We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I misse important business meeting cos "NO Morning Call"”
Review of Novotel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Brisbane
Ranked #38 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I misse important business meeting cos "NO Morning Call"”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

It was a terrible stay and experinece with my business trip and stay at Novotel Brisbane 2/10/10- 4/10/10. The room air-con was not working. It took me 2.5 hours (from 2200 to 0030) to convince the nite manager to swap me to a room with working air-con as I could not sleep in "sauna room", I had an important meeting tommorrow. Her initial comment to me was " it is not our aircon, it is just you. You should turn off the aircon and let cool air from outside comes in". What???? I never heard this kind of excuse before. Finally, I was given a room with working aircon, I requested morning call at 7am on 3/10/10. But, the call never came (they missed it) and I missed my important business meeting. I complained to the manager and I was told this never happened before and again. OK, no problem, I was given a slightly better room with a coffee machine in it. I requested monring call again at 5am (so I dont miss my flight), and guess what, NO MONRING CALL again!!!!! I will not stay in this Hotel even again even for FREE!!! NO BLOODY WAY!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tan168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Tan168,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at Novotel Brisbane. All feedback received is always very welcomed and reviewed by senior management.

Due to the detailed feedback, I have formally responded to you by email.

Should you require any further clarification, you are more than welcome to contact me on the details provided with my correspondence.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
Hotel Manager
Novotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    1,205
    312
    90
    54
See reviews for
577
859
272
688
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

There was almost nothing I could fault with the Novotel Brisbane. The welcome was warm at check-in and in other dealings with the staff, the room was modern, clean and comfortable, and the buffet breakfast gave ample selection - the pastries were particularly delicious.
The hotel is located almost 10 minutes' walk from Queen Street mall, behind Central station, and it is further to the more 'touristy' areas of the city, so in this aspect is more suited to business than leisure travellers. I would certainly stay here the next time I am in Brisbane on business, but maybe for leisure would choose a hotel in a different location.
The room was very well appointed, with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. It had been recently renovated, and the only minor flaw was that the small size of the LCD TV was not the best for watching TV (including selected Foxtel channels) or the in-house movies. I could not fault anything else, however, the room was impeccably clean and fresh, and very quiet. I know that the next-door room was occupied and often noise can travel through an inter-connecting door, however this seems to have been addressed well here.
Finally, the free internet kiosks in the lobby were appreciated by myself and other guests; a service most hotels of this quality make you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Sydneysider01,

Thank you for your glowing response and warm feedback.

As you mentioned in your post, Novotel Brisbane is the ideal location for either a business or leisure stay.

Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.


Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
Hotel Manager
Novotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,653 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,303 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We had an overnight stay here on our way to the airport. Check in was fast and efficient. Rooms were very clean and modern but somewhat small. I had a King Room and the beds were comfortable. The room contained a flatscreen TV with foxtell. The Queen Street Mall is a 10 minute walk away. There are hotels a lot closer to the city centre but overall good value for us as we booked the Last Minute Secret Stay at less than $120 per night without breakfast. I had a sensational breakfast at Yi Cafe on Edward street for $15. The hotel is equipped with a pool. Overall a good stay in a pretty good location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, October 6, 2010
Dear Tommomelbourne,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at Novotel Brisbane.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and experienced great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Brisbane.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
Hotel Manager
Novotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Stayed here and overall had a great experience. However, this was marred by the head barman who, although dressed like a consumate professional behaved in a childish and totally derogatory way. On getting an order wrong, he became rude and unapologetic, instead chosiong to blame the customer who was clearly just trying to get the drink I heard him order. Not nice to watch and the head barman who spoke down to this customer deserves to be reprimanded for letting such a nice hotel down. (This occured on the evening of Wednesday 18th August 2010 at approx. 10.00 pm.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magpie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Good Evening Magpie 83,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay.
I agree wholeheartedly that this type of behaviour toward a fellow customer is not appropriate.
I appreciate you providing the specific details of when this occured as it will allow me to address this incident with our employee.

This is not the type of feedback our hotel traditionally recieves and I will continue to work with our team to ensure that it doesn't happen again.

I am available to discuss this matter or any other concern you may have about using Novotel hotels again. Please feel free to contact me directly on h1749-gm01@accor.com

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
Hotel Manager
Novotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I travel frequently on business and often stay in the same hotel in a particular city for a feeling of familiarity. The Novotel Brisbane has been recently refurbished and the foyer, public areas and rooms are sharp. The staff at reception are fabulously friendly and efficient. Unfortunately in each occasion (now the sixth time in eight months) I stay there stay goes wrong which could have easily been right. From Entertainment Systems in my room which would not after 3 attempts to fix/repair; being served 'warm white' in the bar; the mini bar not being restocked and being charged two days in succession for usage and this week being served a meal where the fish was off. In each instance as a separate incident they are excusable. The staff is each instance were very apologetic. But continually not getting it right says there is a problem. I will go back to staying the Novotel's big brother around the corner - The Sofitel. Such a pity as the foyer, bar and reception are great. But this more to staying at a Hotel than the foyer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noosa-ite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Good Evening Noosa-ite

Thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry to hear that you have experienced these issues during your recent stays.
This typically is not the type of feedback that we receive and I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss these incidents in more detail.

My email address is h1749-gm01@accor.com if you would like to contact me.
We constantly seek to improve the service and experience for all of our customers and will continue to do so.

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
Hotel Manager
Novotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I was extremely disappointed with my stay at the Novotel in Brisbane.

After booking, and receiving confirmation for a King Room, I checked in and arrive at my room to find it with two double beds. Reception made no mention of the change to my reservation.

When advising reception to advise of the error, reception simply advised that rooms are allocated by request. I advised I booked a king room and received confirmation for a King room. She then repeated that rooms are allocated by request and there are no king rooms left. However, she did advise there were some King rooms but they would cost additional charges.

Then on the final day, my attempts to exit the car park were fruitless as the ticket provided by reception did not work (despite paying for all parking charges and the downgraded room). After pressing the help buzzer at the car park exit numerous times, no assistance was provided so needed help from passenger to mount the kerb and drive slowly around the barrier without hitting other walls and barriers in place.

I would not stay there again. There are too many hotels in Brisbane that do treat you right!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, September 16, 2010
Good Evening Stafman

Thank you for your recent post on Trip Advisor.

I apologize for your recent experience here at Novotel Brisbane.
This typically is not the type of feedback that we receive.

I will address the issue relating to the room you were allocated with my team.
Additionally we are reviewing our technology which enables us to create exit keys for the car-park to ensure that we minimize issues such as the one that you experienced.

Thank you once again for your feedback and if I can ever be of assistance please contact me directly on h1749-gm01@accor.com

Kind Regards,

Ben Patten
Hotel Manager
Novotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

I have stayed at the Novotel various times for business and all my stays have been fine. That said the rooms could do with some updating. Ever a bigger TV would be nice. Food is ok although the standard seems to differ a lot depending on the date of your stay. Location is close to Central station but not much else. Beds are comfortable and rooms clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Dear AusTripPlanner,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay in May. With regards to your dining experiences, myself, our Food and Beverage Manager and Executive Chef would be grateful to hear detailed feedback from you, so please do not hesitate to contact me at: h1749-gm01@accor.com. We would like to be able to ensure that your dining experiences within the hotel are consistent every stay.

It is great to hear that you usually enjoy a comfortable stay here and I hope that you will be excited to hear that our guest rooms are due to undergo refurbishment. This begins imminently and we look forward to welcoming you back to try them out!

I look forward o hearing from you.

Thank you once again and warm regards,

Ben Patten
Hotel Manager, Novotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#29 of 159 in Brisbane
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.7 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#28 of 159 in Brisbane
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 159 in Brisbane
1,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brisbane

Property: Novotel Brisbane
Address: 200 Creek St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Brisbane offers a preferred location within the city's business and shopping precincts. Novotel Brisbane boasts 296 well appointed guest rooms, a restaurant, lobby bar, cafe, outdoor pool, sauna, gymnasium, undercover parking, iMac computer station, in-room yoga channel and extensive conference facilities for up to 350 delegates. The professional, efficient staff and Novotel Brisbane's prime location make it the perfect choice while staying in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Novotel
Accor Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing