We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly overpriced for a below average hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly overpriced for a below average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

My room was too small - to make matters worse, rooms are wedge shaped which further reduces space. No place to keep your luggage!! I had a single occupancy room and struggled for space - cannot imagine a double occupancy in that room. Just to give a perspective on space, I had to place the iron board in the bathroom to iron my clothes because there just wasn't space in the room. Twin beds were too narrow and the beds had wheels and kept moving whenever I shifted in bed - very uncomfortable cushions too. Shower knobs outside the shower cubicle is very very strange. No amenities in the room (electric burner, kitchen space) - the room service menu had one page only - the rest of them were missing!!!!Staff is very unfriendly both at the reception and restaurant / bar - cannot order just a drink - bluntly told to order food else get the drink from downstairs and the lady hung up!! Had breakfast just once and that was enough for the stay (I stayed there for 13 days). Had difficulty chopping the sausages with a knife!!!!The only savior of this hotel is the location - very close to major shopping and eating joints. But I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who plans to stay for more than a night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nilanjan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towermill, General Manager at Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay, I am disappointed to hear your overall experience did not meet your expectations. At the Metro Hotel Tower Mill we strive to ensure all our guest experiences are met to the high standards required and all of my staff are trained to meet these standards. My only suggestion to you or any other guest staying in a Hotel for more than 1 night and you experience any issues or concerns about customer service or the Hotel in general, is that you contact the Hotel Manager directly as soon as possible so the remainder of your stay can be made more comfortable. I would expect this from a world Traveller with your experience, so this type of post on the internet would not have happened. Thank you once again, and be rest assured all the areas of your review are being investigated directly by the General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    110
    96
    29
    14
See reviews for
42
84
46
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coffs Harbour
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My husband and 2 sons and I stayed at the Metro Tower mill at the end of August 2012. We had a family room which consisted of a queen and 2 singles. We were actually quite impressed at the size of the room and great that the kids had their own single beds each and a balcony. Yes the bathroom needed a bit of attention and it was a novelty that the taps to adjust the shower were outside the shower cubicle but for 1 night it was just fine. Easy access to Roma Street station and across from the Parklands we enjoyed our stay. Reception was prompt, our room was ready early, we had reserved a car space and it all was smooth for check in and check out. We utilised the restaurant and bar downstairs for lunch and breakfast. Lunch options were great $14.90 for various meals inc a beer or wine and breakfast was a small buffet but suited us. Yes we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank regulartraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

This is one of those hotels that is close to the CBD, transportation and the medical prceincts. My room (104) is wedged shaped due to the hotel being round in shape, it was like a studio apartment with all the amenities in the room, including a two burner ekectric hotplate.......but there's no escaping the fact, that by any hotel measure in Australia, it's a compact space. To put things into perspective, I stayed at a similar proportioned round shape hotel in Townsville, the Holiday Inn - aka the Sugar Shaker, who's rooms are considerably larger for the same price.

The pub downstairs is a great, reasonably price watering hole with pretty good upmarket pub grub.

To sum up - the accommodations are more suited to spending a night, rather than a week.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_Fitzgerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

When I first arrived my allocated room was not made up so this set the scene. The taps in the shower were outside the cubicle making it difficult to adjust water temp and the toilet paper dispenser resembled something you'd find in a public toilet. The rooms feel weird because of their wedge shapes. The pub/bar attached downstairs did serve a good meal if not a slight bit pricy

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTravellingAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our room was very small and it took some getting used to the wedge shape. It had been newly refurbished with what appeared to be high quality furniture. The beautiful sleigh bedheads were let down by the size of the actual beds. We had two single beds and although each had a regular single base, the mattress was very small. I am only 163cm tall and I found it difficult to stretch out comfortably in the bed. Although cramped, the bathroom was very clean. I did not like the taps for the shower being outside of the shower recess, particularly for safety reasons. It's a shame that such a nice looking room had the most atrocious looking curtains. The hotel is an easy walk to the main shopping areas and is close to many amenities. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The dinner was sensational but the breakfast left a lot to be desired. The grey looking scrambled eggs reduced my appetite to zero. In future I would eat breakfast at one of the many cafes in the city.

Room Tip: Tryto get a room higher than the first floor and away from the adjoining car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Metro is a fairly tired looking place and I was expecting the worst when I was confronted with a "Back in 5 or 10 minutes" sign when I arrived. I was pleasantly surprised when I got to my room; nice and clean, a bit of crashing and banging from the adjacent carpark through the night but nothing major. The restaurant is basic but serves good meals. Walk to downtown takes about 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the car parking building as it tends to be quite noisy in the early hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

A bit old but for the price it was an ok hotel especially when you consider the parking was free. No major complaints but one "unique" feature of this hotel that can be seen even in the official photos is the shower taps which are located outside the shower glass.
So you must adjust the water before you enter the shower. I've never seen that one before and while it is an inconvenience, it certainly is something "unique".
Not a bad hotel at all if you don't have too high expectations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Appreci8life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#102 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#49 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#39 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#106 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace

Property: Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Address: 239 Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Tower Mill offers guests a selection of 3 ½ star guestrooms, most with their own private walkout balconies to enjoy the panoramic views of Brisbane city and surrounding suburbs.This Brisbane icon is a popular choice for people travelling to this beautiful city looking for comfortable, well appointed and affordable accommodation. Located on the edge of the city centre, the hotels facilities and services make it ideal for business travelers and those attending many of the conferences and trade shows that Brisbane is known for. Metro Hotel Tower Mill provides the perfect location for families and holiday makers along with those looking for value for money accommodation.Take and easy ten minute stroll through the parklands to Brisbane Town Hall, Queen Street Mall, Southbank parklands or the history Treasury Casino. Also located in the heart of Brisbane's medical precinct, adjacent to Brisbane Private Hospital (Holy Spirit) and numerous medical centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing