We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue ..... but”
Review of Mercure Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane
Ranked #52 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    740
    397
    103
    51
See reviews for
349
583
158
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I think you can ignore the review from "Meh" as I believe he / she did not actually stay at the hotel but attended to hotel for training purposes, probably a course to improve spelling.
Location: a very handy position, a 5 minute walk to Roma Station, 10 min to Queen street Mall and probably 15 min walk to South Bank.
Hotel: A very easy check in and check out by excellent staff. Our room was clean with ample space and overlooked the river. The hotel offers a swimming pool for guests which we did not use due to weather.
Breakfast: We did not thought it to be a pricey so we did not eat there as there are plenty of nearby places offering breakfast at a much more reasonable price. We actually walked over to South Bank for breakfast where we found plenty of options to choose from.
Would we return, certainly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and two small children (3 & 5 yrs) made a snap decision to have an overnight stay in the city and visit GOMA.

We booked a City View Room with a 2 x double bed configuration/shower only in bathroom. Since we had two small children, the staff were very helpful and offered us a room with a bath which we did look at, but the bath was a bit on the small for two little ones to sit in so we elected to stay with our original room.

Our room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom was lovely - LOVED the rain shower head!

The only minor drawback is that the carpark arrangement is a bit odd - the hotel doesn't have its own carpark and has an arrangement with the privately owned carpark next door. You get vouchers to use this carpark (which you pay the hotel for) and you swipe these upon exit. There are no lifts from the carpark directly into the hotel which can be awkward if you have a bit of luggage.

The hallways themselves are a bit dated and drab, but once you get into the room, the décor is fine. We found the airconditioning to be a little on the warm side and it didn't seem to be pumping into the room too efficiently (even though we had decreased the temperature to 16 degrees), but that is only because we like a cool environment in hotel rooms.

We ordered room service which arrived promptly and the meals were very generous in size and delicious. The breakfast in the restaurant the next morning was also of a high standard and the staff were courteous and friendly.

We were very happy with our stay and would definitely book there again.

PS - note that if you are travelling with children, the TV does not have a DVD/USB outlet etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gothdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,618 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,287 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I just had a short 1 day stay in this hotel on a Friday night. Check in was prompt and efficient and I liked their open plan reception desk. Very much more personal.

Location is on the corner of Ann and North Quay and on the riverside and only a block away from George Street. The location is good and an easy 5 minute walk to the Queen Street Mall. There are several pubs and dining choices nearby. If arriving by train Roma St Station is also
about a 5 minute walk away.

The lobby was completely refurbished last month and looks great. The rooms also looked like they were refurbished not so long ago so quite modern and "retro". Rooms are not large but a good sized flat screen tv is provided and the bathroom has modern fittings. Toileteries supplied were very
basic. Façade and Corridors still look quite dated.

Room service pizza was promptly served and was good.

My son, his partner and I had buffet breakfast in this hotel and for $32 I thought the prices were very high for the quite limited choices. On nearby George Street you will find better value breakfast options

Hotel has a pool which we didn't use.

Free wifi isnt provided but there are computers located in the lobby which can be used at no cost for 20 minutes at a time.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Needs way more signage and people to help guests. Waiting way too long for someone to help me find where to go for a workshop. No signs saying whivh level you are on so I ended up spending 15 mins traipsing around the place. Finally skmeone was free. He treated me like crap. Very condescending and rude. Wont ever be staying here cause of this. Food was average barely enough to feed everyone in my group and coffee boiler wasnt working in the morning.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank angy27986 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Meh

I am so sorry about your most recent experience here at the Mercure Hotel. I appologise for the staff that did not treat you as they should have and want to reasure you that we do not condone such service. I also wanted to let you know that we have taken steps to rectify the issue you raised about the location of our funtion rooms and how dificult it can be to navigate your way around the Hotel. We are in the process of having additional signage made up that will point our conference guests in the right direction.

I hope we get a chance to show you how you should be treated as a guest at the Mercure Brisbane in the future.

Kind regards

Laurence Nathan
HOD Mercure Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

First visit. So close to the Mall and all the shopping.
We were on the 12th floor, the room was super clean very impressed.
The room was compact but had everything in it you could want. Airconditioning was good and the KG bar downstairs very nice.
Excellent value for money. I booked direct with the hotel and got as good a deal as I could find anywhere. Checkin was a bit busy but I suppose cant be helped at peak times.
Will definitely use again.

Room Tip: Ask to be well away from the lift areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 157 in Brisbane
1,531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#11 of 157 in Brisbane
2,607 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane

Property: Mercure Brisbane
Address: 85 - 87 North Quay, Brisbane, Queensland 4003, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#49 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#52 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Brisbane River is Mercure Brisbane.The hotel offers 194 guests guest rooms and suites, 11 conferenceand meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar, pool, and sauna. For business,conference, and leisure guests, this Brisbane city hotel is just stepsfrom the Queen Street Mall, Southbank cultural precinct, the BrisbaneConvention and Exhibition Centre, and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Mercure Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing