international flight the following day. I had a huge esky of pre prepared food for our stay overseas and when I arrived they had offered to keep it in one of their large freezers until the morning, nothing was out of the question. We were greeted with happy, friendly & very competent staff. The location is fantastic, the rooms were very insulated, comfortable & clean. I would definitely stay at Rothbury Hotel again in the future & think it is fantastic that such a classic hotel has been looked after so well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessH_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 183 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2010

My wife and boys stayed for a long weekend and found the large 2 bedroom apartment very nice. It was amazing to have a 2 bedroom apartment in the middle of the CBD. A bit of a walk to good restaurants but overall, very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMichael017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I can not begin to describe my distress and upset over my stay at the Rothbury. I was there for the month on business, but after one week someone forcibly broke into my locked room at 6.30 in the morning and stole all my items of value - phone, computer, wedding rings, cash, credit cards - WHILE I WAS ASLEEP IN THE ROOM!
Not only was this a horrific invasion of privacy, and a terrifying experience, the stress was exacerbated by the hotel who refused to cover any of my items with their insurance, even though I had done nothing any normal customer would not do. They offered no sympathy or empathy, and I believe that they feared I might sue them and so totally disconnect from the situation and wanted nothing to do with it. There was no PR, no support no offer of any assistance or anything, not even comfort. Whatever their insurance policy, their handling of the whole affair was simply disgusting and not befitting of any company within a customer service industry. I have written a formal letter to the hotel director of my distress and upset over the situation, and he has chosen not to respond at all.
It is awful, and I can not stress enough to any potential guests, that this would be a bad choice. If anything happens to you while you are there, do not expect any help or human kindness from this hotel. Don't expect that your valuables are safe, or that you are personally safe, or that the hotel cares about these things.
I'm not the type of person that would dream of suing anybody, but the sheer arrogance and rudeness of the hotels response has made me think twice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
8  Thank SimpleSallyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed in the Hotel rooms. The bed was terrible, well worn, springs were able to be felt, the air conditioning couldn't be adjusted and the room, even with the window opened, was stiffling hot. We were told that we could have free internet access, but there was no wireless available and the Hotel rooms don't have cable access. I went to see reception and was told there was nothing that could be done. I asked for a second key so my wife and I could go out separately but again there was no spare key. They did waive the parking fee but that was after we said we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TITIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

My husband and I were delighted to stay at this very charming Heritaged Listed Hotel.
The staff were of the finest quality that i have ever had the pleasure to meet and are world class. As my husband and i have trevelled extensively we were delighted to see that we were treated with as much respect at home in our own back yard as we are when we travel abroard.
The Hotel was very central to everything a tourist would want to see in Brisbane and im so glad we picked this hotel, we walked everywhere and loved it!
The champagne and chocolates and great value certainaly added to the charm.
The Building itself and its 1930's deco charm was just beautiful, my husband and i were amazed at how charming and clean this building was, we will certainly be recommending this hotel to all our friends and family. Thank you to all the staff at The Rothbury On Anne

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrunoandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed at Rothbury for a business conference with my colleagues. The location was fantastic so close to the train station and offices. The corporate rate that we received was very competitive and worth the value of the hotel. I received a paper and breakfast basket which was great to have just before the morning conference.
will definately be back with colleagues. Staff was very helpful and allowed me to do printing and faxing from the office.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DomainApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The room I stayed in was a 1 bedroom apartment on the 4th floor. It was clean, it was tidy, it was spacious, it was well equipped and above all it was value for money. I really enjoyed staying there and the only problem i had (which in the end isn't really a problem at all) was the furnishings where a little dated... think 90's.

The windows opened, but the top halfs only. Kinda hard to explain and being only 5'3 it was a task to open and close :D
The Lounges were comfortable and the TV worked great. There was a VCR and DVD player which I didn't use.


The bathroom was just that.... a bathroom. The shower had good pressure (which is important to me) and of course there was the usual soaps and amenities. Linen was nothing special but It doesn't have to be.
I do think that the towels could of been a better quality. I found them really thin but they did the job. Also in the bathroom was the washer/dryer which was noisy so don't use it at night time.
The bathroom has doors to the bedroom and the living room.


I was really impressed with the kitchen and contents. It was only a 2 burner electric stove but inside the cupboard was an electric fry pan. There was a large variety of things in the cupboard which, if you would like ask, I have extra photos have.

The was plenty of crockery and a good variety of glasses; wine, red wine, water , coffee cups and coffee mugs.

Good kitchen :D

All in all this was a really awesome little apartment hotel. It is exactly how the brochure describes it and the pictures don't make it seem like something it's not. An interesting little feature of the 1 bedroom is the bed that comes out of the wall in the living room... at an extra charge of course.

I personally stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment, but i do believe there are 2 bedroom apartments available for all the families out there.

What really made my stay special was the complimentary breakfast basket for 2 I found in the fridge. It was just enough for 2 (or just me) and was full of things like Weatbix, Nutrigrain, 4 slices of bread, 2 milks, 2 pineapple juices and all sorts of different I personally think that it was a really nice touch. The whole building is beautiful. I love the elevators and the way they have been restored. even though its only a small place it has a sense of grandeur about it. I'm told that some rooms have balconies as well.

There is a rooftop BBQ are and also an spa and sauna which I didn't get to use or look at (PROMISE I will do it next time).

Room service is pretty standard with it only appearing to be some sort of microwave meals that the reception deliver. In saying this they have a fairly extensive booze menu that you can order from.


Even though i gave this place a 8/10, and what I've said above... I recommend it to anyone that wants a nice place to stay in Brisbane. spreads.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missjay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#19 of 169 in Brisbane
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.1 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brisbane Central
0.5 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 169 in Brisbane
1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#10 of 169 in Brisbane
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel

Address: 301 Ann St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#93 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $77 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane's leading Boutique Heritage Apartment Hotel, featuring the best of European Art Deco, style and warmth. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel has 60 luxury self catering apartments with palatial proportions. The apartments combine the comfort, style and the grandeur of a bygone era with modern personal and business facilities and current technologies. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel also offers guests the opportunity to unwind in our roof top garden setting where you can relax and enjoy your BBQ meal surrounded by city lights or under the stars. A spa and sauna are also available. Come and Experience ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, where we take your business ..... personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury On Ann Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing