We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good suite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Ranked #62 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good suite hotel”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We staying here 3 nights and its more than we expected. Service is excellent and very accomodating. We are muslim by faith and the onsite restaurant assisted by preparing suitable meat free dishes for bfast in an appropriate manner. The front desk staff are very helpful. Special thanks to Chris who went all out to get us halaal food delivered when we arrived at almost 9pm too tired to go out to explore. Not forgetting other staff assistance with car hire and valet service. I would go out to say im sure they wud probably accomodate almost every reasonable need. We r onto 4 other destinations and hope that this has set a precendence for service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naseem786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    189
    70
    29
    16
See reviews for
136
190
32
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Brisbane including Hilton, Marriot and many more and without a doubt the Quay West surpasses them all in my experience. We only stayed one night but from the moment we arrived the staff we excellent, our room was spotless, it had great views and furnishings and included many little niceties including a lovely sized bath with all the beauty trimmings. When we returned back our bed had even been turned down with a lovely night eye cream left on my pillow for me. The pool area is the best i have seen in Brisbane and when i ordered room service it arrived hot and fresh, made to order within approx 20 mins. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff are very well trained. I could not recommend this high enough, our experience was excellent and i will stay here again when going into the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Other than the view there was not much to recommend about this hotel. I was led to believe the pool would be ready and it was clear on arrival it wouldn't be. The room was noisy and dated.
The best thing was the view - priceless. Next time I go to Brisbane I think I'd stay at South Bank.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and didn't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi RebeccaM,

Thanks so much for your feedback - we think the view is pretty special as well; overlooking the city, river and Botanic Gardens is a fantastic location. Our other signature feature, our recreation deck, did undergo a major facelift at the end of November encompassing refurbishment of our swimming pool & spa. Whilst Brisbane's notorious summer weather did delay completion by a couple of days this was unexpected and I apologise if this greatly impacted your time away. I sincerely hope you consider Quay West for your next Brisbane visit and would be happy to handle any reservation needs directly to ensyre you have the opportunity to experience our renewed recreation facilities.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

My children and I arrived here on an early flight and the staff got the room ready quickly even though we were there before official check in time.

The service of all staff but particularly the front desk staff was second to none. We were given towels and utilized the pool while we were waiting. Bliss on a hot day.

When given a room it was magnificent. Beautiful views and sparkling clean with a well appointed kitchen. A home away from home.

Room service was fast and efficient and mini bar good selection. The valet parking was efficient and service friendly and accommodating of our visitors.

I would highly recommend Quay West to all travellers. I look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummaoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a night away from the kids and thought we would splurge on a 5 star hotel.
First impressions were good, nice staff beautiful foyer. Room seemed nice, tidy.
Let down by the bed. It says it was a queen but seemed so small, and yet the room was so big it could easily have fit a king which is what i would expect from a 5 star. It was also very bouncy so every movement from my husband I was nearly bounced out of bed.
Most of the night there was also a continuous loud vibration noise nearly every 2 mins. sounded like the fridge but not. nor the aircon. The aircon also didn't seem to work very well in the bedroom, but the dining was freezing.
The room service for breakfast was overly expensive too but delicious.

I left a little disappointed but no fault of the staff who were lovely.

Room Tip: Maybe floor 3 and above might be away from road noise and you might get a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spacious and well arranged suite in this perfectly positioned hotel where front rooms enjoy views over the botanical gardens and for the higher rooms, beyond to the river. We had expected the suites to be as described; to include fully equipped kitchens which they simply do not, at least not until one has conducted an inventory of all that is required and made arrangements with the staff. We were supplied for example with an oven but no oven trays, no kitchen knifes other than a bread knife but no cutting board, mixing bowls but no serving dishes/bowls, no means of making coffee etc. Ever tried peeling a mango with a bread knife on a dinner plate! This was a nuisance, particularly as we arrived late in the day and although we ultimately obtained most of what is required, there are inevitably items that one forgets; until they are needed (egg cups/an oven cloth etc.) Given that we were paying a daily rate for these facilities, this is a poor show. The suite is generously supplied with TVs, stereo and a small ipod dock but there is no DVD player and any means of connecting ones own ipod/laptop etc. to these components is specifically precluded (a management decision we are told). Staff however proved extremely helpful and ultimately overcame most shortcomings. Room cleaning invariably failed to occur until the afternoon (despite their promise to attend mid mornings), which is often inconvenient.

Tables at which one can eat on the balconies would be nice so as to be able to enjoy the main attraction; the view.

Room Tip: Front rooms are essential and preferably in the upper half of the block so as to be able to enjoy vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayesandveetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at The Sebel Quay West Brisbane, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Daniella,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thoughts- I'm so pleased that your overall experience was a positive one; we really are fortunate to have such an amazing location! We are finalising the production of our new bedding range and I do hope you notice a difference when we see you again.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

From start to finish, from arrival to departure we could not have had better reception, service, accomodation, hospitality and such a warm welcome. Very quiet hotel with a policy of no parties after 10pm. On arrival after a 28 hour journey we arrived at 7am and were provided with the keys to our apartment. Apartment had large living area with flat screen tv seating area, dining area and patio doors onto large balcony. Fully equiped kitchen. Laundry area and drying facilities. Large bedroom area opening onto balcony. Bathroom had shower and seperate bath facilities as well as provisions of toiletries.

The whole area was spotless.

Location absolutely brilliant. For walkers a delight to saunter into town, waterfront, botanic gardens and even the south bank( from 5 minutes to 20 minutes). If you fancy a long stroll along the waterfront try the riverside boardwalk to the Breakfast Creek Hotel or go in the opposite direction to the XXXX Brewery (45 minutes to an hour). Close to the Story Bridge, so fantastic pictures of the bridge or fantastic pictures of the city from the bridge are available. All great views. Five minutes from the hotel to the free City Hopper ferry and the City Cat terminal ( city cat at a small fee ). Bars, cafes and shopping all within minutes. Remember the apatments also have the same facilities and are welcoming.

Pros: Fantastic staff, location and accomodation.

Negatives. None

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Botanic gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacemaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
Capri by Fraser, Brisbane
#13 of 157 in Brisbane
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasury Hotel & Casino
Treasury Hotel & Casino
#49 of 157 in Brisbane
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#23 of 157 in Brisbane
2,533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#27 of 157 in Brisbane
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sebel Quay West Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Quay West Brisbane

Property: The Sebel Quay West Brisbane
Address: 132 Alice St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#27 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sebel Quay West Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Sebel Quay West Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing