We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IBI Brisbane” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis Brisbane
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“IBI Brisbane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hotel is good. Parking is a problem. Need to park at either Novotel or Tank St car park. The hotel offers reduced rates if you get parking tickets validated.
Breakfast is ok but dinner meals are pretty basic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RGJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    765
    329
    72
    38
See reviews for
266
516
218
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Queensland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here with a girl friend for a girls night away. I had heard a lot of negative reviews for this hotel including one from my parents who had stayed there 6 months prior however i have no complaints about my stay. I don't know if the rooms are being renovated or if all renovations have now been completed but either way, I felt completely clean and comfortable in the room & hotel.

My friend and I had a room on one of the higher floors which was a standard room with 2 queen beds. The room was tidy and overlooked office buildings, it was not overly big but big enough for us and a few friends who came up for a pre-dnner drink.

Initially i thought the location was a bit out of the way and was prepared to walk a fair while to get to where we wanted to go, but the hotel is actually quite central to everything we wanted to do. The Casino and mall are literally 5 minutes walk away and southbank is a short stroll over the bridge. Across the road is bar that looked pretty good but we decided to go elsewhere but maybe next time!

Check in was fast and friendly, the beds & pillows were comfy, the price was great and the hotel was in a good location - what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc_globetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The IBIS is not a "top tier" hotel, but this one sets a high standard.

At first glance the IBIS rate seems high, but you have to remember all hotels in Brisbane seem over-priced (or put it another way, I get much better rates in Melbourne and for clients booked into Sydney for that matter too).

But despite that, the hotel meets the mark. Check-in is friendly and helpful, and the rooms I've had here have been reasonable to large sized, VERY clean, and surprisingly quiet for a CBD hotel.

A downside for me is lack of room service (1st world problem I know, but I frequently dine in while doing conference calls, even breakfast time due to global calls). The hotel has a "grab and go" type menu at reception, better than nothing but not what I'm after.

Like so many hotels there's an absence of electrical plugs in the room (I found one dual outlet). This is all too common, and it's incredibly annoying. There's the laptop, the phone charger, the iron, the iPad charger - and so on. This is common in hotels built before "devices" took over our lives, but it's still annoying.

Soap dissolves in oh, one shower, and there was no hand towel in my room - a mistake or extra cheapness?

BUT, the size, cleanliness, quietness, and handy location ticked some important boxes for me. Enough to warrant a return for sure...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Managed to get a good deal just before the school holiday ended. Booked standard 2 queen bed room. Room was quite large considering the two beds were in there. Rooms were cleaned daily and when we requested extra towels from the cleaners they made sure we had extras everyday. Beds were very comfortable. Within walking distance to most sights with Brisbane CBD.

At night it was a bit uncomfortable walking back to with topless bar around the corner. The only problem with the hotel like with lots of hotels in Australia they don't have free wifi. When you can travel to third world country and get free wifi I can't see why they charge an arm & leg for access to internet in Australia. Otherwise not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deedeethenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed the spacious size rooms we have and the service you received from the housekeeping team. We are very lucky to have one of the best housekeeping teams in Brisbane.

I can appreciate your frustrations with complimentary internet. I can advise that we do provide half an hour complimentary internet every 24 hours on own devices, along with an Ibis Web Corner which provides 15 minutes free access for all of our guests. We also have new IBusiness Floors which include internet when booked.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
D’orne Fitzpatrick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I found the Ibis Hotel in Brisbane To be a great place to stay with its location close to the city CBD. It met all my needs on this visit. As I had family with me on this short stay it catered for all our requirements after a very long flight from Europe. A nice place to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Happycamper370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Welcome and check in were very professional and helpful. made sure we knew where to park the car to get the negotiated rate with the Mercure next door. room average but well appointed except no bottle opener!!. Breakfast was more than adequate. Friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sherylamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanango
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have stayed at the Ibis before but this stay was the best, the room was refurbished and clean and the bed was very comfortable, we had an excellent nights sleep the position of the hotel is great will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 512WarrenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#51 of 162 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.0 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.4 mi away
Great Southern Hotel
Great Southern Hotel
#64 of 162 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Brisbane

Property: ibis Brisbane
Address: 27-35 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Brisbane 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brisbane is conveniently located in the city centre. The hotelfeatures 218 spacious and modern rooms, conference facilities, anda newly refurbished restaurant and bar. Ibis Brisbane has all the keyfeatures for a comfortable business or leisure stay and its convenientlocation means guests are only a short stroll from all that the city has to offer. You will experience exceptional value for money, convenience and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your ibis Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing