We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated charms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel
Ranked #81 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

The charms of this hotel lie in its location, gorgeous art deco architecture, and friendly staff. The rooms the self are quite small, the walls reasonably thin. For the price though, they are good value, and nice and clean. The continental breakfast is a bit sparse, so don't expect much beyond a couple of slices or bread and some generic cornflakes!
The staff are really helpful and lovely, and it's such a great location, only couple of blocks from the mall. Would definitely stay here again, as it is quite handy to everything.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank poptartlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 186 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

I chose Rothbury because of the art deco and rooftop area. I planned this weekend to propose to my girlfriend in an intimate dinner on the rooftop. The staff were amazing helping me out with flowers, champagne and dinner.
The weekend was perfect, the room was clean comfortable and the staff were very friendly.
Was located central as we went out later to the casino to celebrate.

We will be back for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the location really handy, as we caught the train from Brisbane Airport and the hotel was only 5 minutes walk from the station. However, our room was really disappointing - quite small and on the ground floor, with glass cubes instead of a window, so it felt really dark and a bit like a dungeon. The walk downstairs from the rooftop sauna felt like a school corridor and the reception was the only area that had any real charm - even though the hotel is sold on its heritage/history, it felt dated and old, rather than having character.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GFSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Our room was very small. There was no room to put our suitcase so we had to open it on the one desk provided and thereafter eat in our lap whilst sitting on the bed. The only thing smaller was the TV with tinny sound. Tea bags are rationed one per person per day. The lifts are very much in need of a 100w light bulb.

Room Tip: Check the size of room before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zacuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I stayed at the Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel in November of 2011. I actually stayed in two hotels while I was in Brisbane, as I was there during a very busy weekend, and many hotels were fully booked by the time I made my reservations. I ended up dividing my time between this hotel and another, more expensive hotel, and I think I preferred this one for the overall value.

My hotel room was clean and comfortable. It was conveniently located (only a block and a half from the train station, and a short walk to the riverside restaurants.) The hotel comes with free wi-fi, and as I stayed in an apartment hotel, it also had a washing machine and a kitchenette. I didn't use the washing machine, but I would imagine that a family staying there on holiday, or someone staying for more than a week, might appreciate that sort of convenience. The room service prices were very reasonable, as was breakfast at the next-door cafe in the morning. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The old-fashioned lift (elevator) was a quaint touch, reminding you of the historic nature of this heritage building. The marble bathroom was spacious, although it did not have a bathtub (only a shower.)

There is a rooftop sauna, hot tub, and BBQ area, although I didn't use them.

The problem with TripAdvisor's ratings system is that there's no distinction between a five-star hotel and an excellent experience. This hotel is not a five-star hotel, nor does it try to be. It is probably a 3.5-star hotel, but I had an excellent experience. I got an internet special on my room, and overall, I thought it was a good value. if you're in town for business and just need a convenient, comfortable, reasonably-priced hotel in which to sleep, I encourage you to try this hotel.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
2  Thank AEKBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnStreet, General Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for your review of Rothbury Hotel. We are glad to hear your experience was a memorable one and thank you for recommending the hotel to fellow travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

As I was having family stay at my home I checked into the Rothbury. The photos were an accurate representation of the hotel and the price was only $145 a night. I chose this one because it promised breakfast and a newspaper in the price.

The reception staff were acceptable but not overly friendly. On check in I asked what newspaper was available in the morning as it was important to me. I chose the paper I wanted to make sure that it would come.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. I the breakfast was delivered to our room. It was a little packet of cereal, milk, bread....little packet of jam and coffee. It was ok. No sign of the paper I so looked forward to though.

I would have struggled to read in bed anyway as the light-bulb was missing from the bedside lamp. But that was no big deal. I mentioned to reception "I think the bedside light is not working....perhaps because it has no bulb?" She looked at me like I had two heads....perhaps she didn't get it. Never mind.

Overall it was quite acceptable but I am not sure how it has made it into the top 18 hotels in Brisbane based on reviews.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmithersinAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnStreet, General Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback whether good or bad, this helps with the training processes of new and current staff to ensure each guest has a flawless stay. We hope to see you again in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

For the past 8 years I have been spending considerable time at the Rothbury as a corporate traveller. I don't normally have time to provide feedback but this hotel deserves the attention. Rothbury has become my home away from home when doing business in Brisbane. It is in a perfect location that is central to all of my Brisbane CBD clients. Their prices are always competitive and the staff are exceptional in service and attention to detail. The beds are six star in comfort not to mention breakfast is complimentary! I recommend all of my colleagues to stay at Rothbury when in Brisbane because this heritage boutique hotel is second to none.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnStreet, General Manager at ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2012

Thank you Helen for your review. The team at Rothbury love having you stay with us, and we look forward to working with you in 2012!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Brisbane Central
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
0.4 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#11 of 169 in Brisbane
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#14 of 169 in Brisbane
1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Art Series - The Johnson
Art Series - The Johnson
#13 of 169 in Brisbane
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel

Address: 301 Ann St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#68 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $93 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane's leading Boutique Heritage Apartment Hotel, featuring the best of European Art Deco, style and warmth. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel has 60 luxury self catering apartments with palatial proportions. The apartments combine the comfort, style and the grandeur of a bygone era with modern personal and business facilities and current technologies. ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel also offers guests the opportunity to unwind in our roof top garden setting where you can relax and enjoy your BBQ meal surrounded by city lights or under the stars. A spa and sauna are also available. Come and Experience ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel, where we take your business ..... personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ULTIQA Rothbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury On Ann Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing