We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to town and reasonably priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Ranked #91 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay. We were close to the city centre and aslo to Brisbane Private Hospital where we had an appointment. The latter is leterally next door.
The decor is a bit dated and the paintwork is due for renewal but the room, linen and bathroom facilities were clean and we had a lovely view of the city from our seventh floor balcony.
Very quiet when the door to the balcony was closed.
Would recommend for a short stay, especially for couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank effbeezw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
There are newer reviews for Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 245 of 346 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

On arrival following an on line booking, we had a warm welcome. We had a family room on the 2nd floor. The view was great, over the historic mill and the city. The room was roomy but the positioning of the beds meant that we felt the kids were staring at us all night!! The room was clean, but dated. The air conditioner worked well (it was a warm day!!). The bathroom was small and the shower taps were on the outside of the shower - a little odd!!
Our main problem was lack of parking space, despite paying for parking there was no room to park our car, and the "secure" gate was wide open at 10pm, so much for security!!
All in all suitable accommodation, but not fantastic, the staff were ok - the night staff were great and very obliging, but the day manager was very offhand and gave us the impression we were intruding on his time. We would stay again, but perhaps not in the family room!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandk_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Not bad for the money , centrally located we only stayed for a short time and didnt spend much time at all in the room, however first outside inpression was lackluster , dodgy little carpark, whilst protected, not there resposbility our car was scratched ;( again not there fault really however from outside the building needed a little work and oh dear the lifts were SOOO tiny 3 people and bags, yikes squishy and im skinny! not much sinage to find the way in or maybe im stupid lol
anyway now to the good bits and most important, the rooms were surprisingly nice, we stayed on level 3 and whilst our view was minimal from the buildings either side, and the rooms initally smelt old and musty. I must note and commend the room style, old fashioned yet IT HAS ALL THE MODCONS (modern comforts)
never ever have i stayed anywhere and iv stayed at 5+ hotels where they provide pump soap,shaving cream, shampoo,conditioner, and shower gel? have you? this was the highlight for me and the shampoo inst actually to bad.
New TVs were great , and movies also so big thumbs up for the room its self very safe feeling and modern , yet sporting and old fashioned look, really cool.
All in all, good place to stay locally, didn't try any facilities but it does have a bar and cafe ect that looked pretty good.
not bad place to stay on a budget.

Room Tip: if you can get a park view choose it because the building on the opposing side is BORING .
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doglover32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location in the heart of Brisbane city. Reasonable rates for the location. Loved the view (7th floor) and narrow balcony looking over the park. One wall was all windows and the mirror wall behind the bedhead added to the feeling of light and space even though the room was not large. Comfortable bed and armchair. Unusual to find the taps for the shower outside the cubicle but once I discovered that the shower screen opened beside them as well as at the front, all was well. Strong A/C noise in the main corridor on this floor which thankfully didn't intrude much into the room. Reception could be more alert for customers at the front counter - I had to wait for attention each time - but once I was noticed they were friendly and helpful. I found the restaurant atmosphere not to my liking with the sports channels on the tv and the adjacent gaming room giving it the feel of eating in a TAB but there are plenty of restaurants nearby in the city centre and at Southbank. I stayed two nights and would return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel is very central to everything in Brisbane city , walking distance to rail and city mall, breakfast in the resteraunt was good and reasonable price , it has pokies and TAB. Rooms are a little tired and need a face lift but it good for a short stay.

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyb595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is dated and tired, the bedroom seemed fine but the bathroom was very old and worn out. The towels needed updating. I had a large room (3 beds, 2 single, one queen). My room faced Wickham Terrace and the traffic was quite noisy. However, for the money it was clean and located quite well, about 12 minutes walk to Queen Street. Most other hotels in Brisbane are much more expensive, For the price it was very good value. And it was clean and safe. For under $180 a night it was good value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MegandBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Not the best value for what you get but that's reflective of Brisbane City hotels in general. While the hotel is ideally located on Wickham Terrace with easy walking access to town and great restaurants and the Parklands for running/walking, it is a dated, tired and in need of overhaul. Rooms OK but pokey shaped due to be pie shaped in a cylindrical building. For $150 - Breakfast is not included; parking is not included and is limited and very tight if you anything above an 'economical' sized car; and Wifi is also not included and expensive compared to the rest of SE Asia. So much for the 1st world. Alright for a short stay if the budget won't allow more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Astor Metropole Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#47 of 168 in Brisbane
786 reviews
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 168 in Brisbane
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#118 of 168 in Brisbane
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#53 of 168 in Brisbane
844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astor Apartments Brisbane
Astor Apartments Brisbane
#73 of 168 in Brisbane
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace

Address: 239 Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $81 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Tower Mill offers guests a selection of 3 ½ star guestrooms, most with their own private walkout balconies to enjoy the panoramic views of Brisbane city and surrounding suburbs.This Brisbane icon is a popular choice for people travelling to this beautiful city looking for comfortable, well appointed and affordable accommodation. Located on the edge of the city centre, the hotels facilities and services make it ideal for business travelers and those attending many of the conferences and trade shows that Brisbane is known for. Metro Hotel Tower Mill provides the perfect location for families and holiday makers along with those looking for value for money accommodation.Take and easy ten minute stroll through the parklands to Brisbane Town Hall, Queen Street Mall, Southbank parklands or the history Treasury Casino. Also located in the heart of Brisbane's medical precinct, adjacent to Brisbane Private Hospital (Holy Spirit) and numerous medical centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing