We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refurb badly”
Review of Mercure Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Brisbane
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs a refurb badly”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location for the city, south bank, performing arts center and convention center all within a short walk of the hotel. Place needs a refurb and the rooms really need a good refurb and maybe some good cleaning also. I don't think the cleaners are to blame really as they are not given enough time to do the rooms properly in the time allowed really 30 min is not enough to give the room the cleaning it needs.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on a floor above the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    752
    399
    104
    51
See reviews for
352
591
159
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The 'fresh' seafood at buffet was appalling. All the cooked for was beautiful especially the Barramundi. However the prawns, oysters and crab had no taste and were obviously frozen for a long time and thawed out. Seriously, how hard would it be for the chef to go down early on Saturday morning and pick up fresh unfrozen seafood? Come on guys at $70 a head you can get a boat load a fresh seafood and eat it in your room so why pay for thawed out tasteless stringy paste?
Its a shame because the staff and the rest of the stay was wonderful.
Oh one other thing - the room has no balcony just so you know- it’s a bit weird staring at each other in the room with no ambience just a big window.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Mercure BNE is in a good location in terms of access to the CBD, highways north and south and the airport. The rooms are clean and tidy but I found that the beds rolled away when you sat on them. The bathrooms were well appointed but the hair dryer was broken. In room service average priced and acceptable. Staff were friendly and parking plentiful. A nice Mercure but not the best

Room Tip: Ask for the riverside higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coleman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collie WA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had only 1 night here so can only comment on the limited time we were here. Check in was friendly, easy and quick. Room was lovely. We had 3 in our room and there was only the usual 2 towells - that was fixed immediately - brought to our room by very friendly staff. We were advised where to go for tea - they had seafood that night and if you didnt eat that they advise you of the neighbouring Ibis Restaurant - which was lovely. We had a very early check out so they offer a continental brekky in a take out box - which was good. Check out was easy, quick and again very friendly. Staff were very efficient and extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely staff again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller1411205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've been to brisbane once or twice for various reasons but never for a weekend getaway. I came up for an exhibition at the Queensland Art Gallery so wanted something reasonable and close to it.

I arrived at the hotel around 7am in the morning, and despite the usual 2pm check-in time, we asked if our room was ready, and front desk was very obliging and gave us a room. So it was so nice to be able to get into our rooms early. The room was a twin double bed room - nice, clean, view of the river and Southbank. Nice comfy beds, it was a little stuffy in there but very comfortable for an overnight stay.

My hotel booking didnt include breakfast, and $28pp seemed a little steep. And with Southbank less than 10 minutes away – we tried out two different cafes each morning and both were great and about $16-20 each.

The hotel is very much a short walk to most city locations. Several bridges have walkways and it was a 5-10 stroll over to the art gallery, science museum, theatre house and Southbank. Also around the corner, maybe a 10-15min walk is Caxton which has a few restuarants and an independent cinema. It is also very close to the city centre and the Treasury Casino.

Another plus is it is a few minutes walk to North Quay ferry wharf. There is a red ferry called the CityHopper which is free, and it stops along Southbank, Maritime Museum and Eagle St Pier, plus a couple more. It arrives every 30mins, so if you have missed it sometimes its just as fast to walk over.

The only drawback was the front desk wasn't understaffed, the staff that were there were very friendly and helpful an worked hard, but they could use more staff. And I also wish this hotel, and most Australian hotels, would introduce free wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location with easy access to shops and restaurants.
Front desk staff excellent, however Room Service poor.
Breakfast ordered was cold, poorly presented and just plan indedible.
Views from Riverside room was pleasant , however the blinds were old and a little worn which detracted somewhat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.1 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 159 in Brisbane
1,555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#12 of 159 in Brisbane
2,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.2 mi away
Pullman Brisbane King George Square
0.4 mi away
The Sebel Brisbane
The Sebel Brisbane
#31 of 159 in Brisbane
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Brisbane

Property: Mercure Brisbane
Address: 85 - 87 North Quay, Brisbane, Queensland 4003, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#50 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#52 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the Brisbane River is Mercure Brisbane.The hotel offers 194 guests guest rooms and suites, 11 conferenceand meeting rooms, a restaurant, bar, pool, and sauna. For business,conference, and leisure guests, this Brisbane city hotel is just stepsfrom the Queen Street Mall, Southbank cultural precinct, the BrisbaneConvention and Exhibition Centre, and public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Mercure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing