We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great entertainment location in the heart of Brisbane” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queensland Performing Arts Centre

Queensland Performing Arts Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.04*
and up
Brisbane Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour
Ranked #7 of 338 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of Australia's best construction projects, this centre is home to a performing arts complex, an art gallery, a museum and a number of food outlets for all budgets.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great entertainment location in the heart of Brisbane”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I normally don't go to Southbank, but I did twice in my time, the first to see Kate Miller-Heidke and Ben Folds, and the other time last week to see Jersey Boys live. I forgot which theatre it was located in, must've been Lyric Theatre, and Jersey Boys was awesome even though I sat in the upper stalls right near the back clost to Craig Lowndes the motor-racing driver. Both times, the shows were good, the staff were helpful and the atmosphere was great. I like the shows to be a little greasy, on the working-class and rough side, but QPAC was alright! I would go back there again. It really is a venue for everybody.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    232
    43
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Regular visitor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great venues, easy accessibilty - rail, car and bus. Spacious foyer areas. Always something happening, free or no. Close to restaurants for a complete night out.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bytheleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Jersey Boys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Great venue, great dining variety for a 'dinner and show' night! Well organised place and staff fantastic!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carmungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I've been to QPAC twice since moving to Brisbane, most recently last night to see Bill Bailey. The seats are comfortable and well-arranged and moving in/out of the theatre is easy with wide doorways and hallways limiting bottlenecking.

There are a few places within the grounds to grab a bite, though they are expensive and the menus quite limited unless you have the time to visit the Lyrebird Restaurant. Picnic baskets with blankets are available from a small stall and seem like a charming idea if you remember to pre-purchase ($33 for 2 people or $45 for a family of 4). There are plenty of bars to choose from and getting a drink inside is not difficult, especially with the option to pre-order drinks for interval. It's unfortunate that you can't take in food or drink like you can at the State Theatre in Sydney though.

The location is great and lends itself to a lovely post-show walk along the river looking at the city lights. There is a train station and bus stops nearby as well as ample parking.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank edenholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Performing Arts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very easy to get to, close to the ferry and Southbank and also to the Museum, bus station is also along side the arts centre very easy to get to West End from here and if your lucky to a ticket to one of the shows.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank LDK1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queensland Performing Arts Centre also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Queensland Performing Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing