We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #69 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Great location - great restaurant”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Rendezvous Studio Hotel in Brisbane is centrally located making it conveniently close to all attractions. The restaurant on the ground floor offers a really good menu with low to higher priced items - the food is delicious and the service is great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Cheryl B, Thank-you for sharing your positive experiences at our restaurant, Straits Café, during your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed both our food and hospitality and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    589
    316
    127
    92
See reviews for
207
489
145
383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in September for a conference. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of everything.

The room was a little dated for the price ($169/night). Ordered a twin, but got a double room. Forgot my toothbrush and they don't have any spare amenities.

Overall, a pretty lack- lustre experience saved only by its great location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fizzychi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Fizzychi, Thank-you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us following your stay. We are pleased you also appreciate our location, and reference your comments regarding our lack of spare amenities and room requirements. We trust these issues will be eliminated on your next stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next stay in Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
301 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased we chose this hotel. It is well located on George street. The staff on reception were exceptionally helpful and our room was clean, well presented and newly decorated. It had all we needed apart from a safe but this was available at reception. There was a swimming pool and gym in the hotel and three hours free wifi per day in your bedroom. We could make free local calls from our room which was really good because we didn't have an Australian mobile, also the mini bar in our room was low cost. The Straits cafe in the hotel was a real bonus, the food and drinks were relatively cheap and of a really good quality, there being a happy hour between 4 and 6pm when drinks and nibbles were much reduced. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear CarolWestSussex, Thank-you very much for endorsing the restaurant, location, service, facilities and rooms at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane on George. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments and look forward to seeing you on your next stay in Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during the Fleet Review. Clean and comfortable with helpful staff. Easy walking or train to everything in the CBD. Lots of cheap eats around as it is near all the student accommodation and Chinatown. Free wifi for once.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NeilMarshall2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear NeilMarshall2267, Thank-you for taking the time to post such positive comments about your two night stay with us. We also appreciate our great CBD location. Thank-you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Hotel great location....however air con did not work.... But they recovered well...offered breakfast, free WiFi and late checkout.....good service, the front desk staff where very helpful....tried to fix the aircon.... But no luck, however recovered well

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmjohns68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay as Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane on George. We are glad we were able to meet your expectations with our service and that you also appreciate our location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

The worst night sleep I have EVER had. I am only 5'5 and my feet where nearly over the edge of the bed. I was woken at a stupid hour of the morning by the sound of non stop hammering and drilling in the room next to me. Come on seriously?! Your a hotel, surely there are more appropriate hours that this can be done at. Will not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay with us. It is disheartening to hear some of the comments regarding your sleep. Please feel free to contact me at dos.brisbane@rendezvoushotels.com so that we may rectify this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Right in government sector and close to casino, city, southbank etc. First class rooms, service and good little cafe/restaurant. Some great 'laneway' restaurants nearby. Perfect for accessing riverbank, Uni, botanic gardens, as well.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ballytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thankyou for staying at Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane on George on your most recent trip to Brisbane. We appreciate you highlighting the advantages of our location and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#60 of 157 in Brisbane
1,531 reviews
0.4 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#65 of 157 in Brisbane
969 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#48 of 157 in Brisbane
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Property: Great Southern Hotel
Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#62 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing