We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More suited to business, quality hotel, good service, no atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More suited to business, quality hotel, good service, no atmosphere”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked this hotel early for Riverfire due to it's location and have stayed there before

As expected from a Hotel of this calibre the staff were helpful and courteous, the rooms were clean and very comfortable with high quality fittings and a very comfortable bed. The rooms are quiet.

This would be an ideal venue for business or if you need a prime city location. On the other side the hotel itself lacks atmosphere, the fittings and furniture are benign and the entry has no feeling of grandeur that you would expect from an establishment like this. The entry feels more like a back entry. Frankly the hotel is about as exciting as a trip to the Post Office

Prices are extremely high, we got a "special deal" for $325.00 odd per night. In addition parking was $60.00 a night, a bottle of water was $6.50 and internet access was charged when you would expect this to be provided in such a highly priced establishment. There was no breakfast included either and t for he prices charged in the minibar the items should be kept in the safe.

If you don't mind paying the price it is a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    522
    171
    54
    36
See reviews for
264
538
105
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great for me to be near the CBD and have a river view also. Rooms fine for business trip. Didnt eat in the hotel so can't vouch for the food. Have a coffee in ground floor bar, drinks OK but service was slow. Exec lounge not amazing but OK for breakfast and is open late although not always staffed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Brisbane Marriott for 1 night on a WOTIF mystery deal. Upon arrival we arranged parking with concierge ($50 per night valet) and went and checked in. We were early but to our surprise our room was ready and we were able to check in. We were given room 614 which had an outlook over Riverside and across the river itself which was nice. The decor of the room is quite dated and looks quite old school. That said, there is nothing wrong with the furniture and is fully operational. The bed was lovely and the pillows were great. Nice bathroom with all the usual amenities though I was surprised that there was only one toothbrush! 

Here is my only criticism. When we returned from our evening out we ordered an ice cream sundae each. What arrived at our room was the most pathetic excuse for an Ice cream sundae I have ever had. Two small scoops of ice cream with some cream and a semi-brown half strawberry in a tiny shallow bowl! Hmmmmm not good at all. A bit disappointing actually.

Check out in the morning was indeed quick and efficient. So the question to be asked......would I stay again? I would........only if a decent Sundae was on the menu! I can help here if lessons are needed! 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathaen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Nathaen M – Congratulations on booking our Hotel on the Wotif mystery deal. I’m delighted that we were able to accommodate your early checkin and that you enjoyed your river view room. Of course, I was most concerned to learn of the less than satisfactory icecream sundae you were presented with. I do apologise sincerely that we let you down and I hope the answer to your question is ‘yes’ so that we may have the opportunity to wow you with a truly delicious icecream sundae when next you stay.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and the staff where super friendly, helpful and the hotel was just amazing.
I arrived early morning (at approx 6.30am) and after speaking with check in staff was able to be checked in early which was a god send after an overnight flight from Perth (I did have to go from a riverview to a cityview room but to me the view was not important as was not planning on spending a great deal of time in the room)
The rooms where quite spacious and elegantly decorated.
The hotel is easy walking distance to restaurants and nightlife of Fortitude Valley, approx 10-15min walk to Queen Street mall and about 30mins walk over to Southbank.
We absolutely loved our stay and will definitely stay at the Brisbane Marriott again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misscongenialitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Misscongenialitty – Thankyou for your wonderful comments regarding our staff. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and the team will be truly happy to see that they so positively impacted your stay. I am also delighted that you enjoyed our location with its great close access to both the City and Valley precincts. We greatly appreciate your compliments and look forward to welcoming you and your partner on a future visit East!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Marriott Brisbane was a comfortable stay for 4 nights in August. Although not in the heart of the city, I preferred the fact that it was a little quieter and away from the "hustle and bustle". Check-in was a little delayed for some reason, I didn't get into my room until a few hours after I should've - but the bar, it's friendly staff and it's great pizza's helped pass some time.

If you are looking to stay somewhere to really get the feel of central Brisbane, this may be a bit too far from the "action". But for me, after many trips to Brisbane it was nice to be slightly removed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is typically Brisbane - average in every way, whilst charging world class prices.

$25 for a tasteless, burnt burger, $19 for a movie. $50 FOR PARKING FOR ONE NIGHT!!!

The bed was comfy, the shower was nice. But the curtains do not block out enough light and there were no robes provided. The towels are also old and on the small side. Overall there is nothing wrong with the rooms, it was a uneventful stay.

If you're expecting something special or celebrating an occasion, you can probably do better. If you just need somewhere to sleep (and not park), this hotel will do just fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrySmiling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Plow9 – It goes without saying that I am terribly sorry to learn that your stay was not in line with the type of experience we take such pride in delivering. In relation to our parking fee, I do wish to advise you and Trip Advisor readers that it is the least expensive of our competitors and a point of difference for our Hotel is that we also provide secure, valet parking. We also endeavour to be very transparent about the charge which is clearly outlined in booking confirmations. Your feedback regarding other aspects of our service will be shared with the team. Once again, my apologies for the disappointment you experienced. We value all feedback as it assists us to monitor our performance and ensure we take corrective measures where necessary. I do hope you will return in the future to allow us the opportunity to show that we are capable of exceeding your expectations in all areas.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

As a previous reviewer put it "prepare to be underwhelmed". The Marriott is a very average 5 star hotel. The staff are pleasant, the service is reasonable, the views are nice and the ambience is fine, but there is absolutely nothing about the hotel to set it apart from any other 4-5 star hotel. When we asked for fresh milk for our tea, instead of the UHT provided, we were charged for it. The absolute minimum number of tea bags is provided. Toiletries are relaxed erratically. And so on.
The lobby is tiny, the rooms are on the small side and the room decor is unexceptional. The hotel just seems to be coasting along on its name and not making any special effort to differentiate itself or to develop any customer loyalty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possumpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Property: Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Address: 515 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane Qld hotels, offering guests the opportunity to relax in a heated outdoor pool and dine at an award-winning Dome Spa Retreat - which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, our Brisbane hotel's chic restaurant, is perfect for casual dining with its open-kitchen and outside seating. Our luxurious and stylish guest rooms feature elegant appointments and 5-star amenities. Brisbane Marriott Hotel specializes in hosting weddings, social events, and business meetings. We're situated near a wide range of Brisbane attractions, including King George Square, Queen Street Mall, and St. Lucia. Whether you're visiting Brisbane for business or leisure, Brisbane Marriott Hotel looks forward to providing you with luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing