We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word, stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Ranked #24 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalow via Byron Bay
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“one word, stunning”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

the brisbane marriott is in a class of its own. the marble-clad foyeur would blow anyone's mind. crispy apples on the counter while you're waiting for checkin? really cute touch. rooms are comfy, uber comfy beds, and the best pillows. great restaurant, a bit pricey, but the buffet breakfast has a great selection. location is inner-cbd so very handy, we've stayed a few times and would highly recommend it. the staff are very responsive and friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummerHillsRetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    522
    171
    54
    36
See reviews for
264
538
105
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not a very exciting review, but not a very exciting hotel either. The room was fine, if the decor a little dated (in terms of style; it wasn't in bad shape), and it was big enough. The bathroom was pretty good and there was plenty of hot water when needed. The staff were reasonably friendly and helpful, but I had to queue a bit on both arrival and departure and it feels like they need to have more than two people on reception sometimes. Breakfast was adequate. I can't really comment on the pricing as all the hotels in Brisbane put their prices up for the Lions game weekend, but it was at least less unreasonable than some! Finally, one plus is the hotel's location on the riverside with only a 5 or 10 min walk to some very nice restaurants. So, overall, I can't say anything very bad about it but I would likely chose another hotel next time I'm in Brisbane in the hope of something a bit more special.

Room Tip: I had a rather dull view but there must be quite nice views over the river so I would ask for that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aegidius1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I just got back from a 10 day trip to Australia with my family and this was the first hotel we checked into on our arrival at Brisbane. The staff was more than accommodating and provided excellent service. Since my flight arrived early in the morning, I was ready to check-in around 7:30am in the morning, but that was no problem at this marriott. Since I already put in a early check-in request they were expecting my arrival and were ready to check us in. We truly appreciated this after a 16 hour flight from the US.

Everyone we interacted with was very courteous, friendly and professional. Marriott is one of my favorite brand of hotels and I always walk away thinking of the pleasant stay I just had and looking for the next opportunity to stay in their property again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Ka V – I’m thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that your first impressions were so positive. Whenever possible, we do our utmost to accommodate early arrivals, particularly for those guests coming in from a long international flight and I’m glad we were able to assist you on this occasion. Thankyou so much for your five star rating and review. I hope you may find an opportunity to visit us again on a future trip to Brisbane.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

After arriving on a public holiday, I was welcomed with very warm greetings and exceptional manners by all staff concerned. What is amazing is the exceptional level of integrity of all the front of house staff whom i can only imagine put up with all sorts of travellers, business and corporate clients.
The only downside was no champagne to my liking on the Room Service list, however, the upside was no challenge to my request and a quick trip to the bar to choose my bottle of champagne and a quick delivery to the room. Well done!!
Tip these people for they work very hard.
Marriot must receive a big tick for the training and culture they inspire in their people as well as the core management of the Brisbane Marriot.
I will be back to this great hotel in the perfect location - close to Mall and Brisbane River.

Room Tip: I didnt request any room type. However, pleasantly surpised to have a bulls eye view of the river. H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Euroboy62 – I am delighted to hear that your stay with us was such an enjoyable experience and I thank you for your kind words about the level of service you encountered throughout the Hotel. While I know we have a dedicated team who are proud to deliver the Marriott brand of service, it’s always wonderful for me to hear just how well they take care of our guests, often exceeding expectations. I’m glad we were able to ultimately assist with your Champagne request and we will be sure to include more variety when we next review our Room Service list. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel is at the top of Queen Street and a short walk down to the Shops and Cultural area by Southbank. Very pleasant and welcoming staff at the lobby and on check in. Concierge very helpful with directions and on a previous stay, quickly arranged a car for me to drive down to the Gold Coast for the day. The Restaurant staff are friendly and informative, the food well cooked, although the timing of the pre dinner drinks and the arrival of the main course was a bit out of sync. The buffet breakfast had a fair range of hot options, including pork steamed buns which we love. The alcove of fridges stocked all sorts of fresh fruit displayed in appealing glassware together with a variety of juices. Our room was not large, but big enough and had a view of both the city and the river - on previous trips we've had a room with either one, so to have both this time was a bonus...I would ask for this one again. We have stayed here many times, and look forward to our next one soon.

Room Tip: A room facing toward Southbank, looking down Queen street is best, so you get a view of the river an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Lee S – Thankyou so much for posting such an informative and thoughtful review. It’s particularly heartening to hear such positive feedback from a regular guest. And great to hear you enjoyed the fantastic river/city view from your room – to assist with future room requests, we refer to this as our ‘Kangaroo Point’ view. I do also note that we were out of sync with your dinner orders and I have shared this feedback with the restaurant team. Thankyou again for taking the time to review our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
102 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Although I live in Brisbane, spent a night here for my partners birthday.
The room was booked super-last minute through wotif for a great price. Unfotunately our preferred room configuration was not available, so we had a room with 2 x double beds.
Given the great price for the room and last mintute booking, this was no problem.
Check in was friendly and very speedy. Public areas of the hotel are very nice ineed.
The room itself itselt was great. Plenty of space, a desk, a well stocked mini bar and decent size TV. We had a "city view" room, which looks out toward Adelaide St, no traffic or outside noise to speak of. The bathroom is also nice with a very good sized shower and good quality products in there.
While not included with the room rate, we had breakfast in the hotel ($35 per person). I've had a lot of hotel buffets in my time and this is right up there with the best of them. Was very well stocked with every breakfast food and drink imagineable.
After breakfast back to the room, to pack up, then check out. Which was also friendly and efficient.
If your looking for a centrally located hotel in Brisbane, then I would certainly check out the Marriot, we had a very pleasant stay indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Brisboy77 – I’m delighted you enjoyed your special occasion stay with us and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to highlight so many aspects of our service and facilities. It’s also fantastic to hear from a connoisseur of breakfast buffets that you were so impressed with our offerings in Motion Bar & Grill! Our kitchen brigade and Motion Bar & Grill team will be thrilled to read your comments. Thankyou for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay with us, or just for breakfast.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after we started our journey in Sidney.

Unfortunately the river was dark chocolate due to the heavy storms. Our room faced the river and was a pretty view of the bridge.

The hotel staff was very nice.

You must go to the Zoo. Beautiful koalas and have your picture taken. It was a wonderful time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Rebecca_Mike – Thankyou for your rating and review. I’m delighted you enjoyed our service and the view from your room of the Brisbane River and Story Bridge. Of course, no visit to Australia is complete without taking the opportunity to hold a koala and I’m so pleased it was a wonderful experience for you. Hopefully, we can welcome you again should your travels bring you back this way.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#20 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#29 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,014 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#25 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 157 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Property: Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Address: 515 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane Qld hotels, offering guests the opportunity to relax in a heated outdoor pool and dine at an award-winning Dome Spa Retreat - which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, our Brisbane hotel's chic restaurant, is perfect for casual dining with its open-kitchen and outside seating. Our luxurious and stylish guest rooms feature elegant appointments and 5-star amenities. Brisbane Marriott Hotel specializes in hosting weddings, social events, and business meetings. We're situated near a wide range of Brisbane attractions, including King George Square, Queen Street Mall, and St. Lucia. Whether you're visiting Brisbane for business or leisure, Brisbane Marriott Hotel looks forward to providing you with luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing