We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lodging in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Ranked #62 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Lodging in a great location.”
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We spent three weeks traveling New Zealand and Australia, and this was the nicest hotel we stayed in. It had the most comfortable bed I experienced on the trip. The size of our suite was wonderful - two bedroom/two bath and a sleeper sofa for the fifth person with a wrap around balcony. Full kitchen, washer and dryer, and a view of the Botanical Gardens which made the whole package wonderful. The view of the river wrapping around the park was spectacular from the 16th floor and that alone made it worth it. The hot tub was the best we had experienced on the whole trip - very large, HOT and clean. The pool was great - if I could re-create it in my back yard I would. Exercise room was adequate and sauna needed to be warmed up for 30 minutes prior to use, but was good if you remembered to start it before hitting the pool. Friendly staff - great location right across from the botanical gardens. Check out the fruit bats in the park at dusk - quite an experience if you've never seen them before.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanca36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    190
    70
    29
    16
See reviews for
136
190
32
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

A spacy appartment with a fantastic view all round Brisbane via balconies (we were lucky to see a fantastic thunder and lightening display). Rooms are of a descent size with comfortabel beds. Kitchen and laundry facilities in appartment are more than adequate. Helpful reception, great pool, fitness centre can be improved on.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moerbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and had a great experience. The hotel has a great location, opposite the Botanical Gardens. From our balcony (which was very large), we could see the gardens, the Brisbane River, old Parliament House and the Kangaroo Point cliffs (that light up at night). It was good to have a balcony, so that we could sit outside and have fresh air.

The pool deck was also fantastic. A nice pool, with a small waterfall. The pool deck also had a hot tub and a gym. We ordered some food from the hotel restaurant and sat by the pool a comfortable tables.

The suite was VERY large. There is a kitchen, living room, and separate bedroom. All had great views. The furniture is not modern, but was clean and tidy. There were 2 flat screen tvs.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2009

The apartment we stayed in had an excellent view over the park and was clean. The facilities within the apartment were excellent and had everything we required to be self-sufficient including a full oven, microwave, dishwasher, fridge freezer, washing machine and tumble dryer. The rooms have internet access. The outside pool was small and the gym equipment was very limited comprising of a multi gym, rowing machine, two runners and a broken cycle machine. The apartments have undercover parking.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfboyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Disclaimer - On arrival (after midnight) we were upgraded to the Executive Suite on the top floor of this beautiful hotel. As such this review can not be applied to the normal rooms/suites in this hotel.

The hotel is perfectly located for a young family, close to the city but not too close to be noisy, across the road from the botanic gardens and also a short walk to a ferry terminal for a two minute trip across the river to South Bank (a wonderful place for young children as well as great food). A great location if driving to the Gold Coast (and it's theme parks), simply drive out of the hotel, turn left at the end of the road and keep driving for 40-60 minutes. Getting back to the hotel from the Gold Coast is almost as easy, quick exit from the motorway, drive around the block and back into the hotel.

Staff are very helpful and efficient. Room service staff were very professional when they rang back two minutes after taking our order to tell us that they had just started preparing the meal for a large function and would actually be about 45 minutes until our order was ready, rather than letting us wait.

On another occasion we required a cleaner to clean up some spilt red wine, he was very helpful, professional and politely asked me to stay out of the way so that I would not cut my bare feet on the broken glass, a very nice touch.

The room was exceptional. Spacious, clean and comfortable. Bathrooms were well appointed and large, oversized bath in the main bathroom as well as a separate shower. Linen was clean and comfortable.

One complaint was the cobwebs and cigarette butts left on the balcony.

Altogether a wonderful experience for my family and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Brisbane.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent 3 nights in a one-bedroom apartment at the Quay West suites over a recent long weekend. The best feature of the Quay West Suites is undoubtedly the location, right opposite the picturesque Botanic Gardens and within walking distance to almost all of the main attractions in Brisbane (CBD, South Bank, Eagle St. Pier etc). We had a room overlooking the park with a very large balcony, which was great for sitting out in during the evening. I tend to agree with some of the reviewers regarding the apartments...While overall they are very comfortable and well-sized, they could use a facelift (newer furniture and appliances etc) if the Quay West is to live up to its 5-star billing. This is really the only (slight) negative and the rest of the facilities in the building are very well maintained. The staff are also very efficient, extremely helpful and most importantly, pleasant! Overall, a most enjoyable stay and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Metaxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

We booked two 2 bedroom 'suites' for family and friends visiting Brisbane for my son's
wedding. Booking was through a UK agent and brochures showed a modern classy
Hotel.
We were devastated at the run-down, tired and frankly dirty accomodation.
We immediately asked whether better rooms were available and complained that
the rooms were not 5star, the duty manager could not have been less helpful but
admitted that rooms were dated but that the position and view made up for these
problems.........I don't think so!
Having read previous reviews we expected better.
In brief the housekeeping was non-existent, the kitchens were very knocked about,
the bathrooms were grubby,bathroom 2 is a joke and the furniture is shabby.
Carpets were stained. During our 5 night stay the sheets were not changed the carpet
was not vacuumed .
Considering that this was a special occasion the Quay West experience was a major
let down. Oh and they charge for the safe and for parking.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goodfellowsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 157 in Brisbane
2,538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#28 of 157 in Brisbane
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Quay West Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing