We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”
Review of ibis Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ibis Brisbane
Ranked #62 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Mostly this was a typical budget hotel, but let me tell you about the elevators momentarily. First the good news, the hotel is old, dirty, the food mediocre, and the staff unfriendly. About what you would expect from a budget hotel in other words - no surprise there. But we arrived in the first week of February to discover that in a hotel with 20+ floors only one elevator was working. One was being rebuilt. The other didn't work. Then the brilliant operators put large tour groups in the hotel. In the morning it took a 20 minute wait to get an elevator just to get to breakfast. Came back in the afternoon just after tour group arrived and there was a long line up to get into the elevator, it was going to take at least half an hour! So we walked up 11 flights. If this were a real hotel some moron would lose a job, but since this is the Ibis, what do you expect?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'orne F, Manager at ibis Brisbane, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Ibis Brisbane is currently going through a lift upgrade which we are very excited about. We are very sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you and unfortunately without all lifts in operation, there can be slightly longer delays during a hotels 'peak hour' traffic times.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back at the ibis Brisbane soon.

Kind regards
Mark Mewburn
Marketing and Administration Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
There are newer reviews for ibis Brisbane
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

845 - 851 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindagraham54
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

very nice and clean, staff friendly and helpfully ,would stay there again and would recomond to others to stay walking distance to shops , food place , also bars , bottle shops . breakfast was good value and great range of food on offer ,

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brisbane2753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked the room, as it was incredibly inexpensive, throuh our Advantage Plus membership. We were not expecting much. Wow, what a surprise! Reception staff was friendly, welcoming and efficient, and our room was ready early. The room was really big; two queen size beds, nice size TV, desk with two chairs, tea and coffee making facilities, and curtains that made the room dark enough for a sleep-in. The bathroom was nothing special, but was clean and OK. Breakfast had plenty to choose from, and was good value. Parking was inexpensive for inner Brisbane. Everything is within walking distance soI think it will be where we will stay whenever we're in Brisbane overnight from now on. Loved it!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - excellent hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liznnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac72k
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The rooms are bigger then you expect in an ibis hotel and the new beds are very comfortable. Being only a short walk away from Roma Street station and the Queens Mall, the location is perfect. Buffet breakfast a bit expensive for what it is but if you don't like it there other options close by. Overall: Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reto6065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winniemi2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#55 of 168 in Brisbane
1,720 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Brisbane King George Square
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Brisbane

Address: 27-35 Turbot St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $83 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Brisbane 3*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brisbane is conveniently located in the city centre. The hotelfeatures 218 spacious and modern rooms, conference facilities, anda newly refurbished restaurant and bar. Ibis Brisbane has all the keyfeatures for a comfortable business or leisure stay and its convenientlocation means guests are only a short stroll from all that the city has to offer. You will experience exceptional value for money, convenience and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing