We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to try it out”
Review of Hotel Carindale

Hotel Carindale
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brisbane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Carindale
Ranked #159 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We used to eat at the old restaurant before the refurbishments. Always had great service, and excellent food. Now, after it's renewal, not very impressed. Yes, you are shown to a table, given a menu, from there on in tis all down hill. You make your meal choice, and then have to queue to place said order, pay, and return to table. Then, you have to go to the bar for any beverages you may require, return to your table, wine in bucket etc., wait for the meal, which is delivered to the table! For heavens sake, remember your table number when you go to order! We had 200g rump, with gravy and salad. For rump, the price was reasonable, cooked to perfection, we both love rare! However mine was as tender as one would expect, my partners, so tough! The salad was a little wilted, though varied, the peppercorn gravy was OK! Miss the old restaurant and service, and doubt very much that we will return!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carindale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 27 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The listing and photo are out of date the Hotel was knocked downs a couple of years ago and the site rebuilt as part of the Carindale Westfield shopping center. A new Hotel is incorporated in the center with Bar and Restaurant, there is no longer accommodation.

The Hotel does have a cafe type appeal and links to the "Glass House" Restaurant / Food Court within westfield.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Shayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been to the bistro at the hotel a number of times since the refurbishment and have had the same female staff member on most times tell us we she wants us to sit. Not like other staff who ask where we would like to sit. We tell this person that we wish to sit away from the noise but you have to raise your voice and stand up to her but she backs down and not nice to you. We are the customer who pays her wage.
Otherwise the food is good anf the menu is large

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Family birthday with little (ish) kids. Three adults had sirloin steak at $30 a pop. Tough, over cooked and obviously not rested. Welcome poor and average age of wait staff an uncaring 17/18 years old. Bar staff great and surroundings good, could be an enjoyable treat for a family night out but alas for the above won't be returning. I'd rather spend my hard earnt hundred bucks for a family out elsewhere. Shame.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went there to watch an NRL game while having dinner and to try it our since the rebuilding. Disappointed on all levels. our request when we booked for a table close to the Tv that the rugby league would be televised on was not fulfilled, despite a promise that it would be, and there plenty of tables ther - so we moved ourselves.

Our meals took forever to come and the top range steak offered on the menu was as tough as an old boot.

Service was very slow and staff were few. Despite the fact that it's a hotel, it was almost impossible to even get a drink.

The ambiance is not as good as the old hotel as it is too noisy and is more like a food court than a hotel.

We saw many other people making complaints as well.

Over all, a very disppointing experience. Would definiety not bother going there again, despite the fact that we were regulars at the old Carindale Hotel.

Room Tip: No rooms available.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank asinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We booked a dinner for 8 persons on Saturday May 26th 2012 at 7.30 pm to celebrate a birthday. Placed our order for our meals between 8pm and 8.11pm. Ordered Steaks and seafood. 4 meals arrived at the table within 15 minutes, 2 meals arrived 45 after minutes and the last 2 meals at 9.11pm. When I spoke to the Hotel Manager, he offered an explanation that it is quite in order to wait up to 50 minutes for the meal to be served.Also told me that the Restaurant was very busy and that a delay of that amount of time is acceptable. I found the Manager to be extremely blase about the matter and could not care less about customer service.Prior to that we spoke to 2 waiters about the delay in serving the meals, but they told us the same story that we have to wait. Such delays is certainly not acceptable.We found the experience at the hotel simply daunting and would suggest that they need tlo pull up their socks if they want to attract customers. It appears the staff including the manager is totally untrained in customer service.
Like the previous reviewer said, this is simply a canteen with all its attendant noise and not a quality restaurant to dine.With regard to the Steaks, It is certainly not value for money and I would suggest that you give the Hotel Carindale a miss and enjoy your meals in one of the other establisments.This Hotel is a big let down for the Carindale residents. Dont waste your time money and effort to dine there.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yusef a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We went for dinner at the Carindale Hotel on Friday the 18th May 2012. We were really looking forward to a night out. We ordered our meal, and waited 45 minutes, then went to find out why it was taking so long only to be told there was no record of the order. We produed our receipt and were refunded cash by the manager, and the manager destroyed the receipt (probably to cover his bugger up). Aweful experience. Will never go there again. Can't believe how blase the staff were, didn't really care that we had spent the last 45 minutes waiting for our meal. Just believed that a refund would take care of their mess up. Whilst we were there people were leaving because they had to wait so long to place their order. Pity we hadn't done that!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
6  Thank Evelyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
4.0 mi away
Oaks Woolloongabba
Oaks Woolloongabba
#45 of 168 in Brisbane
134 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,105 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
5.2 mi away
Best Western Sunnybank Star Motel
2.9 mi away
Holland Park Motel
Holland Park Motel
#45 of 64 in Brisbane
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carindale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carindale

Address: Carindale St, Brisbane, Queensland 4152, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range: $79 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Carindale Hotel Brisbane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing