We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Enjoyable”
Review of Mercure Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane
Ranked #52 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not Enjoyable”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This property is Average. Decor is very old. Staff are not all trained to be friendly. There are works going on which start at 5:45am (hammering and banging). We were staying for 5 nights. And called every morning to complain. We were told the Manager is meeting with the building foreman to discuss. It is now morning 4 of the banging and I have already called again at 6:15 and told they shouldn't be doing this and the night manager is already addressing this. 15 minutes on and guess what? There is still BANGING! Looks like its going to be another long day at the conference.

Oh well, may as well pack my bags and find somewhere else to stay tonight or I may have to sleep in my meeting!!!

Avoid this place when there are other options around.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pk666au1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Rooms Division Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Mercure Brisbane is currently undergoing a full room refurbishment to improve the product we are providing. During this process we are doing everything we can to prevent disruptions to our guests. I apologise for the inconvenience this caused you during your stay and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further. Should you wish to do so, please contact the hotel on 3237 2300 or email me at h1750-fo01@accor.com

Your feedback is very important to us and will assist us in optimising our future guest experience

Kind Regards
D’orne Fitzpatrick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    746
    397
    103
    51
See reviews for
352
586
158
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mildura, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Clean and Comfortable room, friendly helpful staff - Undergoing renovations ( They look great) Excellent Breakfast - Possibly the best we have had anywhere!! Large TV. Could not have asked for any better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. I was especially excited to read that you rate our breakfast so highly and will definitely pass on your feedback to the chef.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Mark Mewburn
Marketing and Administration Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a tired, tired property. As well it should be scheduled for renovation; unfortunately they are charging prices as though it is.

I paid $270 a night for a 'corner suite'. But don't think that means that you have anything other than a wall on the corner; the windows were on one wall only. The suite constituted a slightly bigger room and dining table.

The fit out is tired with plastic laminate abounding. Think a Centrelink office. The corridors look and smell like a Soviet era nursing home.

I booked this hotel on the basis of the four stars here: really people, get a reality check. For these sorts of prices, we are entitled to so much more. This joint would not exist for a month in either Sydney or Melbourne charging the prices they do.

The location is poor, among sex premises adjacent to an overpass. Delightful, not!; although I readily acknowledge that the view across the river was splendid.

In fairness, I should say that the young man serving me on the front desk was absolutely lovely and very efficient. At least they get that right.

Would I return here? Not on your sweet nelly. It is extremely poor value for money. Do yourself a favour and get to the Balfour.

Oh, and don't think that Accor senior status counts for anything here.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citikitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to inform you that we are currently refurbishing all of our guest rooms and suites and building a gym with the project being finalised by the end of May 2013.

I apologise that your LeClub or Advantage Plus membership was not duly recognised whilst you were at the hotel and will definitely look into this matter. Should you wish to discuss it further, please do not hesitate to call the hotel on 07 3237 2300 or email me at Mark.Mewburn@accor.com.

It is certainly an exciting time for the hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the future so you can experience our new look.

Kind regards
Mark Mewburn
Marketing and Administration Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Average room with tired decor. Was not told beforehand that it was undergoing renovations and drilling and hammering starts from 7am. Pillows were not comfy and the bedding was stained. Would not stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Lindsay,

Thank you for your review. It is certainly not within the normal scope of works for construction to begin at 7am. I apologise for the inconvenience and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this further. Should you wish to do so, please contact the hotel on 07 3237 2300 or email me at Mark.Mewburn@accor.com.

Thank you again and we would love to have you stay with us in the future to experience our new rooms.

Kind regards
Mark Mewburn
Marketing and Administration Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

As with many online bookings, thinks can and usually are deceiving-this experience was no different. Although the hotel was in a convenient location-within easy walking distance to the mall and Southbank some of the other "features" left us feeling disappointed. The staff were friendly, however I would have liked to be advised of the noise-due to renovations, before our arrival. Having to endure the jack-hammering could have been sweetened with the offer of some complimentary breakfast. Instead we were slugged with a $27 overnight parking fee-in what turned out to be Brisbane's version of the game "Rush Hour"! The beds afforded little comfort with the pillows being as comfortable as a folded beach towel. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends, however if you just need somewhere to stay that is close to the city and you don't care about the ambience then this could be for you. We however will not be rebooking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnie-Iyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at Mercure Brisbane, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologise for any disruption to your stay due to our rooms refurbishment program and I would love to discuss your stay further with you. If convenient please call me at the hotel on 3237 2300 or email me at Mark.Mewburn@accor.com.

Your feedback is very important to us and will assist us in optimising our future guest's experiences.

Kind regards
Mark Mewburn
Marketing and Administration Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 159 in Brisbane
1,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.2 mi away
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
NEXT Hotel Brisbane
#9 of 159 in Brisbane
2,756 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Brisbane
Novotel Brisbane
#38 of 159 in Brisbane
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane

Property: Mercure Brisbane
Address: 85 - 87 North Quay, Brisbane, Queensland 4003, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#49 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#52 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Brisbane River is Mercure Brisbane.The hotel offers 194 guests guest rooms and suites, 11 conferenceand meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar, pool, and sauna. For business,conference, and leisure guests, this Brisbane city hotel is just stepsfrom the Queen Street Mall, Southbank cultural precinct, the BrisbaneConvention and Exhibition Centre, and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing