We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Ranked #35 of 159 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Karratha, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Comfort”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Perfect for our business trip. Proximity to city & transit centre is excellent - easy connection to airport. Spacious room, tastefully decorated. Superb bedding - most comfortable pillows we have ever slept on. Gymnasium & spa were an extra bonus - love the balcony seating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    447
    133
    34
    30
See reviews for
168
383
95
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My sister and I visited and to our utter dismay found bed bugs in our room. Reported them to the front desk and were moved to a new room immediately but be wary, they were hiding in the headboard and hard to find. You are also located right next to the train station. I knew this when booking but the trains do seem to run at all hours so if this would bother your sleep probably not the best hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear E.S,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Traders Hotel Brisbane. I would like to extend my apologies for any disappointments you may have experienced during your stay. I wish to confirm all control measures are in place, and the current situation has been rectified.

Unfortunately the timings of the trains are out of our control, I would, however, like to confirm that we are currently in the process of upgrading the window seals and improving acoustics in the bedrooms which should reduce the noise caused by some train traffic.
I hope we can welcome you back to Traders Hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tin Can Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Wonderful service from a modern, yet affordable luxurious hotel right in the centre of the city. Fantastic location that allowed us to get to where we needed quickly. Would totally recommend it and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jodi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Overall great hotel with free wifi short walk to the mall, casino and citycat.
The Mall is a good place to go for lunch and dinner. We went to Jojo's a few times as they had a good variety of different foods.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Gregory_maher01 M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staff and Rooms were nice upon entry. Overnight parking seemed expensive at $27 but worst of all is their location being right next the main train station. Cargo trains were still running until 1am and it felt like i was sleeping on the train. Not good if you've had a long day at work and an early start the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Van T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradersBrisbane, General Manager at Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Van T,

Thank you for selecting Traders Hotel for your stay while in Brisbane, and we appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.
Unfortunately the timings of the trains are out of our control, I would, however, like to confirm that we are currently in the process of upgrading the window seals and improving acoustics in the bedrooms which should reduce the noise caused by some train traffic. All the bedrooms have double glazing, as do most hotels.

CBD Parking Prices can range from $30 -$70 overnight, with some additional costs for valet parking. As the parking at Traders Hotel is outsourced to Secure Parking we have managed to agree on a generous discounted rate of $27 per night, with a very small increase to $29 as from September 2013, which is still a competitive rate.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Traders Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Bruno Cristol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I needed convenience to Airtrain; Traders hotel is right next door to station. Pleasant reception, and I was allowed an early check-in. Also got help at reception with directions to restaurant area, which led to a wonderful afternoon with relatives on the river. Beautiful, tasteful room. Airtrain tickets can be bought at hotel. Good hotel value for the high quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Brisbanefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and prior to arrival, I actually regretted booking here. I like the Shangri-la brand in Asia and think Traders is the step down from their premium hotels, so I really wasn't expecting the excellent service that you get with SL, and being refurbished and rebranded from Holiday Inn, I was expecting this experience to be poor. I was very wrong on all accounts and once we checked in, which was very efficient and pleasant, I was extremely happy with my stay.

Location is good and very convenient being in the Transit Centre. You can either go to the ground floor of the railway station, exit and walk a very short distance on the footpath to the hotel reception or, take the lift or escalator up to the 2nd floor, walk to the hotel lift, then go down to reception. Either way is ok depending whether you want to stay inside the transit centre or not.

All staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and efficient and all went that extra mile which is unusual. The concierge approached us and offered a lot of information on Brisbane itself, which we didn't actually need as we are very familiar with the city, however it was very professional and we certainly would have appreciated it if we had been first time visitors.

Location wise, I think it is good. Close to Queen Street Mall, a short walk over the river takes you to Southbank entertainment and restaurants and if you don't want to walk anywhere, you are located right in the transit centre for trains. Taxi rank also outside reception. Very convenient indeed.

We stayed in a standard room which had river views and our daughter was upgraded to an Executive suite which was huge.

We ate out each night at southbank so didn't try the hotel restaurant but the food looked good and reasonably priced. Try Ahmets Turkish restaurant at Southbank...great food and entertainment but I think you must prebook a table as it is always busy. We walked to and from southbank but you could catch the train or bus if you didn't want the exercise.

I would definitely return to Traders again. We are going to Brisbane again in a few weeks and now regrettably, I had prebooked another hotel which I like to frequent, and the tables are turned and I wish we were going to Traders instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glennie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
0.2 mi away
ibis Brisbane
ibis Brisbane
#59 of 159 in Brisbane
1,548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brisbane
0.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Herschel Street, Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Point Brisbane Hotel
The Point Brisbane Hotel
#5 of 159 in Brisbane
1,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Punthill Brisbane
Punthill Brisbane
#10 of 159 in Brisbane
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Brisbane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La

Property: Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La
Address: 159 Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Traders Hotel, Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#35 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La 4.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Brisbane, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts' first Hotel Jen in Australia, is located on Roma Street, ideally located close to the Central Business District, Queen Street Mall, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane Convention Centre and South Bank precinct, the cultural and entertainment hub of Brisbane. Easy connectivity to greater Brisbane and beyond is right on my doorstep, with Hotel Jen Brisbane adjacent to the Brisbane Transit Centre, the hub for local and regional bus and train travel. My Deluxe rooms boast a spacious 34sqm with a bright and modern décor, configured with either a Queen, King or 2 Double beds. For those who are looking for a little more room, my Executive King rooms offer a very spacious 46sqm, configured with a King size bed. All of my rooms in Brisbane are furnished with comfy pillow top ensemble beds, a sitting area with either chairs or a day bed, high coffee table, and ample desk space for you to either plan your next day's adventure, or to put the finishing touches on that important work presentation. I know how important it is to stay connected, so I have included unlimited Wi-Fi internet access for all my guests while staying at any of my hotels. I have also embraced the coffee culture here and have provided Espresso pod machines in all of my rooms in Brisbane. Inspired by Asian street food and mixed with a modern Australian twist... Nest restaurant and bar, is the perfect place for lively conversations or laid back relaxation. I am also very proud to tell you that my very own 'Sky Garden' and hardworking Honey Bees, both located on-site, contribute some of the wonderful fresh ingredients you will find throughout Nest's tasty food and beverage offerings. At Nest Restaurant and Bar you'll find an à la carte menu to suit any craving. Open for breakfast with a sumptuous buffet, and à la carte lunch and dinner from 6:30am to 10pm daily with the exception of Sunday when Nest is open until 2pm. Nest is also the perfect spot for a refreshing drink at the bar or relaxing with friends over one of my famous coffees, cakes or light snacks. Mixologists have crafted signature cocktails and bevvies to be savoured and discovered. Nest Bar opens from 11am until late every day except Sunday, when we are open until 2pm. It's easy to explore Brisbane from Hotel Jen, with so much sitting within a short stroll from my doors, and everything else easily accessible by bus or train from the adjacent Brisbane Transit Centre. If you are a lover of gardens and nature then Roma Street Parklands and South Bank parklands are spectacular oasis' within the city, with each boasting 16 hectares of lush parklands, world-class eateries, with the later offering stunning river views and great events year round. If you prefer a little culture, then there is the Queensland Museum, GOMA (Gallery of Modern Art) and QPAC (Queensland Performing Arts Centre), along with the Brisbane Convention Centre (BCEC), which hosts numerous trade shows/expos, sporting and music events year round. Then there is Suncorp Stadium, only an easy 10 minute stroll away, which hosts some of the greatest sporting team's and music acts from just around the corner to around the world. Why not have a staycation with Jen when coming to support your team when they play our local Broncos, Reds, Roar, Firebirds, Lions, Heat or Bulls, or when our national Australia teams have a fixture. If shopping is what you love, then a 5 minute stroll to Queen Street Mall will provide you with global brand names and specialty shops from around the world, while those on the hunt for less main stream items, a two station trip on the train will bring you to Fortitude Valley, the hub of the Brisbane independent shopping scene. So whether it is business, a special event, family and friends, a holiday or staycation that brings you to Brisbane, I have got your comfort, cuisine and connectivity covered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Brisbane By Shangri-La reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing