We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fine stay at the Tower Mill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Ranked #97 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Another fine stay at the Tower Mill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

The Metro Hotel Tower Hill is a good fit for the seasoned traveller used to European style utilitarian hotels. Not the cookie cuttter American vacuum box but a place to sleep, safe, clean, efficiently run with large balconies with a view. It was my second stay and it met all my requirements for practicality and location. "Pub" type food and excellent service. Mostly frequented by Australians as the hotel is proximate to several major hospitals. Second stay but not the last. Brisbane is a VERY expensive city, particularly for food by North American standards.

Room Tip: South East quadrant (the building is round!) between the 3rd and 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjdevconex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    115
    96
    29
    15
See reviews for
46
85
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Metro tower mill was a great overnight stay in Brisbane. Have lived and stayed many times in Brisbane and although this was one of the least "flashy" places I have stayed, it has got all the essentials perfectly covered! Very clean, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast included was not great but still better then some I've paid for in the past. The place as a whole has aged slightly but still seems to be well kept. If you are looking for 5-star treatment this may not be the place for you, but if you just want a comfortable and clean place to rest at night that is not far (walking distance) to the CBD and Queen St, then Tower Mill is definitely worth a try. Also free undercover parking was included which is great when so close to the CBD and there is a bar/resturant downstairs which although I did not dine at, looked as good as any others around. Worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BH3surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was sent here for one night while on a business trip. This place is in a convenient location but it is in serious need of renovations and new decor. The room could have been cleaned better. When we checked in we noticed the sheets were filthy and we had the staff change them straight away. Though it was non-smoking the room stunk of old smoke and when I woke the next morning I suffered from a horribly stuffed nose from this. The TV had horrible reception and was quite old...you would expect with how cheap TVs are now that they would have a model that was a little newer. The bathroom was stained and could have been cleaned a lot better. For the price that was being paid for this room I would have expected better. Hopefully the people that own this place do see the benefit in doing it up as the location is good and this place could have lots of potential. I think there are better choices to stay in compared to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vs2008vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calella De Palafrugell
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Dirty, battered bathroom and bedroom, noisy air conditioner, dirty floor, curtains hanging off the rails, electrical appliance all connected via multi-socket extension leads, bits of the ceiling all over the bed. This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we travel for typically 3-4 months of every year. Not cheap either. I wish we'd chosen the Backpackers.

Room Tip: I would like to know whether they have any good rooms. The hotel is round and ours faced north so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerBrisbane, General Manager at Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace, responded to this review, October 23, 2011
All of the complaints within this review have been investigated.
Metro Hotel Tower Mill is a AAA 3.5 Star Rated Hotel, not a Backpackers.
There are different levels of accommodation, Executive Double, Suite and Budget.
I would recommend if these types of complaints are found within a Hotel during your stay they must be brought to the attention of Management immediatly so they can be rectified, as I was not informed of these complaints this review is untrue and unsubstantiated
Thank you Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed at the Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace because we had appointments at the Brisbane Private Hospital next door. We paid the Medical Rate of $140.00 per night. The room was small but with a queen size bed and a balcony. We had some difficulty boiling the kettle because the only available power points were situated just above the skirting board underneath a desk. An unhygenic alternative would have been to boil it in the bathroom, but there is little bench space anyway. This hotel is round so the bedrooms are wedge-shaped. The car parking is reasonably easy to access but very difficult to exit, once again because of the hotel shape. We were told there were only 2 car parks left so we don't know what happens if there are no car parks! At $140.00 per night, we would expect the hotel to pay for the nearby car parking. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the nearby cafe. Hotel restaurant was expensive with not much choice on the menu.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarwickKangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here as it was all I could find for the date we needed. We paid $400 for one night in an executive family room. Building is old and needs serious modernising. Television in our room didn't get clear channels. Will not be staying here again unless absolutely desperate. Definately not value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytraveller3a1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is a great hotel which suited our needs. Convenient location and friendly staff. Sure it's a little 'ageing' but it is still very serviceable and we always have great cityscape views. It is well priced. It's not urber modern and if you want chic, don't go there but if you want a comfy room with a good bistro downstairs and close to the city, then this is the hotel for you. Rooms are a good size and off the street secure parking is a bonus. The only criticism is that the bath may prove a challenge for elderly people so ask about that if you have difficulty getting in and out of an elevated bath/shower.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the city side for the best views in Brisbane
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaFaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Astor Metropole Hotel
0.2 mi away
Metropolitan Motor Inn
Metropolitan Motor Inn
#104 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#40 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#50 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.3 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abbey On Roma
Abbey On Roma
#105 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace

Property: Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace
Address: 239 Wickham Terrace, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Tower Mill offers guests a selection of 3 ½ star guestrooms, most with their own private walkout balconies to enjoy the panoramic views of Brisbane city and surrounding suburbs.This Brisbane icon is a popular choice for people travelling to this beautiful city looking for comfortable, well appointed and affordable accommodation. Located on the edge of the city centre, the hotels facilities and services make it ideal for business travelers and those attending many of the conferences and trade shows that Brisbane is known for. Metro Hotel Tower Mill provides the perfect location for families and holiday makers along with those looking for value for money accommodation.Take and easy ten minute stroll through the parklands to Brisbane Town Hall, Queen Street Mall, Southbank parklands or the history Treasury Casino. Also located in the heart of Brisbane's medical precinct, adjacent to Brisbane Private Hospital (Holy Spirit) and numerous medical centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Tower Mill On Wickham Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing