We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good downtown hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Brisbane
Ranked #39 of 158 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tampere
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good downtown hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here on business and during the stay I had to spend a weekend in town. For that reason this is a very good hotel, the location is excellent. You are able to walk to the Brisbane village walk, and there are many shops, malls, and eating venues to visit.
The hotel is perhaps on the higher end of the average business visitors cost range, but is a very comfortable hotel to stay at.
The restaurant is fair, with a limited menu, and quite pricy. The breakfast is a good spread, but you will do better in value for money by using one of the local coffee shops close by for a bite to eat in the morning.
I will stay here again, and would recommend this as a well located, but slightly more expensive than the average Novotel Hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    1,191
    304
    89
    52
See reviews for
566
847
271
673
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

You pay big bucks for a room here, nothing is cheap, breakfast is great but so it should be for $29! Dinner is expensive and obviously the food has a really high profit margin and then they gouge you $30 per day for internet. Come on, we all know that wireless internet costs virtually nothing and it is not as if Mr or Ms average traveller downloads heaps of porn on it, they use it for work. It is time these hotel chains gave real value for money and the first thing would be to stop charging for internet.

Room Tip: Its a good walk up the hil to get to the place but its safe from the Brisbane floods!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiefuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear GeoffKirton,

Dear GeoffKirton,

It is with disappointment that I read that you did not feel that your experience was worth that of what you paid for. Our team work hard to provide a product which is of high quality and this is not indicative of the comments usually received by our guests. Please be assured that our product and all services are competitively priced and are regularly reviewed to ensure the best value to our guests. Your comments have been shared with the team as we work towards continuously improving our guest’s experience. Thank you for your sharing your thoughts following your stay with us.

Kind Regards

Chris Sedgwick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
194 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

By using our Advantage plus card we had a weekend here at the price of a budget hotel. Getting there was simple. The airtrain took us to Brisbance Central and even with suitcases it was a 10 minute walk up the hill to the hotel. Reception was hasel free and efficient. We had a basic King room. Entering the room provoked a "what a nice room". While the view was lacking (that goes with the superior rooms) the overal impression was that this was a smart hotel. The room was clean, modern and airey. The same for the bathroom.

As it was the weekend there did not seem to be many restaurants open nearby so we had a few meals in the Novotel. These were great. Excellent choices, generous servings and fresh food. They had the best breakfast buffet I have come across.

What sets this hotel apart from others id the stadard of service. Nothing was a problem. Service was efficient and in a friendly laid back ozzie style. I thoroughly recomend this hotel and would stat there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZMike57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear NZMike57,

It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel comfortable and enjoyed the meals available in the Restaurant. I am delight we were able to deliver the standard of service Novotel Brisbane prides itself on. Your comments have been shared with our team and I am sure will serve as encouragement as we work to continuously improve our services.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind Regards

Chris Sedgwick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.5 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#22 of 158 in Brisbane
948 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#58 of 158 in Brisbane
1,507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#28 of 158 in Brisbane
3,961 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#26 of 158 in Brisbane
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brisbane

Property: Novotel Brisbane
Address: 200 Creek St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Brisbane offers a preferred location within the city's business and shopping precincts. Novotel Brisbane boasts 296 well appointed guest rooms, a restaurant, lobby bar, cafe, outdoor pool, sauna, gymnasium, undercover parking, iMac computer station, in-room yoga channel and extensive conference facilities for up to 350 delegates. The professional, efficient staff and Novotel Brisbane's prime location make it the perfect choice while staying in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Novotel
Accor Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing