We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of ibis Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ibis Brisbane
Ranked #60 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We got a cheap rate for this hotel through the Wotif Mystery deal and we only needed to be there for one night as we were leaving the country the next day. It was excellent for what we needed, simple comfortable and clean space, right in the heart of the city.

They did however give us a wrong room (room with two single beds, instead of one queen bed), however they made up for it with a sincere apology and a free upgrade to a slightly better room.
It was a bit difficult to find, however this was just simply due to the amazing location right near Queens Street mall.

Room Tip: The upgraded room we got wasn't really that amazing. I got the impression that the basic and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyriko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    779
    337
    79
    41
See reviews for
273
528
223
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I've had very pleasant stays at this hotel in the past. The lack of a functioning restaurant has always always been a problem. (Going to the hotel next door for dinner is a downer!)
However yesterdays the negative experience takes the cake...
Upon check out at 9:01 am on 17 Jan 2014, I was asked to sign for authorization on my credit card for an unspecified amount. When I finally received the detailed invoice I noticed an extra day's accommodation had been added.
When I objected, they told me I would have to wait of the person with the authority to reverse the transaction (which meant missing my airline connection).
Alternately, they would credit me the difference the same day, and email me the new invoice.
However... I'm still waiting....
When staying at this hotel (or any other) demand to see the detailed invoice before signing any thing. Otherwise the system is just open for fraud

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Peter

Thank you for taking the time to add a review about the Ibis Hotel Brisbane. I was disapointed to read that your latest experience with us was not a pleasent one and would like to apologise for the events that took place on your departure.

Please be reasured that we strive to provide all of our guests with the highest level of service and in your case we have not meet that standard. We have reviewed our reservations procedure at front office to ensure this does not happen in the future.

Once again I apologise for your experience.

Kind regards

Laurence Nathan
Head of Department
Mercure & Ibis Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in an Ibis in both Sydney and Brisbane on our trip over to Australia, and the Brisbane one was by far the superior.

We had a twin room which featured two double beds, it was clean, working air con, mini fridge, enough space, large tv, good room overall.

Good location near the waterfront and tourist attractions.

Only quibble is that you could not access wifi on phones and the computes in the reception are so slow that many people, myself included, gave up bothering because it took about 2 mins to load each page. But other than that it met all our needs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
253 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night as I arrived late and my primary establishment did not have reception service beyond 9.00 p.m.
The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine.
My room faced the thoroughfare, but I did not have any issues about traffic noise.
The only downside was that due to ongoing works the Reception was temporarily transferred to the first floor adjacent to the residents' bar. This resulted in the Reception employee having to double up as bar manager. The time taken to deal with my arrival and a telephone enquiry from a potential resident felt to create 'undercurrents' with those who were impatient for bar service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBofLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel had pros and cons (as they all do). It had a very central location and easy to get around on foot, train station also quite close. The rooms were nice and adequate, however, ours smelt of smoke. We were probably just unlucky though. The half empty plates of food from room service of the room opposite us was lying on the floor outside their room, and when we came back in the afternoon it was still there? not a huge problem or anything but just think it's a bit slack/gross.
To conclude this was a decent and not over priced hotel, with friendly staff. We maybe just had bad luck (it also rained our entire stay) and our complaints are probably not regular occurances.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airporteuphoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear airporteuphoria

Thank you for your review about the Ibis Hotel Brisbane. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but not so happy to read about the smokey smell in your room or the room service tray left in the hall way.

I would like to assure you that these issues have been passed on to the Manager of each department so they can be dealt with to ensure it does not happen in the future.

Once again I thank you for your feedback.

Laurence Nathan
C&C Sales Manager
Ibis Hotel Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed at the Ibis Hotel in Brisbane in December. We were in Brisbane to see Bon Jovi so we wanted a hotel that wasn't too expensive but centrally located. We definitely were lucky with this one! The location is beyond fantastic. Short walk to the Queen Street Mall plus the Treasury Casino. Maybe a 15 minute leisurely walk across to Southbank.

The room was well kept, comfortable bed and it was clean - most important!! The bathroom was a good size although there was a shower over the bath which I hate, but hey we weren't paying top dollar so I can definitely look past this.

We were staying on the 16th floor which meant we could go up the elevator to the 15th floor but then had to walk up a flight of stairs - this did not bother me in the slightest and the guy who checked us in checked with us first before assigning the room which I thought was very good service. I would hate to be given the room then later be told 'oh by the way you have to walk up a flight of stairs'.

We didn't get to enjoy the restaurant or bar as they were closed whilst we were there. I thought this strange as the hotel was meant to be booked out for at least some of the time we were in Brisbane.

Overall, a nice room, great location and a fantastic price. I would stay here again if I was on a budget trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suz182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
1,694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
0.0 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Brisbane

Property: ibis Brisbane
Address: 27-35 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Brisbane 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brisbane is conveniently located in the city centre. The hotelfeatures 218 spacious and modern rooms, conference facilities, anda newly refurbished restaurant and bar. Ibis Brisbane has all the keyfeatures for a comfortable business or leisure stay and its convenientlocation means guests are only a short stroll from all that the city has to offer. You will experience exceptional value for money, convenience and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing