We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay at Traders Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jen Brisbane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane
Ranked #33 of 157 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A short stay at Traders Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Since our train left as early as 4.55 AM, we chose Traders, to be as close as possible to the station. Our goal was very well met, since we had only a five minute walk to the platforms. (We actually test-walked it in the evening.)

We were a bit sad because our stay was really so short and the hotel seemed to offer good conditions even for a longer stay close to down-town.

Our room was a corner room on the 11th floor, facing Roma Street. It was lately renovated, very spacious and you could hardly hear any sounds of trains.

We did not have a chance to test the breakfast, but in the evening we visited the restaurant and just had a Cesar salad, which was quite good.

The service was very good all the time. One of our suitcases was damaged during the day, causing a hole on its upper surface. When we mentioned this, the young lady at the reception, without any specific wish, immediately picked black tape and covered the hole.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kariheikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    419
    120
    31
    29
See reviews for
161
348
88
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
178 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a one night stay in corner room on 8th floor looking over Roma St station- due to good double glazing, the room was very quiet, so I would not be put off by being able to see the trains. Beds very comfortable. Only a few mins walk into Queen St mall and the city centre. Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner- mirror was streaky, but the room was very clean. Hotel is a fantastic option if you are in transit, as you are directly above the bus and train stations and can get straight to the airport. Didn't use the restaurant or bar. There is no swimming pool which I would expect for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayleJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Looks recently renovated was clean and comfortable. All regular amenities, 42in Flat Sceen TV with Foxtel
Is on the outer of the Brisbane CBD but it's only a 5-10 min walk to the mall.
Is right at Roma St. Train station so was convenient for the Airlink from the airport which takes about 25 mins. I had a city side room, my friends looked west and said they got train noise but I didn't get any on my side of the building so you might want to ask for a city side room.
Great for the cricket as bus pulls up at the train station and takes you straight to the Gabba.
About 10min walk to Caxton St and the Barracks precinct.

Room Tip: Ask for a city facing room to avoid train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAW868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Traders for the first time for 2 nights and won't return again. The room was not made up although the pack of nuts I consumed the previous day was replenished. Didn't feel safe as there was no ledge on the door. People smoked at the main entrance although there was a prohibit sign. The pick up and drop off area was small and congested on both mornings when two pick up vans took up the whole entrance waiting for their passengers. Being a 4 star hotel, absolutely not value for money although it was on corporate rate. A 5-star corporate hotel in the city charged the same rate too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Eunicessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Eunicessy,

Thank you for selecting Traders Hotel for your stay while in Brisbane, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, your feedback assists in ensuring we can continue to improve and meet the high expectations of our guests.
I would like to confirm the hotel was at full capacity with groups during that time, therefore the driveway was busy, sorry for any convenience this caused.
I would like to extend my apologies for any disappointments you may have experienced during your stay and sincerely hope you consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I visit Australia around 4-5 times a year for business and would stay in the major cities such as Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane. Have been doing it for 5-6 years so I am accustomed to the good and professional hotel management style in this corner of the world.

I don't want to complain too much on this review as the front desk staff was helpful and pleasant. The reason for this is that I expect a bit more polished performance as it's a Shangri-la owned hotel and while I don't expect the bells and whistles, i certainly expected a polished service.

Check in was smooth but upon entering my room, I was shocked to see that it was STILL occupied. I profusely apologized to an old couple, showed them my room key just to show them I wasn't an intruder.

Back to front desk and was told that the computer says the room is empty hmm....So, I was given another key but this time it didn't work in the elevator.

Back to the front desk and finally got a room (3rd time lucky I guess).

...but it wasn't the end of my ordeal as a room attendant knocked on the door and insisted that she checked my mini bar. She said it was in case something was consumed by previous guest. I said why couldn't she check when the previous guest checked out or before I checked in?

Anyway, just think that a Shangri-la hotel should be better than what I experienced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weezkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Weezkid,

Thank you for selecting Traders Hotel for your stay while in Brisbane, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, your feedback assists in ensuring we can continue to improve and meet the high expectations of our guests. Traders Hotel is a 4 star hotel, and Shangri-La is a five star hotel therefore the service standards will be different.

Your feedback has been discussed with the appropriate Managers and further training will take place. I would like to confirm we are upgrading the key system in the hotel in the New Year.

I would like to extend my apologies for any disappointments you may have experienced during your stay and sincerely hope you consider staying with us again.

Kind regards

Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for a Saturday night. The staff were efficient and helpful. The room and bathroom were a good size (better than some more expensive hotels we have stayed at in Brisbane). The room was clean and the domestic staff helpful and polite. Check in and out was painless and the staff were professional. It is centrally located, only a short walk to King George Square and Queen Street Mall. We were on the 17th floor and could hear the trains at night (but we did book a hotel above the transit center, so go figure :) ), but this did not detract from a pleasant stay.
No complaints, a good basic hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceegeeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noumea, New Caledonia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Spent 6 days at the Traders BSB - QLD to attend a convention wich took place at the conference room located on 5th floor.

The rooms are cosy, modern and comfortable.
Free WIFI internet.
Good buffet breakfast

Very central location, a short stroll to the mall and walks along the riverbanks.

Trains and buses at the basement.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank sylvain2noumea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.3 mi away
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Grand Chancellor Brisbane
#26 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Brisbane Elizabeth Street
0.2 mi away
Hotel Urban Brisbane
Hotel Urban Brisbane
#41 of 157 in Brisbane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane

Property: Hotel Jen Brisbane
Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing