We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hall

City Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
$106.53*
and up
Brisbane City Tour and River Cruise from the Gold Coast
Ranked #14 of 339 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Brisbane's most famous landmark features the circular Concert Hall, a world-famous grand piano organ and a majestic view from the clock tower.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
254 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Coming from the US most city halls are fairly nondescript. When we happened upon Brisbane's recently restored building we were awestruck. It looks more like the old courthouses from the 1920's. We were invited to view the building at our leisure, would have been ideal if tours were available - but didn't really matter. Worth a stop while visiting the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    283
    64
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“She's Back!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Being a Brisbane girl, I SHOULD visit our landmarks much more regularly. The painstaking restoration of City Hall has certainly paid off! Amazingly every small detail from the light fittings to the clock tower has been restored. If you choose to take a tour of the clock tower, get there at 10am as bookings are taken only on the day and they fill up very fast. Visit Shingle Inn - another of Brisbane's treasures - while you're there. The Museum of Brisbane is certainly worth visiting and we found the Expo 88 exhibit very entertaining. The only disappointment that most chambers were closed to the public.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3068Snow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just re furbished ?”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It always was rather special BUT now with the renovations done it should be a must see . The ride in the lift to the tower was always fun and the view though not high, is worth the effort .

Helpful?
Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durack Qld
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“WOW this is great”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I visited here to-day as we were keen to see the newly restored building. We were really impressed. It is a really great old building and the marble stairs and the ceilings are terrific. We spent a long time in the Brisbane Museum on the third level and this is an excellent attraction. It is better then the Queensland Museum at Southbank ! We loved re visiting EXPO 88, and the film trip down the Brisbane River is brilliant.The 200 million dollars this job cost was money well spent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to spend time”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I visited the City Hall for the first time on the 22nd of May and I was impressed with its old-world charm and beauty. The Museum of Brisbane showed me a lot of the history of Brisbane through wonderful photographs. There are chairs everywhere so visitors can sit down and discuss photographs and artifacts if they want. It was also interesting to see the memorabilia from the 1988 Expo. I was fortunate to have the chance to visit the Clock Tower as there was a cancellation for the 1:00 pm tour and it was great. The auditorium was simply beautiful. The attendants and the tour guides were all very friendly. There was a Shingle Inn within the building, which is a bonus if you want to enjoy a nice cuppa and something light to eat. Highly recommended for all age groups.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Hall also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to City Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing