We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Really Great Service Thanks So Much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Ranked #81 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Great Location and Really Great Service Thanks So Much”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Thanks guys for an amazing stay we felt your service was excellent, the location of this hotel is great your not going to get any better. We both had a great nights sleep too whihc is great as some hotels are just so noisy. Thanks again we will be back. Monique Burgess

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    66
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
25
54
22
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

Thanks So much to all the team at Rothbury Hotel, what a lovely place you have, everyone was very warm and helpful and it was the just the best location for the whole Family, we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BNHGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2009

I booked a hotel room. Air con was very noisy. All the hotel rooms (not suites) are in pairs with room 'A' having control of room 'B' access to air con. What this means is that if guests in room A take their key tag (in error) out of the wall slot, then not only does their air con stop, but yours does too.

The next day(a weekday) I tried to contact reception staff but it was closed and phone was constantly busy (this is around 9am). when I returned that evening (6pm) same problem. Need more staff. What about check in? Not everyone turns up at the 2pm request time.

After explaining to staff that it is very rattly and seems to switch off and on at regular intervals, the girl said this was normal to maintain room temperature (I was very cold). She offered to move me to another room but in the same breath confirmed all rooms worked like this. So to not freeze, I spent the evenings with no air con or lights on. (your power and air con come on when you put tag in wall slot).

I was on the first floor with my window overlooking an alleyway, this wasn't an issue but the 2am garbage truck visits were.

Location was excellent in proximity to CBD. However even though the room was tidy & clean, there were scuff marks inside the wardrobe wall, dry paint marks on the doona and the bathroom door handle fell off.

Wet towels that were left on the floor (as stated for pick up by staff) weren't collected.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raven100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

While billed as a heritage-listed hotel (which it is - 1930s art deco style), the Rothbury just feels like a tired old institution. The art deco theme is interesting for a short while,and then the reality sets in. There's nothing specifically wrong with the place, it's just dark and frayed around the edges, with everything being a bit out of date.

While there are some pleasant staff members, others appear to be indifferent. The small, pokey reception is frequently shuttered up, even at peak times, and there is sometimes a wait just for basic front-desk service.

It's certainly conviently located (across the street from Central Station), but other hotels are a more pleasant experience for a bit more money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constant_traveller54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My wife and I often stay at Rothbury on Ann Hotel when we need a getaway into the city. We choose rothbury because its close to everything like transport shops (for the wife) and the casino (for me).
we get a breakfast in our rate which is always pretty good on the weekends and its enough to get us started for the day.
The staff are very friendly. My wife and i like the style of the hotel which is art deco a pleasant change from the norm hotels.
we normally drive in and we are able to leave our car in the morning in the car while the room is being cleaned which is a bonus for us.
but you have to book parking because there are only a few spaces

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeerBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

The Rothbury is a small apartment hotel in a converted (and fairly stylish) art deco office building in the Brisbane CBD, with the original elegant stairwells, foyers and (mechanically upgraded) lifts. Booking/service/etc was efficient (though not helpful about local amenities) and the location (a couple of blocks from the central shopping/restaurant district and a few blocks from the riverside arts/etc area) convenient. Rates were also reasonable and there was little or no noise from other guests.

On the negative side, our fourth floor 1-br apartment was not particularly good:

- the living/kitchen area of the apartment was spacious and light and the bathroom good, but furniture rather tired and (as the building is small and surrounded by large office blocks) mostly looked out on to (and, presumably, could be looked into from) neighbouring offices;

- the building faces on to a fairly busy arterial street, with solid traffic from the early morning onwards and there also seemed to be noise from the nearby (though largely underground) central railway station. While the original windows have been supplemented by interior sliding windows, the exterior noise level is still fairly high;

- the kitchen area was spacious but not well-equipped - a mix of crockery, a handful of poor quality kitchen implements, a broken toaster and a single hotplate - and no extractor fan;

- air conditioning/heating was -astonishingly- loud at times; and

- although we had booked (and paid additionally for) an infant cot, no-one thought to tell us that (i) there was no room in the bedroom for the cot and (ii) the dividing door was a very creaky/lightweight wooden louvre, which was impossible to open and close quietly and did little to separate the two rooms, which largely undermined the point of an apartment room.

Parking was also something of an adventure - it is reached via a sharp turn off the road outside and down a narrow driveway - and would be a challenge in anything much bigger than a medium-sized car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WittgensteinU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
2,000 reviews
391 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

I enjoyed the architecture of this hotel, with the room itself being pleasant, and the fittings good quality.

I slept well and had no complaints as all fixtures and fittings worked or were in good condition.

It was disconcerting that the local restaurant scene is so poor. Brisbane really is a 'country town' compared to Melbourne.

The hotel reception was pokey and staff service only average but I regard such serviced apartments as basically BYO food and drink.

The location was tops with the Airtrain and Gold Coast trains only a hop step and jump away.

  • Liked — Heritage, style and location
  • Disliked — Slightly cavalier staff attitude
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#18 of 160 in Brisbane
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#8 of 160 in Brisbane
623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 160 in Brisbane
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Astor Apartments Brisbane
Astor Apartments Brisbane
#70 of 160 in Brisbane
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel

Property: ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Address: 301 Ann St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#72 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane's leading Boutique Heritage Apartment Hotel, featuring the best of European Art Deco, style and warmth. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel has 60 luxury self catering apartments with palatial proportions. The apartments combine the comfort, style and the grandeur of a bygone era with modern personal and business facilities and current technologies. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel also offers guests the opportunity to unwind in our roof top garden setting where you can relax and enjoy your BBQ meal surrounded by city lights or under the stars. A spa and sauna are also available. Come and Experience ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, where we take your business ..... personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury On Ann Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing