We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #73 of 167 Hotels in Brisbane
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I got one night at this hotel for "free" by cashing in my Flybuys rewards points for a room. It was a queen room with an extra single bed for a "twin share".

We checked in late after a wedding. The service from the staff member on duty was very nice, he was friendly and cheerful for 11:45pm!

We had to park our vehicle in the carpark with a nightly charge of $20.

Once up to where our room was, we noticed the age of this hotel. The doors are old and chipped, and then inside the room it's all very dated. That's fine for a night though and the bed was relatively comfortable.

But it was the cleanliness that was a problem. We noticed nail clippings on the floor near the single bed! The lamp had so much dust gathered on it the design groves were full! There was a lot of mould in the grout of the shower area and around the basin.

The bathroom had been updated but little details were missed - the extractor fan didn't work, the door had damage from where something glued on was pulled off and the shower head didn't work properly - it sprayed in a very very wide V shape meaning you had to turn it right down to get water flow all in one spot.

All in all it was fine for a few hour stay as we left at 6:30am the next morning. The same staff member was on the reception desk and again he was very pleasant.

I wouldn't recommend for anyone who associates the name Rendezvous with 4-5 star but as a "free" night I guess you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Maritime_Historian,
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane. Please know that we appreciate all comments as it helps us focus on areas of improvment at all times, and we have ensured our housekeeping department focuses more thoroughly on all aspects of the room.
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,438)
There are newer reviews for Great Southern Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed overnight at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel and the location was fabulous. The hotel was a little bit "tricky" to find, located opposite the Treasury Casino accomodation, within walking distance to everything including Southbank. Our room had a very comfortable bed bwith lovely linen however the decor was a little bit "hotch potch". The paint on the walls behind the bedhead was all scuffed and scrubbed at, a little bit "tacky" and a picture or two in the room would brighten it up. The bathroom while clean and tidy was a little bit "pokey" and not a two person bathroom. I also feel its nice to stay in a room that supplies just a few little extra necessities like a plate and a knife so if you do want to have some cheese and bickies with a glass of wine for example you can - its about being treated a little bit "special". Overall it was a good location, with a great view of Southbank, the river and the distance hills.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASSunnyCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Alansandie
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the southbank views.Please know that we appreciate all comments,
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Good spot for accessing the exhibition centre whilst being in the thick of things. Service was good, breakfast leaves a little to be desired but many good cafes in close proximity so not a problem. Apart from that a clean and comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Simon R
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the convenience the hotel enjoys.Please know that we appreciate all comments as it helps us focus on areas of improvment at all times.
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for one night on the hotels website. After booking the room we saw we could get a package for the same price. When enquiring on the phone about this package we were asked several times if we were looking at the right site. We followed the prompts of the package and made the booking. When we arrived we spoke to staff at front desk and also manager, they both said room had only been booked and after literally showing them how I booked it they refused to honour their deal. Blaming this booking on my phone - in which I had booked it off. Room - lovely and spacious, customer service - appalling.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenaeElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear RenaeElizabeth, thankyou for your comments following your recent stay at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.Your comments high light the need to improve our customer service significantly and I thankyou for this.Feedback of all types is an exceptional way for improving the needs of our business and focusing on our guest service.
I am sure you will note a marked improvement on your next stay at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here with family. This hotel was a Mystery Hotel on a 3rd party booking site. Meeting family in Brisbane, I checked in a night earlier than the other members of the party. I think I must have been given an executive room, as it was much bigger than the room my family member was given.
First impressions of the lobby: very 3 star. Basic, not luxurious. Staff member was friendly, and check-in was swift. The room keys, however, are not in the form of a modern swipe card but an old key. Doors are extremely hard to open and require a mix of brute force and dumb luck.
Room was spacious and while the fittings were very old and unfashionable, everything was clean. Bed very comfortable. The bathroom was new and full amenities, except for a toothbrush, were provided.
One problem which the hotel has no control over is other guests. I felt very unsafe in the elevator with drunk men who had been at the casino or some car show. They were overly friendly and inappropriate and I am not sure if the hotel has security cameras. I did not feel safe on my own around these kinds of people and was very relieved to get to my room without incident.
The other problem with fellow guests, however, could have been handled better by staff. Guests near my parents' room were so incredibly loud that every word could be heard in their room. It was unbelievable. When we complained, we were told they wouldn't do anything about it unless it got worse. Requests to speak to a manager were met with "they're not on duty". The only option given was to *pay* to be upgraded to a different room. What kind of response is that? No sympathy, no attempt to speak to those guests. The problem was on us. However, upon calling back 10 minutes later when the noise levels reached the point where we knew my parents would not be able to sleep, a room magically appeared for them to change to and it was free of charge. This poor customer service is not acceptable and shows a real reluctance to help guests and address any issues proactively.
Did not eat at the hotel but was impressed to see some Asian options on the room service menu, and also things like kaya toast for breakfast.
The location is good. No complaints there.
Overall, I was underwhelmed with this hotel. If you do not require any assistance form staff and your fellow guests have manners, you will probably have no issues here. However, I feel that, coupled with the ageing decor and minimal customer service when really required, you could do better elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hopefully you won't have any issues with noise. If you do, put your foot down until staff do som...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bimdonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Bimdonesia,
Thankyou for your comments as we appreciate all positive and negative comments as this helps us focus on training requirements throughout out the hotel.
Your comments highlight a training need and I look forward to a much improved performance of our services in the future.
Thankyou once again for your comments and I look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel over the years under a couple of different names.

Recently over the weekend I stayed again with friends and what is great is as always the staff were good, I enjoyed drinks at the bar and the breakfast in the morning.

Unfortunately while these things have not changed neither has anything else, the room is very tired, furniture, beds, lighting all need to be updated. The pool area and other facilities have not a dollar spent on them but the outdoor spa is still nice to relax in.

It is a good location for quick stay but I would not pay more than $120 for a room, look out for a deal online, there are many hotels for the $ in the city that are nicer.

Room Tip: Look out for a special on this hotel. There are rooms with great views of the river, southbank and t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Ernie G,
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane.We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and are planning to return. Please know that we appreciate all comments as it helps us focus on areas of improvment at all times.
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on 4 occasions and seen it change from The Marque to the Rendezvous. The hotel is central to most things such as the Mall, South Bank markets and entertainment centre, conference centres and the like. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. The Reception staff are friendly and efficient. The restaurant leaves a little to be desired as does the 'In Room" dining. The hotel does have undercover parking for a small fee and pool, spa and gym facilities are good. Overall, a very pleasant three nights.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor rear overlooking the pool and spa. Our room was right beside the lift and t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#62 of 167 in Brisbane
1,567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal On The Park
Royal On The Park
#31 of 167 in Brisbane
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#55 of 167 in Brisbane
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Mantra Terrace Hotel
Mantra Terrace Hotel
#54 of 167 in Brisbane
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#64 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $66 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing