We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quay West Suites Brisbane
Ranked #63 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“wedding night stay”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Luxurious suite overlooking the Botanical Gardens, we booked this for our wedding night. The room was clean and spacious with a separate bedroom and living areas, small kitchenette, laundry and bathroom. Room service was good though at the time of ordering, the food we wanted was out of stock. I was disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price of our room and $34 was required for the full buffet breakfast. Nice place to stay, expensive for no inclusions however.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view overlooking the Botanical Gardens are beautiful and lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanDreamer976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear OceanDreamer976,

Congratulations on your wedding, we were delighted you chose to spend the night at Quay West. Thank you for also taking the time to share your experience.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    186
    69
    28
    16
See reviews for
134
186
32
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We booked our very last night of a five week tour of Australia at the Quay West Suites thinking it would just be somewhere to lay our heads before heading back to London the next day. We knew when the taxi pulled up outside that it was something special and we weren't disappointed. Our superb two-bedroom corner apartment on the 11th floor offered a spectacular view over the botanical gardens and city skyline. Spacious, beautifully designed and well equipped, we were only disappointed that we couldn't stay longer! Perfectly situated for a city break, just minutes from everywhere, we will definitely choose Quay West Suites next time we're in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Corner suites on higher floors are spacious with magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sue,

I am truly pleased that Quay West Brisbane was able to provide a fabulous end to your Australian holiday. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay a little longer on your next visit.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I were traveling with our three teenage daughters and this apartment provided the perfect amount of room. We had the two bedroom and two bath apartment. The kitchen with a full sized refrigerator was also nice to have. The washer and dryer are a real bonus when traveling for longer periods of time as we were. The service was very good but the views over the Botanical garden and South Bank Park were exceptional. Would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Elizabeth F,

The team at Quay West were very happy to learn that their service contributed to a fantastic experience. The 2 bedroom corner apartments with 180-degree views certainly make for a great introduction to Brisbane, and we are glad that you were able to use the full apartment facilities.

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Writing this is hard because one needs to be careful what the benchmark is.

Billed - as it is - as serviced apartments, Quay West ticks all the boxes. Excellent accommodation, good facilities and centrally located. Add to this an inexpensive ($30) upgrade to a premium suite ($26 continental breakfast (for two) and $20 internet access now complimentary - plus a high floor with a view over the Botanical Gardens and the Gabba all included ) then the accommodation, as a serviced apartment, was beyond reproach. I would stay here next time with no hesitation.

What criticism i have is because - unusually for such a facility - Quay West offers a restaurant and bar - and room service for food and drink - services that an hotel would offer. And here it lets itself down because these services are in no way consistent or compatible with the service level it accomplishes as a serviced apartment.

In other words the food service is amateur. At breakfast, the food is good but the service is dismal and/or inept, Room service is the same menu as the restaurant; but in the room, although the food tastes good, they seem to find it hard to present food hot, or on hot plates.

Room internet access is OK but it is a hard wired ethernet connection which is going to be no good for anyone without an ethernet socket (e.g. an iPad, most small Apple devices, any tablet, phone or other device that relies on a wireless connection).

So that is it. The rating depends upon your benchmark. My rating is as a serviced apartment (i.e. what we thought we had bought and paid for and thus what we expected) not as an hotel. If the latter, it would be considerably lower,


Enjoyed - and would go back to this SERVICED APARTMENT.

Room Tip: Pay the money for the upgrade. If there are to of you it is a no brainer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi Preposterous,

Greetings from Brisbane!

I am most grateful for your comments on your recent visit to Quay West and thank you for sharing such a balanced review. We certainly love hearing 'the good bits' but equally value learning where we need to 'pull our socks up' a little - we have worked hard to develop an enviable reputation for our apartment quality and service but will certainly focus more on ensuring our food & beverage service realises its full potential.

Thank you again for your comments.

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice apartment - large and with balcony. Bathroom slightly older style- but clean and bright.
The building is well located in the city with great view over botanic gardens
Current builiding works nearby mean a few too many trucks early in the morning - but a higher floor would fix this.
Very pleasant service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Univisitor358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#26 of 158 in Brisbane
1,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#24 of 158 in Brisbane
2,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 158 in Brisbane
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 158 in Brisbane
2,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#12 of 158 in Brisbane
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#48 of 158 in Brisbane
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quay West Suites Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Brisbane

Property: Quay West Suites Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quay West Suites Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing