We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, room a little dated but comfortable, staff excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #67 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Jeddah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, room a little dated but comfortable, staff excellent”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here last minute because everywhere else seemed full, I was pleasantly suprised by the large room, super king sized bed and river views. Although a little dated (jacuzi bath on raised platform in the bedroom!) It was clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and efficient and the hotel offers all the failities you normally expect from 4 star places.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    587
    311
    124
    89
See reviews for
204
482
145
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here while on a business trip after a recommendation from a client. The location is great - right near the river and a short walk to the restaurants lining the river. The rooms are clean and spacious, the staff are attentive, polite and accommodating. We happened to arrive on the day that Brisbane CBD was expected to flood and the day after the remnants of a cyclone had passed through. Because of the flooding within the basement, the lifts unfortuantely were not operating which was a common issue in neighbouring hotels, however the staff were excellent in accommodating guests, carrying their bags (and children) up and down the 12 storeys. Their service couldn't have been more highly regarded by all guests staying within the hotel. Breakfast while limited was fresh and well cooked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiney_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruco, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the positive review, it was certainly a busy time, and I was extremely proud of the staff in their efforts to keep everyone happy. Some people will never be happy, and ignorant of whatever is going on externally , so the team will be delighted to see their efforts rewarded with your review.
We look forward to seeing you back in Brisbane .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked two rooms for two nights each. When we checked in the room was dirty and smelly. Furniture was ready for the tip.
Paint job was half done, scratched and stains everywhere.
No service lift so staff filled it with dirty laundry.
Rubbish bags outside the elevator.
With the room rate we paid we expected better. We checked out and lost our prepaid rooms, could not stay there. Spoke to front desk and was given a comment card.
Moved to a 2 bedroom apartment which is 5 star - and cheaper. Review for that room to follow - funny thing is it is the same company and one block away!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is in a good spot - close to shopping, a huge range of restaurants, and the Southbank theater precinct - our primary objective was to see a show there. The hotel itself is not the most modern in Brisbane, but everything worked and was clean. Our package included undercover parking and a hot buffet breakfast, but there are many other breakfast opportunities nearby. The in-house restaurant has a cafe feel - we were celebrating, so dined elsewhere. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast - there were plenty of options. The booking process (we booked by phone to ensure we had the right package), check-in and check-out were effective and efficient and the booking was confirmed by email promptly. We would certainly look at this hotel if we were overnighting at this end of Brisbane.

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the south side have a good view across the river - but at a slight price premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We needed something within our budget and close to the city for our week in qld house hunting. We booked this on wotif as a mystery deal and although we were worried about purchasing the deal without knowing where or what it was 1st – We were very very pleased with the result. The Best thing about this hotel, is the location!!! Situated right in the heart of the city – everything you need is in walking distance of only a few minutes eg to the Casino and Queen Street Mall for all your needs - dining/shopping/banking etc. and close to Botanical Gardens/Riverside, and Southbank. The room is of average size with all the amenities you need in a room. Yes, there are a few signs of the buildings' age, but the renovations have been well executed to make the rooms look a little more modern while still offering the basic needs of a bed / shower at the end of a long day. We were quite happy with the speed of the complimentary internet and the mini bar had a reasonable range and pricing was pretty good but if your like us and don't like to touch the mini bar, there's a convenience store right next door so it was easy enough to get snacks outside of the hotel.
The restaurant food is very nice and the price is reasonable – (you can also get the same menu via room service but we were put off with the $7 tray fee so dined downstairs). Bar staff are very friendly and the table service was excellent and again you have many other options within walking distance in queen st mall.... ( We don’t recommend going to the casino for their buffet – very limited selection and not worth the price at all - very disappointed!)
For morning coffee lovers like me , they also have a barista trolley that operates in the open front window during breakfast, which caters for guests and passers by – yes the coffee is good!
Michelle who served me the 2nd morning of our stay, remembered our coffee order each morning which made us feel more than just guests.
For the price you pay this is a great hotel and the staff are very friendly & helpful at all times – i wish to extend a BIG thankyou to Blake at the front desk and Michelle who went beyond their duty to make us feel at home. They always had time for a conversation about our life in general and they would always wish us luck everyday in our search for a new home and always asked how we went at the end of the day. Thank you guys for making us feel more like ‘at home’ than just another guest in your hotel for the week.
Only thing I wasn't impressed with was the $20 a night parking fee in the hotels car park – oh and don’t bring a big car, the spaces and ramps are narrow and very tight.
Overall - We have NO hesitation in recommending Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane on George to anybody that wants a warm, friendly place to stay - right in the heart of Brisbane City.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marnik7477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruco, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your supportive comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here at Rendezvous Studio Hotel Brisbane, and I am pleased to advise that we have just been awarded a 4 Star rating with AAA Tourism based on the work we have been doing to upgrade the rooms and service quality levels. Its a competitive market out there and the team here do get a thrill out of positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you're looking for a no frills, clean and comfortable place to lay your head in the City centre, then this place is perfect. Spacious room, particularly helpful reception staff, and a really great location. You can walk to either side of the river from the hotel, and the huge shopping mall is also very close. We didn't eat there as there's so many places nearby. On site parking is also a bonus. Depending on what you want, this is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front, preferably high up, as you get a nice view of the wheel and river lights at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Public Relations Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
We appreciate your positive comments regarding the room, parking and our reception staff following your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future stay in Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Arrived at the hotel early didn't even check in after seeing the grotty restaurant and pool that looked more Appropriate at a run down caravan park. Floating food stuffs, half filled, brown slime stains looked like a serious health hazard. Wouldn't dip my big toe in if you paid me.

The spa had cheap mouldy felt carpet pealing up and raise as trip hazard. Out of order signs, step up ladder, hose strewn all over the floor, dirty water

Archaic furniture step up ladder to spa like some broken sub par backpackers.

Dated rooms, restaurant

Rude and unavailable management one only has to review the other accurate and less than complimentary reviews on here to see the rude and aggressive comments by management.

Foam mattresses, flooding bathrooms, dirty towels, forgotten wake up calls thank god after seeing the poorly presented common areas I decided to do what other reviewers have said and walk away.

Management didn't even adhere to there own cancellation policy threatening to charge full price when they resold the room for the 2 nights

Get real remove the 3.5 star rating and lift your game you're an embarrassment to the hotel industry and the beautiful city of Brisbane

Do not stay here!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelallthetime21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Great Southern Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
I would like it known that this reviewer did not stay at the hotel , , and after arriving at about 7.30am, suggested they go to the pool area, to spend some time before our normal check in of 2pm. The floating "food stuffs" were in fact five biscuits that were floating there as the pool was yet to be cleaned for that day. (there had been a pool deck party the evening before , so that would explain the the reason) It was properly cleaned once the cleaning staff started that day as it is every day)
All the other comments have been put together to make it look like the reviewer stayed here. They didnt and obviously decided to stay elsewhere and then were upset when a non refundable payment , as per their booking with AGODA was disputed.
We have been made out to be at fault, and this review is false and misleading .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#61 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#65 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Property: Great Southern Hotel
Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#60 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing