We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #36 of 168 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Room was very clean, and location of the hotel is very convenient, right at the Brisbane Transit Centre.

Nearby there's convenience stores, lots of places to eat, and walking distance to many places of interest and shopping area within Brisbane CBD.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyK309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

847 - 853 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is located right next to the train line. 1km or less from the city centre. The room on the 10th floor we stayed in was very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. The carpark is easily accessible.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank JLB-Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We booked a "Mystery Getaway" with Virgin and found out on Thursday we were going to Brisbane and staying at Traders, so the first thing both my husband and I do is to check Trip Advisor. We read all the reviews, lots of varying opinions but it was our 10th Wedding anniversary, no kids or Grandkids, time away, we'd go in with an open mind.

My husband requested a room "high up on the city side" so we got room 1206 and wow! I did not hear a single train, we commented more on the fact that the ambulances were making all the noise.

Staff were all friendly, smiling and helpful, we were able to check in early and go up to our room before the allotted time, or we could leave our bags in the lockable storage area (we did that today at the 11am check out and went to the shops while we waited for our 1.30pm bus pick up)

Room was fresh, bathroom spotless, soap replenished. The toilet seat was broken on one hinge, and we probably needed another pillow, but if thats all we can complain about, thats nothing.

Location is great, we were able to walk everywhere and racked up quite a few kilometres.

Buffet breakfast was hot, fresh and lots of choice, several types of eggs, I didn't like the scrambled eggs, so I ate the rest and left them. Bacon, hash browns, mushrooms, baked beans, chicken sausages, lots of breads for toasting, croissants, muffins sweet and savoury, coffee machine, or boiled water to make coffee, pancake machine, juicer to make your own freshly squeezed juice and also orange and apple juice already made, lots of cereals to choose from, and fresh fruits and yoghurts. Plus a little steamer area with asian dim sum and other bits n pieces. Newspaper daily to read with breakfast, staff whisked away used plates before you knew it.

MJ's Restaurant- had dinner there on our second night,
Entree- meatballs with chilli dipping sauce and pork steamed buns
Main- I had the turkey club sandwich with chips and my husband had the hamburger (bar meals) we were the only ones there for a while, watched the sun set and the bats fly over. The food was quickly delivered and steaming hot, I loved all the choices we had, we shared both entree and mains. The only complaint my husband had was beer choice, they had run out of Carlton Draught and VB on tap. He just tried a different brand.

Bottom line is, you can make a molehill into a mountain if you choose to, or you can make the most of your time away. We had a great weekend, thank you to Traders Staff and Virgin mystery tours.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kimmykitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I wasn't expecting such an unexpectedly pleasant experience. Modern interior design, fresh and clean. Well appointed room. Although it was a very short stay and I didn't get an opportunity to experience the restaurant, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The hotel is located next to a train station and railway lines with the noise of trains all night and view over looking train yard. You cannot open the windows for fresh air and an alarm went off at 2.30am that we did not set.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Karen P,


Thank you for selecting Traders Hotel for your stay while in Brisbane, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. I would like to extend my apologies for any disappointments you may have experienced.

We are in the process of improving acoustics in the bedrooms with new innovative soundproofing curtains, which will decrease external noise.

I must sincerely apologise for the alarm disturbing you during the night, this has been addressed and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Traders Hotel Brisbane in the future so we can restore your confidence in Traders Hotel Brisbane.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on claire.huang@tradershotels.com

Yours Sincerely

Claire Huang
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stay here frequently during business trips to Brisbane.
Comfortable and ideal location for my office.
Railway station next door can be annoying if you are on lower floors adjacent to it.
allows easy access to airtrain which is a bonus.

Room Tip: try to avoid lower floors on station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nugg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Yes, it's next to railway station, but if you are on a high floor, any noise is barely audible. Best would be street frontage. Was given a sizable room, but the room was let down by a dated and strangely older bathroom. The whole room appears to be new or refurbished; pity. It's not a "cheap" hotel by a long short but I would have expected more when you compare it to $200+ per night hotel. Internet is free which is a fantastic bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank michaelch2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#61 of 168 in Brisbane
1,587 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 168 in Brisbane
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.4 mi away
Next Hotel Brisbane
Next Hotel Brisbane
#12 of 168 in Brisbane
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range: $92 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing