We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #34 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Warm efficient and friendly welcome on check in. Stayed for just 2 nights but found the location to be within a short walk and easy reach of everywhere we wanted to go. Only 15 minute drive from the airport it would make a good stop over without being on the runway! Rooms of good size and well appointed. 17 floors give the higher floors some good views of the CBD and river too. Could do worse than stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms appear to be consistent sizes **08 opposite lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsFrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    447
    131
    34
    30
See reviews for
168
382
95
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The hotel staff were friendly, humorous, polite. Room was very clean, bathroom excellent and towels smelt fresh. Although we did not have a meal this time, last stay the food was excellent with a variety of choices. Will definitely return...Actually we booked our next stay before we left.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

All staff were very friendly & helpful. I got the room for a great price on lastminute so was happy with it. Easy walking distance to Eagle Street Pier & the mall. Small negatives, what I got food/drink wise didn't match menu but was still tasty & the hotel directory was out of date. I think the door stop on the back of the bathroom door is missing the rubber end as it kept loudly banging on the toilet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Shaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Before our epic Thai adventure, we stayed a night in at the Traders Hotel, Roma Street, as the family home we were visiting, is a good two hour drive away from the Brisbane airport.

We were super impressed with the hotel. Immaculately clean, more than adequate guest services, fantastic restaurant dinner. We were up on 17th floor and had a beaut view of the city. The room and bathroom were both spacious, comfortable and contained all of the usual accessories.

The gym was well equipped, it was just a shame the Jacuzzi was out of order.

As we checked in on New Years Eve, the location on Roma Street was exceptional/convenient for NY activities. We caught up with friends at The Guilty Rouge just across the road and made use of the bottle-o on street level. We saw a small amount of the early NYE fire works from our room, but other hotels/high rises obstructed most of our view. No hassles, we found an easy plan b given our position in the city.

The restaurant - MJ's - for the dinner service was exquisite. We would very much recommend the Barramundi with Chardonnay sauce and the Crème Brulee for dessert. Very tasty and the price was comparable to most dining out experiences in Brisbane. The breakfast buffet was very generous and varied also.

The check in and check out service was quick and seamless, and all staff were polite. There was no hassle on check out paying with a different credit card (arranged on check in). Best of all, when check out was complete, we literally walked next door to Roma Street Train Station and took the Air train to the International terminal.

We were very happy with our stay here and would definitely and happily stay at the Traders Hotel - Roma Street again.

Room Tip: Try to nab a room on an upper level. No noise from the street and the train station, and an added bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Claims to have a 4 star accreditation but honestly I have stayed in better 2 star hotels.basic bathroom amenities not topped up by housekeeping, complimentary coffee and tea had to be requested.beds saggy and pillows lumpy or just flat.all we got was headaches and backaches compliments of traders hotel.housekeeping staff knocked on our door at 9am asking if we wanted our room serviced.never seen or heard that before.they dont have cards on doors giving guests options of whether they want rooms serviced.no cable tv so be prepared to watch rugby, cricket, news and more of the same.beware of internet commection as well, pretty dodgy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Pathmini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The only thing I didn't like was the size of the shower. Everything else was great. Just a typical hotel shower over pokey sized bath but. The bath was also quite shallow. Not bad but huh? If that's all I can complain about it's pretty good.

Room Tip: Lay back and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank annemareedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Pathmini M,

I am glad we got the opportunity to discuss your areas of concern. As our Rooms Division Manager mentioned we are always looking for ways to improve both Housekeeping Services and Front Office operations, so your feedback is valuable to help us make these improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great hotel very close to the city,staff very friendly and helpful,rooms where spacious and very clean.
Definitely staying here again next time we go to Brisbane.
Very handy to get to and from the airport by train.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank saz2dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 159 in Brisbane
1,546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing