We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Southern Hotel
Ranked #65 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Canberra
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Basic hotel but comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Don't expect too much luxury but the rooms were a good size, bed comfortable, and location excellent. The rooms are in need of a refurbishment. There is a restaurant but we didn't eat in.
But sometimes it is the small things that make for a good experience, like a clean glass and mug each day. After three days the glass was getting scungy. Every other hotel, they washed or replaced any used glasses.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CanberraAussieMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    585
    307
    122
    85
See reviews for
201
479
144
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The room looked just like the one on the website! A rarity in this day and age. Room was clean and tidy, bed was very comfortable, good desk and nice comfy chair to relax in. Bathroom looked like it had just been refurbished.

Room Tip: Room 604 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Lovely Hotel with lovely staff & with great location, across from casino, great views of the river 5 minutes walk to the shops ,car park is good , room is large, very comfortable bed, very clean room with mini bar flat screen tv , bathroom is very clean a little small but has lovely fluffy towels & toiletries , would go back and stay here again cant wait for our next visit :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenkh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I arrived at 9.30pm and was upgraded to a King bed room on the 9th floor. I was very tired and couldnt wait for a long hot shower and bed. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Although the furniture is old it was very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was refurbished and had toiletries and big fluffy towels. I had an amazing view over the river and there was also a laser show ,lovely. I also found the reception staff friendly and very helpful. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: The higher the better, I loved my view from the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACTTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Best thing about this hotel is the location, smack bang right in the heart of the city and only a stone's throw from the city attractions, 200 metres to the Casino and the Queen Street Mall (dining/shopping/banking etc). For the price you pay this is a very good hotel and the staff are very friendly, helpful and you even get a choice of newspaper. The room is average size with all the amenities. Having stayed at the Mantra, Ibis and William George, I thoroughly recommed this hotel. The room service for breakfast/dining is a big expensive. Tuan S

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Considering other places prices this place is quite nice in a great location. Bathrooms have been renovating with the rooms "updated" and feel nice.

One irritation was having to pay for the internet at $15 per night. We ended up getting a "deal" for a $25 cooked buffet breakfast which was average. The cooked breakfast (non-buffet) was about $15 and looked much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louballs929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I booked this as the wotif mystery deal. I was glad to find out that the location of this hotel was perfect for my purpose of travel in Brisbane. I booked a queen size bed. When I checked in, the reception agent said I was in a twin bed room. I said, no, I booked a queen bed room. He then quickly changed my assigned room and gave me a nice room on the 10th floor with a view of the Brisbane river. The room was nice. They tried to sell me a business package saying it included a full breakfast and faster internet. I opted out of that and was quite happy with the speed of the complimentary internet and it was easy enough to get meals or snacks outside of the hotel since it is located close to the Queen street mall. I even walked to southbank for dinner. At night, the view was beautiful and I was lucky to be there while the Brisbane festival was on and get to see the light show from my room. As for the swimming pool, spa and gym, They were quite uninviting. I believe the pool was closed (maybe still too cold out), but the spa looked old and not inviting at all.. The gym area was very basic and once again not tempting.

Overall a good place to stay for a few nights, but the extra amenities were quite uninviting.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuzz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.4 mi away
George Williams Hotel
George Williams Hotel
#63 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Casino Towers
Oaks Casino Towers
#51 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on Mary
Mantra on Mary
#67 of 157 in Brisbane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Brisbane
Mercure Brisbane
#52 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Southern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Southern Hotel

Property: Great Southern Hotel
Address: 103 George Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4001, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Brisbane
#49 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#59 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Southern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Southern Hotel Brisbane (formerly Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George) offers a variety of fully refurbished standard and executive rooms in the heart of Brisbane's CBD (Central Business District). Each of our 99 rooms are equipped with air conditioning, a refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities, flat-screen TV's, an iPod dock and a work desk. Whether for business or leisure, you will appreciate having the best of Brisbane at your doorstep as we are a short walk from the exciting Treasury Casino, Brisbane City Hall, the Botanic Gardens, Queen Street Mall and Roma Street Parkland. Also, The Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Center, Suncorp Stadium and the Gabba are within easy reach of the hotel. Highlights at this hotel include 24-hour reception, an outdoor swimming pool, a rooftop terrace, small exercise room and secure parking is available at an additional cost. **Refurbishment will be taking place in the restaurant and lobby from Mid December 2016 to April 2017** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Southern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Marque Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing