We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Last Night in Australia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Ranked #25 of 166 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Last Night in Australia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We only spent one night, but the impression was very good! The staff was so friendly and helpful, with everything from our bags (we had a lot!) to a map for walking around the area. We loved the location as you could walk to so many things, the riverfront, shopping, the cathedral, and a myriad of restaurants and coffee shops. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    413
    141
    51
    29
See reviews for
194
408
90
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed in lots of Marriotts so although this one has good views of the river and the staff were all very helpful and friendly, walking to and from means going through a very busy strange intersection and friends who drove to meet us, got very frustrated driving around, trying to pick us up at the car entry of the hotel. The beds and breakfast and the staff though we couldn't fault and had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Check out what you need to do with your car before you arrive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terriw w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed here for about 20 nights earlier this summer. It has a great location near the river which makes it very convenient for running along the riverfront sidewalk as well as walking to nearby restaurants and nightlife. I would, however, suggest heading over to nearby Chinatown for cheaper meals than the more expensive riverfront restaurants. The service at the hotel was great. After just a few nights they remembered my name and were always helpful with my questions. The rooms are very large and have decent views, unfortunately mine wasn't of the river. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable. The best part was the breakfast buffet. Tons of great food, friendly service and made to order omelette s. I would suggest the salmon omelette! I think I gained weigh just from eating the large breakfast every morning. The covered pool and jacuzzi on the fourth floor has great views as well. The best way to work off the breakfast is running up the stairs (there are actually 33 from basement to roof door). I think I have the current record at 3:50... But it took me three tries!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Glen M – Thankyou for this comprehensive review of our Hotel and surrounds. It’s great to hear such accolades from one of our long stay guests and I appreciate you highlighting our service and amenities. Hopefully, you’ll get to enjoy one of our fantastic river views on your next visit and here’s to beating your own world record on the next stair run. Come back soon - our fantastic breakfast buffet and Salmon omelettes await!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff were very courteous and made our stay very enjoyable. We were offered some sparkling which was a great way to start our girls weekend. We had come down for the Pink Concert and the overall experience was fantastic! The hotel is conveniently located between Chinatown and Queen Street Mall and the room was very spacious. The beds were really comfortable - only downside was that I couldn't get a "u" shape pillow but apart from that, the service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The look and feel of this hotel is old, seriously outdated and poor.

The bed was comfortable.... once I managed to find a sink hole that fit my figure.

The bathroom was decent, and had all the would be required.

HOWEVER..

This hotel has the single worst elevators in the world! It is an embarrassment to modern society. It took me 20 minutes to get down from the 8th floor to check out the morning of my stay.

Myself along with a large group were delayed for an important event for the pure fact that the elevators couldn't handle the simple task of moving humans.

A stab in the eye would be less painful.

Leave yourself 15 minutes to get downstairs if you're in a rush.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oweninnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear oweninnes – I do wish to firstly apologise for the inconvenience you and your party experienced. Unfortunately, during the period of your checkout, we had a lift out of service which has now been fully rectified. Nevertheless, I absolutely appreciate only too well the frustration you and experienced and again apologise most sincerely. I also acknowledge your comments regarding the hotel’s appointments and I am sorry you were disappointed. Of course, we’d love to be brand new all the time and while our entire Lobby Level has only recently been renovated with great success, we are currently in transition in relation to some areas of the hotel, with a major refurbishment in the planning. I sincerely hope you may return in the future to allow us the opportunity to show that we are capable of exceeding your expectations in all areas.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location is very nice - close to the Cathedral and the river and downtown area.
The rooms were basic, but with good city views. We had a major problem with the mattress (but it's a matter of personal preference), it was way too soft and we woke up with a back ache every morning.
The service was courteous, a bit slow at times, but responsive. Excellent concierge, who was very thoughtful and helpful in making recommendations on things to do and places to see. The hotel provided a car service, which charged about the same as local taxis did, but was far more comfortable.
The room service food was quite okay and delivered promptly within 30 minutes.
We were able to get a 3 hour extension for a late check out by paying an extra $50.
Overall good hotel... a bit on the expensive side for what it offers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanwalkwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Car parking was easy and reasonably quick. Friendly staff allowed for early check in as we were arriving from out of Brisbane. Very close to church and reception venue as well as last minute shopping rush into the city.
Room was delightful with enough room and good city views. The downstairs bar was well utilised prior to the wedding and after.
Breakfast was more than anyone could possible need or want. Only slight criticism was it got quite congestered around the serving area at times.
Bar and wait staff were extremely friendly and efficient.
It was a great experience and the made the wedding occasion quite memorable.
Highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: Level 19 provided excellent views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarcyIpswich1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear DarcyIpswich1956 – We’re thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and facilities and greatly appreciate your kind comments. While I note you were very satisfied with our buffet breakfast in Motion Bar & Grill, I also sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback regarding the serving area and we have taken that on board. Thankyou so much for taking the time to share your experience and I do hope you may have occasion to treat yourselves again soon.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#18 of 166 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 stars 1,425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#1 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#17 of 166 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 3,507 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Adelaide Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Property: Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Address: 515 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stylish architecture, elegant spaces and attentive staff, Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane, Australia hotels. Discover impressive guest rooms, suites and Executive Level rooms capturing stunning views of the city skyline or the Brisbane River during your stay with us. From the elegant guest room decor to marble bathrooms and luxury bedding to wireless Internet connectivity, our hotel accommodation in Brisbane offers cutting-edge comfort. Relax in the pool or at the award-winning Dome Spa Retreat, which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, the hotel's stylish restaurant, offers casual dining with an open-kitchen and outside seating is available on M Deck with Brisbane River views and the upmarket ambience of M Bar. The Brisbane Marriott hotel specializes in weddings, social events and business meetings, with 720 square metres of flexible meeting and event space accented by natural light and river views, imaginative catering, and a full-service business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing