We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star this 'aint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Ranked #68 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed August 8, 2006

we stayed for 2 nights as a city break treat only to be disappointed. Firstly this is in no way a 5 star hotel, nor is the accomodation 'suites'. It is on the tired side and 4 star at most and I would describe the accomodation as roomy 1 bed apartments, and expensive. The service ranged from friendly to curt, and it took hours to recieve anything you requested. It took 3 requests and 2 hours to have a cot set up in our room, even after this was requested at time of booking. A lot of staff were in training and unsure of the hotels' normal procedure. It is also noisy facing the botanical gardens, a lot of traffic causes noise through out the night. Stunning views though, and great proximity to the city.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank skippydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 560 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2006

We held our wedding at Quay West Suites, and it was perfect. We were a little worried about the 'seperate' dancing room, but it worked out wonderful. The staff were extreamly attentive the whole time that myself (bride) and my bridesmaids stayed there (we were there for five days all up) pampering to our every need! They even ran out to buy hollywood tape for one of my bridesmaids!!
The rooms were exactly what we expected, large, luxurious and perfect, and the staff were friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this hotel for your holiday or your wedding day!

Stayed: April 2004
5  Thank DOOSHNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2006

This is an all suite hotel. I stayed in a room with a large bedroom, kitchen and another separate room to relax in (with a couch, desk and dining table). The room had a very large, private balconey, accessible both from the bedroom and sitting room, with views of the Botantical Gardens, Parliament House and the Brisbane River.

The hotel had a good gym, in a private location overlooking the pool. The pool looked great (it was winter when I visited Brisbane) and their was a large pool deck.

The front desk staff were polite and helpful.

The hotel did not have that "crazy busy" feeling of large hotels. Each guest seemed to be important.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Travelpartner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2006

The Quay West Apartments. – Brisbane.

Beautifully positioned within walking distance to the heart of the city,Eagle Street Waterfront, cafes and restaurants. Our room 604 looks directly across the Botanical Gardens with sweeping views of the large lily pond and gorgeous assortment of trees.

The apartment is spacious with a fully equipped kitchen with stove, fridge, dishwasher, microwave and tea/ coffee facilities. Mini bar is also included with a good selection of beers and wine. The lounge/ dining area is reasonably sized with a mix match of furniture which doesn’t really blend with anything, TV and CD player. A spacious balcony which also leads into the bedroom. The bathroom is small and slightly old fashioned, it could do with an upgrade. Bedroom is spacious with comfortable bed and fluffy pillows with a separate TV. The laundry is situated off the hallway and has washing machine/clothes dryer/ironing board and iron.

Pros: Excellent position with lovely views, large open apartment with spacious balcony.
Internet connection, laundry service, free car parking, lovely shallow swimming pool with spa ,gym and sauna. Friendly staff and quick check in service.

Cons: We ordered in-house dining as late arrival and it truly was disgusting,The Quay West Platter with an assortment of dim sims,samosas, spring rolls and a burnt thai cake looked like it had been reheated five times, and the soba noodles a complete joke..two small mouthfuls for $18.00 AUD. I wanted to send it back. but hubby too hungry to wait consumed it. (yuk). I decided to order breakfast to see if they produced the same rubbish but it was to the standard you should expect, it was good. So tip DO NOT ORDER dinner!! There are heaps of good restaurants close by. Bathroom /furniture needs to be updated.

Recommendation: Yes, if you’re a space freak , as apartments are very comfortable and spacious., on our floor there are only 6 apartments. Would certainly suit families or travellers staying in Brisbane for more than a short stay. ( 4 Star)

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

This is the best hotel in Brisbane. It is in the downtown area, but faces the Botantical Gardens so it does not seem like it is in the city -- in some ways like 5th Avenue in NY. All rooms have a view of the gardens, and the rooms above the 7th floor (approximately - I was on the 8th floor and had a great view) can see the river and the cliffs of Kangaroo Point (that are lit up at night). It is an easy walk to the best shopping in Brisbane (Queens Plaza and the Myer Centre), to city offices, to QUT and to Southbank (just across the new Goodwill FootBridge). I strongly recommend visiting Southbank.
Each room is really a small apartment (bigger than my apartment in NYC!). There is a large bedroom with a Queen bed, a small kitchen, a dining area, a living room and a huge balcony with great views. There is a good desk to work on, with a comfortable leather desk chair. Also a laundry room in the room! All the rooms have recently been refurbished. The pool is beautiful -- outdoors and heated with a large sun area & a hot tub. It is full service hotel -- with room service and maid service. The desk staff are very friendly. I think that there is a carpark on site too. It is not a large hotel and so is friendly -- 6 rooms on each floor, and about 60 rooms for hotel guests and about 60 rooms for long term guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank johnnyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Skiathite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2005

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank nevrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#31 of 169 in Brisbane
2,949 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#32 of 169 in Brisbane
1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 169 in Brisbane
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#55 of 169 in Brisbane
772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#15 of 169 in Brisbane
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Brisbane

Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#60 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $135 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Quay West Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing