We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice view of river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Brisbane Marriott Hotel
Ranked #26 of 169 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I read some reviews about this hotel. Initially, I was a little concern after reading some of the negative feedback. But I was wrong. My room was facing the river view and it was fabulous! No noise from the traffic. A short walk to the river bay and you can have a nice dinner there. The free wifi at the lobby helps, so was the complimentary drinks (2 in fact). The waitress (Vanessa) is very helpful and courteous; so are the rest. Though the hotel is old, it is well maintained. Except that bar fridge in the room does emit some noise when the thermostat kicks in. Personally, I find the pillow and mattress too soft to my liking. Overall, I must say that I am satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank booyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear booyk – I’m so glad you chose to stay with us. As with all businesses, occasionally not all goes 100% to plan. However, feedback from our guests is overwhelmingly positive that they enjoy wonderful stays with us and I’m delighted that was your experience. Vanessa in particular will be thrilled to note your kind comments. I have also taken on board your feedback regarding the mini bar fridge in your room. And please let us know the next time you book, your preference for a firmer mattress and pillows. Thankyou for your review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

On arriving at the hotel very early I was, at first, a little disappointed that my reservation was not immediately found...I had to provide my paperwork (this is first time this has ever happened to me!). The staff member explained that since I had made the reservation just the night before through the central reservation system that it had not transferred across to the hotel, she apologised and proceeded to efficiently check me in and offering an upgrade to a river view. I was very pleased with how this issue was resolved in a professional manner and appreciated the upgrade to a lovely room with a beautiful view over the Brisbane River.
The room was very large and tastefully furnished as was the bathroom with a separate walkin shower. The king bed was very comfortable with great pillows. Lovely simple touch (other hotels could learn to copy this!) was a complementary bottle of water. Being a Marriott Rewards member provided free WIFI in the room (not sure if otherwise there is a charge),
The public areas of the hotel are lovely with pleasant outdoor area overlooking the river. There is a lovely library area in the lobby where a coffee or drink can be enjoyed if the bar area is too busy. The lobby area is bright and open with some beautiful art works.
Had dinner in the restaurant, Miotion Bar and Grill where the service was excellent. The menu had good variety and well priced...we explained that we (a party of 7!!) were off to the Ballet so time was of the essence and the waiter, Bailey, assured this would not be a problem. We all enjoyed our meals and were particularly impressed by Bailey`s service...and we were pleasantly surprised when we returned for coffee at the end of our evening to find him to our waiter again!
My room rate included buffet breakfast...could not do it justice...so much choice both cold and hot food in abundance with the offer to also have specially prepared dishes...I enjoyed the blueberry pancakes.
Definitely would return to this hotel, especially if a similar great rate with breakfast included was available. The hotel has a great location with easy access to the riverside walk and only a short walk to the main shopping strip, yet away from the noise!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozsavvytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear ozsavvytraveller – It’s wonderful to hear that our Front Office team so ably assisted in resolving the matter of your reservation to your complete satisfaction and that you were similarly impressed with our service throughout your stay. Bailey, your waiter in Motion Bar & Grill, is a star and will be delighted to know that his level of service so positively impacted your and your party’s pre and post-ballet experience. Our main Lobby, including our restaurant, Motion Bar & Grill, has only recently been renovated and it’s great to hear your feedback on the ambience, library and artwork on display as well as our innovative and abundant breakfast buffet. Complimentary WiFi in our guest rooms is a benefit for our Marriott Rewards members only. For our Trip Advisor readers’ information, membership is free and details on how to join are available on our website. Thankyou sincerely for taking the time to share your experience. Please check our website for some great breakfast included accommodation packages as we would be delighted to welcome you on a future visit. Blueberry pancakes await!

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just stayed a couple of nights at the Marriott in Brisbane. Arriving at the hotel was easy, coming from the airport, 20min drive. I had a room at the 24th floor. Magnificent view of the Story Bridge and the river. Internet was fast, specially if you need it for work. I had most of my meals at the restaurant in the ground floor. Every meal was a beautiful surprise. 2 things to die for: the chips and the profiteroles. One thing to do if you like going for walks, is to go to the river side, just 20meters down the stairs. Perfect place for a sunrise walk or run. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear maurorisch – We love your title for us ‘elegantly welcoming’! First impressions set the tone for a great Hotel stay and it’s wonderful to learn that we carried through. Thankyou for highlighting our great location, fantastic views and high speed internet. The Motion Bar & Grill team and Kitchen brigade in particular will be very happy to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you on a future stay.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a nice hotel with a nice view.
the rates are fairly reasonable, and the food variety is good.
Lots of good wines and champagne can help you run up a large bill in a hurry.
i thought the waiters, concierge, valet, front desk were extremely friendly.
will return soon

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank underground_miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear underground_miner – Thankyou for taking the time to review our Hotel. The team will be thrilled to know you were so impressed with their friendly service and I’m also delighted you enjoyed our food variety and excellent wine selection. Come back again soon.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a superb experience at the Brisbane Marriott. Staff was friendly and helpful. Relocated me to a quieter room with no fuss or bother. Executive lounge had wonderful food, beverages, and service. The pool (sort of indoor/outdoor) was stunning and refreshing before and after work. Concierge service efficient with getting transportation. Will return regularly and not bother looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silke805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear silke805 - It’s so rewarding for me and the team to read such a positive review of our service, facilities and food & beverage offerings. I’m delighted to note that you particularly enjoyed our pool deck with its indoor/outdoor aspect and great views of both the city and river. Thankyou for your review and we look forward to your regular returns.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice place. Well everything is so lovely, from the lobby and bar area to the beds and shower.
Best place we found for our stay in Brisbane with the whole family.

I definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Paul H – I’m so pleased you and your family found everything to your satisfaction. Thankyou so much for taking the time to provide a review and we hope to welcome you back to our Hotel when you are next travelling this way.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Mariott for the 1st time and I was impressed!! Soft white beds, fantastic views, amazing buffet breakfast and great service. There was one little mistake made that surrounded my wedding proposal but the Marriott more than made up for it!!!! I recommend this hotel to anyone! I know that I will be coming back here again and again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kjfurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, General Manager at Brisbane Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Kjfurl – It’s fantastic to hear that we so impressed you with our service and facilities on your first stay with us. And also that we were able to make amends to your satisfaction for the slight error you experienced. Thankyou sincerely for your recommendation and rating. We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind regards
James Ferguson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Brisbane
Hilton Brisbane
#22 of 169 in Brisbane
2,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Sofitel Brisbane Central
#31 of 169 in Brisbane
4,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
#28 of 169 in Brisbane
2,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Adelaide Street, Brisbane
0.9 mi away
Emporium Hotel
Emporium Hotel
#2 of 169 in Brisbane
1,206 reviews
0.3 mi away
The New Inchcolm Hotel & Suites Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisbane Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Address: 515 Queen St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $135 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Brisbane Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane Marriott Hotel is one of the premier Brisbane Qld hotels, offering guests the opportunity to relax in a heated outdoor pool and dine at an award-winning Dome Spa Retreat - which provides hours of blissful distraction. Motion Bar & Grill, our Brisbane hotel's chic restaurant, is perfect for casual dining with its open-kitchen and outside seating. Our luxurious and stylish guest rooms feature elegant appointments and 5-star amenities. Brisbane Marriott Hotel specializes in hosting weddings, social events, and business meetings. We're situated near a wide range of Brisbane attractions, including King George Square, Queen Street Mall, and St. Lucia. Whether you're visiting Brisbane for business or leisure, Brisbane Marriott Hotel looks forward to providing you with luxury and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brisbane Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brisbane
Brisbane Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing