We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The facelift forgot the menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
Ranked #26 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Great location, opposite Central Station, 4th floor room quiet and comfortable. Very reasonably priced rooms. Valet parking available but you'll wait up to 30 mins to get your car back.

But: Bar & lounge area set up for next mornings breakfast at 8.30pm so forget if you want to have drinks with friends.
Cocktails menu: half of the options were "not available" (how is that even possible??) and the "specials" (Jellybean and Blue Lagoon) were a throw back to the 80's when I'm sure the hotel was in its prime.

Coffee was simply awful as was the rest of the cooked breakfast menu items. Had to ask for our eggs to be cooked fresh as the scrambled eggs were watery and almost inedible. House pancakes were dry, savoury pancakes rock hard. My suggestion, take the cost of it and either walk to Queen street mall or Southbank for a far better dining experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Grixti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Director of Sales at Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Mrs Grixti

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay, and we appreciate your positive comments regarding your accommodation.

We have also spoken to the owner of Berkleys (Restaurant & Bar), and they do advise that one of the special cocktails was unavailable on the Friday evening you refer to, but all the others were available. Their Friday night cocktail specials are part of a promotion and they try to make the evening fun, with some of the cocktail names. Breakfast is occasionally set up the night before depending on how busy the bar is. As an alternative to the machine coffee, there is also an option for a barista made coffee for an additional cost.

According to the Restaurant, feedback from other guests on the Saturday morning differed to your own, so we are disappointed that the food was not up to your expectations.

Despite your disappointment with the dining experience, we hope you will return to the hotel on a future visit to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,850)
There are newer reviews for Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,598 - 1,604 of 1,851 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

On a recent stay in Brisbane my wife and I stayed at the Rendezvous. There was an unbelieveable storm which damaged the hotel and restricted services. The staff were absolutely champions when meeting the needs of the guests while the hotel was being repaired around them.
The Rendezvous has top quality rooms in a great location. We will be staying at the hotel again on a return trip to Brisbane.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to post a review.
As you say, the team did an amazing job in pulling together to have us operating so quickly after such an event and they deserve all the praise they receive.
We look forward to seeing you back again when next in Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed one night in Brisbane on our way from the US to Cairns and weren't sure what to expect of Brisbane, nor where to stay. We settled on the CBD area, and not sure why we ended up choosing the Rendezvous but are thankful we did.

First, location: from BNE airport, take the skytrain to Central Station. A short 20-minute ride to the city, and the Rendezvous is literally across the street from the train station (follow the signs to Ann St exit, and you'll see the hotel as you're exiting the train station). For us, this was paramount since we were lugging 3 suitcases and wanted simple, but didn't want to waste money on a taxi. The hotel is also around the corner - maybe 5 minute walk - from the Queen Street shopping center, which is great for people watching, not to mention shopping. We also walked from Queen Street area to the Botanical Gardens and did the 10,000-steps walk and found it a quite pleasant day, perfect for a jet-lagged couple trying to make it to our self-prescribed time before which we didn't want to go to bed (again - our personal goal to ease the jet lag from US to AU). It's also very close to restaurants - as short as a 1-minute walk - so again gets plusses for convenience.

Anyway - location is great if you're on holiday. You can't beat it, though I can't speak for business travelers since Brisbane's a big city and of course it would all depend where your meetings are located.

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but when we did check in, we found it spacious (separate living and sleeping areas, plus kitchen and a washing machine). The air conditioning was great - this coming from someone who sleeps at 65 degrees - and the curtains made the room quite dark, so great for sleeping. It would be perfect for an extended stay given the kitchen and laundry facilities in the room, and the desk was comfortable for working as well.

We paid for the business package that would include internet and a buffet plus an item from the mini bar. One thing that was odd was that when we made the booking, we advised 2 adults in the room. But, the business package is only valid for one person. Seems like that should be made clear at time of booking that in fact, you have to buy 2 business packages in order to get two breakfasts. This also (apparently) allows a second computer to be hooked up to the internet, but not worth it in my humble opinion. On the plus side, the cost of the second package is just $2 more than the wine available in the mini bar which does qualify as one of your free mini bar items. Also something I never figured out: is internet already included? Within Australia, the hotel website suggests internet is complimentary. From the US, it appeared it was not. Not sure if this was on purpose or if I just misread, but I still to this day do not know if internet is or isn't included with a regular room price. For us, we justified the (first) business upgrade by adding the cost of internet plus breakfast and deciding we'd come out ahead, but if internet is free anyway and you still have to buy a second buffet, I probably wouldn't do it again.

Now - full disclosure - we managed to check in to the hotel just 30 minutes before the Super Storm hit on 17November. We were out and about while the storm barraged Brisbane and came home to the hotel at the end of a long day ready to check in, shower and find a quick and easy place for dinner and then glorious bed (remember we're jetlagged after a 15 hour flight and full day of exploring). Unfortunately, what we found instead was that the lobby ceiling had collapsed and lobby flooded as a result of the storm, and that there was no power on the main floors (and correspondigly elevators not working). What was initially a complete shock - were our bags OK? did we still have a place to sleep? - turned out not to be a big deal at all. In a matter of hours the hotel had all hands on deck, saw us to our room (albeit via dark soggy passageways and up 3 flights of stairs) and continued business as usual while trying to make our stay as comfortable as possible, all the while working to transform the lobby back to its pre-collapse/pre-flood stages. Power to the rooms was never an issue, and they did everything they could to bring internet and TV back as quickly as possible. There are many instances as we travel where something doesn't go quite right, and we complain that a hotel should have done this or that, but the teamwork and effort displayed by every member of the staff exceeded every one of our expectations during this unplanned and unfortunate event. Watching the team pull together made it clear that the staff truly cares about its guests, and kudos to them for handling everything as they did.

Will definitely stay again if we ever find ourselves in Brisbane.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DallasPillowTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay.
You raise a good point about our Business Benefits Package and the extra person when two guests stay and I will take this up with our Marketing team to try and make this a little easier to understand. In relation to internet services in general, all of our hotels offer a limited 24 hour complimentary service (either low speed or limited usage) which is often enough for our leisure guests.
I must also thank you for your kind words to the team in relation to the way they all pulled together to get things back to operation following the storm. I was and am extremely proud of each and every one of them, and the way they reacted on Saturday is an example of why we often receive such positive comments about their actions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great for those arriving /leaving by the AirTrain as it's right opposite Central Station

Also handy for buses and suburban trains, and there is a food court beneath it in Anzac Square with a laundry and other facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LongBlackCoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Public Relations Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us following your recent stay.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Brisbane.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in mid-November when we travelled to Brisbane for work. The room rate was taken care of for us so I can't comment on value for money. We were accompanied by our 21 month old toddler. We had a one bedroom apartment.

NIce things:
1) Great location right in the middle of the CBD and literally minutes from the Queen Street mall. Directly across Ann Street from the Central train station.
2) Well-fitted out apartment with everything you would need if you decided to self-cater. Full range of toiletries and amenities in the bathroom.
3) Nespresso machine with coffee provided

Needs work:
1) The apartment was very small - tiny size, tiny bed, tiny bath. It is a squeeze for 2 adults and with our son there as well, it was a tight fit. The foldaway cot took us most of the lounge area. It would be a great size for a single business traveller. Don't even think about getting a rollaway in the apartment.
2) Outdated decor that looked tired and in need of a facelift. Yes, I know it's meant to be heritage and thus the decor reflected this but even the hertiage style decor looked tired.
3) The noise was a real problem. The windows faced the street (Edward Street I think) and we were directly across from a large backpackers with a pub at the bottom. Drunken revellers kept me up way into the night and it was a weeknight.
4) Breakfast - don't even contemplate having breakfast in the hotel dining room. The selection was small, the flavour non-existent and let's not even talk about the coffee. Go elsewhere.
5) My advice to you is to avoid using the washer/dryer. It looked like something that belongs in a museum and yes, the result in my washed clothes reflected this.

The summary of all of this is that stay here if you're desperate but there are many choices in Brisbane and you should consider them.

Room Tip: We had room 4005. Do not get this room as it faces onto Edward Street where all the noise is. Try fo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rldot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Director of Sales at Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking time to post comments following your recent stay. We are surprised and disappointed to note that you felt your accommodation was small.

The deluxe one bedroom apartment you stayed in (4005) is over 52 square meters and amongst the largest available in Brisbane. All rooms do have double glazing that cover windows that open – these external windows may have been left open?

The guest rooms were refurbished in 2008, and as you rightly say, we are required to retain the heritage look and style. We will certainly look at the breakfast offering and again, thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband & I have just stayed at this hotel in Brisbane & it has been one of our most enjoyable & relaxing times that we have experienced.The staff are professional and have a warm rapport with their guests and the hotel has an old world and inviting charm about it.This hotel is in a central position for dining, shopping and a variety of transport facilities are at your door.
I would like to congratulate all of the staff on making our stay an enjoyable and memorable experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom deluxe apartmenton the second floor & it had all of the amenities th...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Front Office Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your recent stay and in particular for recognizing our team.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RendezvousBris, Front Office Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Manor Apartment Hotel
Manor Apartment Hotel
#20 of 168 in Brisbane
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albert Hotel
Royal Albert Hotel
#9 of 168 in Brisbane
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#13 of 168 in Brisbane
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#30 of 168 in Brisbane
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#14 of 168 in Brisbane
3,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square

Address: 255 Ann St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $93 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square is a modern hotel located in the heart of Brisbane's central business district. Overlooking the Anzac Square memorial gardens and directly opposite Central Railway Station, our superb location gives you direct access to the best that Brisbane has to offer. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, you will appreciate having Queen Street Mall, Treasury Casino and South Bank all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Rendezvous Hotel
Clarion Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing