We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Ranked #62 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay”
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Quay West in a one bedroom apartment on the 19th floor, and were very impressed. It was spotlessly clean, plenty of space and very comfortable. The receptionist was very helpful and accommodating upon arrival, and the breakfast served in the restaurant was delicious. The restaurant staff were very welcoming and helpful. Would definately return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pg1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    188
    70
    29
    16
See reviews for
135
189
32
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

I found that like previous travellers have suggested the bathrooms need a makeover and the hotel is generally tired. Had no problems with the staff and found them to be friendly. Found the food very expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rufus008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I went over to see my friend who was staying there for a few days. One time I met this person I believe to be the general manager of the hotel. For no unknown reason, he just walk up to me and start being really rude to me with "I can refuse you or your friend's stay if I want attitude" that makes me feel he's racist as I have done nothing at all. I ignored the comment and went on with my business. I have seen him again the next day when he looks like he's occupied with I believe to be someone important from the establishment and he pretends he's never met me and start to act really friendly. I would never expect such fake manner from any hotel management and I felt I've been abuse and use in this case. There are some friendly staff there but they don't seem to be able to do anything about it. I will never go back to this hotel again with management like this.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fe360cs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed here for a week and had a room on the 14th floor, views were wonderful, the location is the best, 5min walk to queen st 7 min walk to south bank and a 5/6 min walk to the riverside restaurants, lovely outlook over the gardens, the staff are brilliant and we found the undercover parking very good, you do have to drive around until you find a space free but no real hardship. I do agree that the bathrooms do need an upgrade, the shower wasnt the best but i found the towels more than big enough and plenty of them, the balconies also needed a lick of paint and a bit of an upgrade, the pool area and gym are lovely, all in all we had a great stay , would stay there again but I do agree that the hotel in general needs a bit of an upgrade to keep its five star status.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_oo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

If this place has one redeeming feature, it's the pool area. The rooms are run downand the dirt and filth in the rooms was to the point of disturbing. Since I was having meetings, quite a few people visited me over my stay. Three of these seven people were quite rudely verballed for parking in the visitors parking spots. I thought that what visitors parking is for but apparently management didn't agree when I challenged them about it. The hotel manager Anthony was far from polite when he can be found. He doesn't return phone calls either by the way. I think this hotel is yesterdays hero unless the management changes.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilbo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Great location,lovely suite,brilliant staff.5*Can't say anything bad about this stay at Quay West.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187069Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Just spent 4 days in Brisbane with my family. Booked these apartments based on the previous reviews and was not disappointed. The apartments are in a great location with easy walking access to all the main areas you'd want to get to in Brisbane.
The apartment was spacious, clean and had great views, especially over the Botanic Gardens opposite.
The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly.
Overall it was the family concensus that we couldn't have picked better accomodation for our first visit to Brisbane

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloggs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#21 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#10 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#48 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Quay West Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, ACCOR, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing