We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.89*
and up
Brisbane City Sights Southbank Day Trip from Gold Coast
Ranked #7 of 340 things to do in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An oasis for wildlife, the Gardens feature 52 hectares of plants from Australia and all around the world. Horticultural and art and craft shows are displayed in the Auditorium most weekends and free volunteer guided walks leave the Information Centre, Monday to Saturday (except public holidays) at 11 am and 1 pm. Alternatively you may like to explore the Gardens via one, or all, of the three self-guided trails available.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I am hesitant to post a rave review for the botanic gardens as I'm afraid more people will visit and spoil it's natural beauty.

Most people go to Mt Cootha to go up to the Summit and gaze upon the view. However, those who bypass the botanic gardens are truly missing out on a wonderful experience.

The gardens are segmented into different sections to suit people of all interests and has many locations for a picnic.

So definitely do not miss the gardens if you are in the area. Personally, I include it in any itinerary for those visiting Brisbane.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vascariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    937
    613
    95
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Botanic Beauty on my Doorstep!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My partner and I visited these beautiful gardens today and found ourselves questioning why on earth we've taken so long to do so - seen as we live just a 5minute drive away!
There's much to offer picnickers, garden lovers, botanical buffs, families, couples, singles and groups of friends of all ages.
We loved the Planetarium, the Rainforest and Japanese Gardens and were astounded as to how much there was to explore and experience on our doorstep. And...what makes it even better is that it's all FREE!
Regular Exhibitions are held in the grounds too - usually at a small entrance fee and Volunteers conduct regular guided tours of the gardens twice per day. There's also a Restaurant/Café overlooking the pond if you fancy a coffee & cake (very overpriced though).
We'll definitely be going back there again soon; picnic blanket and packed lunch in tow!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had lunch at the cafe overlooking the gardens and after purchasing ice creams, headed on over to the Botanical Gardens. The gardens are easy to walk around, great access and even though there were many people in the gardens, in most of the nooks it seems like your in your own private getaway. It was well worth the walk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenflipcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The botanic gardens were beautiful and full of interesting flowers, trees, birds and animals. Around each corner there was something fascinating. It's easy to spend the day walking around the gardens taking pictures. A camera is a must have when you visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were on a road trip in Brisbane and drove up to Mt Cootha. Visited the Botanic Gardens. Huge place, easy to get lost. Get a map and can be really hot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sabkhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha also viewed

 
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Brisbane Botanic Gardens Mt. Coot-tha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing